The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Honey I Shrunk The…

Well you were warned there was going to be a flower shot… and yeah I know it’s probably not the most captivating of flower shots, but hey… It’s a start… lol…

Seriously though… I do believe that these are the tiniest flowers I have ever seen… I shot them in my mums garden, and when I showed her the image on the back of the camera she looked extremely puzzled… Her response was “Who’s flowers are those”, and when I said “They’re YOURS”… She replied, “I haven’t got any flowers like that”…..

So she’s had these flowers in her garden, but had never actually SEEN them, and if it hadn’t been for the fact that I was scrabbling around on the ground taking pictures of “ahem – other flowers”… Then I’d have most likely missed them too… So here’s how tiny they actually are… :)

18 responses

  1. Boy, you must have really been shooting on your belly in the garden to find these! Well, can’t say I’m surprised. You’re a slug afterall ;) hehe… Very nicely seen and captured Funky. I love how the flowers emerge from that velvety green background. Glad you included the comparison shot too.

    June 6, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    • Lol… Well maybe, but fortunately nobody saw me this time… so there’s no proof I’ve been shooting flowers… Well apart from this… errrhhh…. Oh cr*p !!, I guess I didn’t think this through eh… Thanks MrsA… ;)

      June 6, 2010 at 6:42 pm

  2. absurdoldbird

    They are called ‘Forget-Me-Nots’. Lovely little flowers. We used to have a lot of them when we lived in London.

    Lovely photo.
    :)

    June 6, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    • Thanks so much… Yeah that’s what my mum told me, once I’d shown her where they were that is… Mind you, with flowers that small I’m not surprised she forgot they were in her garden… lol…

      June 6, 2010 at 9:36 pm

  3. Wow, they are very tiny. That’s funny that your Mum never noticed them before but I guess that’s how small they were.:)

    June 7, 2010 at 5:32 am

    • Well I’m sure she knew they were there, I just don’t think she’d ever seen them this big… so never recognised them.. lol.. Thanks Consuelo. :)

      June 7, 2010 at 8:02 am

  4. Yes, quite a lovely little bunch of posies! Did you pick a pocketful? The blue color is really nice – I’m always looking for true blues in nature. People seem to like those the best.

    I also love the story about your mom. I think it is the most fun when we can share our passion with others and show them a different world from what they know.

    June 7, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    • Lol.. That would either need to be an awful lot of posires, or VERY small pockets… ;)
      And yeah, it was pretty cool introducing my mum to the world of macro… Thanks Tracy…

      June 7, 2010 at 3:58 pm

  5. Beautiful little flowers – I adore forget-me-nots, they brighten up the garden so subtley, because they’re so small you almost do overlook them.

    June 7, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    • Thank you so much… They look much nicer when you can actually see them though… lol… :)

      June 7, 2010 at 5:01 pm

  6. This is lovely. Such beautiful little flowers. We once rented a house from friends while they were away, working in Kenya for a few years and the house came with a very big garden. The ground under the rose garden was covered in short, green plants and I thought they were weeds so I started to remove them. I’d done maybe a third when the thought occurred to me: ‘hang on, you shouldn’t be doing this – you don’t actually know *what* these are.’ Just as well I stopped when I did. In May they began to flower – a carpet of beautiful blue forget-me-nots! (A gardening mistake never to be repeated)!

    June 8, 2010 at 11:14 am

    • LOL.. Well if it helps I’d have done exactly the same thing… Well actually, maybe not… as I tend to limit my garden involvement to the just the lawns and hedges… Anything else plant based I tend to leave to someone who knows better… ;)

      June 8, 2010 at 5:43 pm

  7. I love how you included the picture with your fingers – great way to show the size; otherwise they don’t seem as remarkable as they are. I’m quite jealous of your skill in getting such a nicely focused up-close shot! Keep the flowery type things coming!

    June 8, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    • Thanks so much Karma… Well I did take quite a few more flowery type things, so you may see some more… but I do have a reputation to uphold you understand… lol… ;)

      June 8, 2010 at 11:34 pm

  8. Oh wow!!! The tiny flowers are beautiful. I can’t believe that you had to scrabble around on the ground to find them. Beautiful shots Brian. And really nice shot of your fingers with the flowers. That shot alone was enough to show us how tiny they are. “Two thumbs up”!!

    June 18, 2010 at 1:53 am

    • Thanks so much Attiev… Real glad you like them…

      July 8, 2010 at 10:20 pm

  9. Ooohh, one of my many, many, MANY favorite flowers… and so perfectly captured!

    July 8, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    • Lol… Well make the most of it while it lasts, as flowers are most definitely not my forte… I can rarely see a shot that I’m happy with through my own lens, so satisfy myself by looking at other peoples… :)

      July 8, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,745 other followers