The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Meet Gollum…

Now I have to say it is very rare of me to ever post any shots of my kids… as there are far too many strange people out there…. but this one I just had to share…

There are two specific reasons why I had to share…. Firstly it is so unusual for her to have a clean face… but secondly, and most importantly… it is virtually unheard of for her to actually look at the camera when anyone takes a picture… She will look everywhere BUT at the camera… This time though I caught her unaware… lol… Clean AND looking at me…

You may also no doubt be wondering about the title too… Well that’s her name… Ok ok… Not her REAL name, but a name that for some reason she “likes” to be called…. along with Stinky, Stumpy, Lumpy, Ugly and Dobby…. I know… Strange child….

Oh and obviously I couldn’t post a picture of my youngest without also including my oldest somewhere… so here’s another… I’ll not repeat what the oldest usually gets called though… ;)

41 responses

  1. Absolutely stunning child! Those eyes, that expression – perfect!

    Really lovely processing here, Brian.

    LOL! Thanks for explaining the ‘Gollum,’ reference ‘cuz I didn’t really want to think you thought she looked like that LOTR character!

    Now, Dobby (from Harry Potter) I can see. ;-)

    July 1, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    • Thanks Tracy…. but trust me, she doesn’t always look like that… lol… In fact she hardly ever looks like that… Much more Dobby’esque normally… lol…

      July 1, 2010 at 5:33 pm

  2. Great shot! I love the candid shots the best…especially with children. You get a more natural expression!

    July 1, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    • Thank you so much… I agree, and really never like to get them to pose… Just catch them off guard occasionally…

      July 1, 2010 at 5:34 pm

  3. That is a beautiful photo of a beautiful little girl. We all feel the need to smile the nano second a camera is pointed at us** but your daughter proves that sometimes just being natural and being yourself is so much better.

    (**I’ve always looked like I’m doing a toothpaste ad in my shots – quite horrible)! :D

    July 1, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    • Haha… I’m the complete opposite with the teeth thing… I guess she takes after me there, apart from the beautiful girl bit obviously… lol… Thanks AC…

      July 1, 2010 at 5:40 pm

  4. I nearly spat out my lunch when I read “well that’s her name”. You are the meanest dad ever! Hahahaha…. well I guess not too mean as you did take an absolutely gorgeous photo of the wee one. I think you might be a tad proud dad afterall ;) Beautiful selective coloring and her expression is great! Cute one of the two of ‘em too :)

    July 1, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    • Hehe.. Well it’s not my fault… She LIKES to be called Gollum… Honest… Mind you, I’m not sure what her teachers must think though, if she chastises them off for calling her Kayla… Lol…

      July 1, 2010 at 9:51 pm

      • We do get some funny looks though when we’re out, and she turns to me and says “It’s NOT Kayla… It’s GOLLUM”… And I bet your dad didn’t always call you Amber did he ???… lol..

        July 1, 2010 at 9:55 pm

  5. absurdoldbird

    Beautiful photo and such a pretty child! They both are.
    :)
    Monochrome photo with tinted eyes, or colour photo with only eyes left in colour? Very difficult to tell, which is a tribute to your skills!

    I love the softness and clarity you’ve captured in this photos. Very well done!

    July 1, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    • Thanks Val, and you’re actually right on both counts… I converted to black and white, but left the eyes colour, but they weren’t as vibrant as normal due to the lighting of the shot, so I added a tiny bit of tint to bring them back closer to normal…

      July 1, 2010 at 11:50 pm

  6. Who would have guessed that a slug would have such gorgeous kids? Beautiful B/W rendering with those stunning blue eyes.

    I wish I had been into photography when my only child was small and cute. Now he’s a teenager with acne and refuses to get his hair cut. :-) He’s a good kid and a talented guitarist but he’s not really modeling material at the moment. He also refuses to let me take his photo, just grimaces into the camera and crosses his eyes.

    I love your new template. I might look for something similar because I seem to be posting a lot more photography-related material these days.

    July 2, 2010 at 7:21 am

    • Lol… Thanks Avital… Yeah sometimes I wonder if she’s even mine… then she does something crazy, and I think “Yup… Definitely mine”…. lol…. ;)

      July 2, 2010 at 10:12 am

  7. Weeeheeeeee…this is a super shot, love her expression. What a beautiful Gollum (eh?).

    Spuddles

    July 2, 2010 at 8:07 am

    • Wotcha Spud… Thanks… Expressions like that are usually the only thing I get of her, as she will not look at the camera unless she’s not expecting it… Not that she’s camera shy, but she just doesn’t get the looking at the lens bit… lol…

      July 2, 2010 at 10:15 am

  8. How adorable! I’ve mentioned before I’m not a huge fan of B&W, but this is gorgeous.
    I remember those days well of the little ones rarely having a clean face. My youngest (also a blue-eyed blond)was quite stubborn at that age too about not looking at the camera. She’s almost 13 now and will begrudgingly give me a look when I plead or otherwise make very hammed up faces.

    July 2, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    • Thanks Karma.. Well I’m real happy to have impressed someone who’s not a fan of b&w… You’re right though, and it doesn’t always work… Thanks again.. :)

      July 3, 2010 at 5:06 pm

  9. Super shot Brian, stunning!

    July 2, 2010 at 7:29 pm

  10. Awe, your kids are so cute, I love those shots, great capture. I share the same view as you about posting photos of your kids on your blog. This one is such a great one that. I’m glad you shared it..so cute:)

    July 2, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    • Thanks Consuelo, you’re too kind… They’re not quite so cute in person though.. lol..

      July 3, 2010 at 5:11 pm

  11. Awww She is a beauty Brian!!! Really nice B&W portrait of her. And those eyes!!! I love her eyes, are they really that crystal blue?

    July 7, 2010 at 4:57 am

    • Thanks Attiev… Well I had to do a tiny bit of work on the eyes to put more emphasis on them, as the light here was a bit dull, but in the right light they are pretty blue… She takes after me… lol… ;)

      July 7, 2010 at 6:52 pm

  12. Oh, she’s a cutie :) I like the processing too – normally I’m not a fan of selective colour, but it works a treat here.

    July 7, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    • Well there’s a huge compliment if I can impress someone who’s not normally a fan of the style of processing I’ve chosen…. Thank you so much…

      July 7, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  13. She’s a beauty! Not looking at the camera is one thing, running away and/or hiding from it (like mine like to do) is another, and at least she’s not doing that – yet! ;-)

    July 8, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    • Thank you so much…. Well I’m hoping she doesn’t adopt that trait, but if she’s anything like her sister then there’s no chance… She wants to be in every shot… lol…

      July 8, 2010 at 10:04 pm

  14. What a great portrait, caught the moment spot on there.

    July 11, 2010 at 9:25 pm

  15. I am not usually a fan of this type of processing but her eyes are almost hypnotic…

    July 13, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    • Many thanks… It’s always nice to get positive feedback from someone who’s not usually a fan of a particular style… :)

      July 13, 2010 at 8:58 pm

  16. Wonderful image. I love the expression and the finish with the selective color! She should meet my kids, it looks like they’d get along with their common thread of camera intolerance. :)

    July 14, 2010 at 6:34 am

    • Cheers Sean… It’s funny really as she doesn’t mind the camera.. She’s just so easily distracted, and doesn’t realise that mostly I actually want her to look at the camera… lol…

      July 18, 2010 at 9:03 am

  17. Beautiful photo…I love her blue eyes! :-)

    July 20, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  18. JJ

    Absolutely beautiful portrait Funks, shes adorable! I always forget to check your blog, so sorry, ive missed so much :o(

    July 22, 2010 at 10:18 am

    • Lol… S’ok…. Not as much as I’ve missed on flickr I bet…. Thanks JJ… :)

      July 22, 2010 at 7:05 pm

  19. Great image and great story! I have to agree with you about ‘strange people’ out there.

    thanks for sharing :)

    August 5, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    • Thanks for the comment… Yeah it’s a shame and hence why I only very occasionally post any shots of my kids…

      August 5, 2010 at 10:17 pm

  20. Nice Image… Your not the only one who has trouble getting eye contact from their daughter :)

    August 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    • Thanks so much… I have the two polar opposites actually… One can’t get enough of the camera, whereas the other shows complete disinterest.. lol..

      August 5, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  21. Pingback: Pensive In Pencil « FS Photography

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,766 other followers