The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

No Jacket Required

Back to the infamous Potters Manor…for more doom and gloom…

Please pull up a chair and pour yourself a glass of the finest, and kick back and enjoy the open fire…

That’s one thing that amazed me with this place though was the sheer quantity of personal belongings that were left behind when the owners departed (for whatever reason they departed)… As can be seen here from the furniture / clothes / personal paintings / ornate glasses / rugs etc… Unfortunately though I’m not sure exactly how long all this will last, as it would appear from the swarm of postings I’ve seen recently that plenty more people have recently determined its whereabouts… Hopefully they’ll to be respectful of its uniqueness… and it will long remain an urbexers paradise…

21 responses

  1. I love your shots of this place. Such an amazing atmosphere.

    July 25, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    • Thanks JP.. It sure is quite the place to visit.. Really need to get back there some time..

      July 26, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  2. Tis indeed a fantastic place, I think there will be coach tours there.

    July 25, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    • Yeah I had noticed the distinct increase in visitors to the manor… lol… Still you have to admit that places like this would never remain secret forever…

      July 26, 2010 at 9:29 pm

  3. Crazy. I can’t imagine finding a place like this. This whole series has been fantastic.

    July 26, 2010 at 4:22 am

    • They’re few and far between Sean, but I think that makes them all the more worthwhile..

      July 26, 2010 at 9:31 pm

  4. Avital Pinnick

    Splendid setting. I also hope that people will preserve its character. I can’t get over all the little things they left behind — rugs, paintings. And is that a glass on the mantle?

    July 26, 2010 at 4:35 am

    • Thanks Avital, and yes indeed that is a glass on the mantle, and it looked quite old and ornate too…

      July 26, 2010 at 9:33 pm

  5. This such a cool place, love this shot as well :)

    July 26, 2010 at 6:19 am

    • Thanks Consuelo… Love this place too, and can’t wait for the next visit..

      July 26, 2010 at 9:38 pm

  6. I don’t understand how things like this jacket are still there. And the painting above the fireplace. How long has it been since someone lived here? It really is amazing, and I’m even more amazed that you found it. It must be VERY well hidden! Love the way you composed and processed this. Your shots from this place are absoplutely stunning.

    July 27, 2010 at 12:23 am

    • Thanks A… Oooh I tell ya I’ve tried and tried to find out some history about this place… but didn’t get too much… The last resident apparently died in 2003, and demolition of the place was requested and refused in 2004 (but it has now been granted)… So I guess it was abandoned some time before then due to the expense of the upkeep… His wife though is apparently still alive and lives in a nearby residential home, at the princely age of 104… It seems the secret is well and truly out now though, as I’ve seen a huge increase in pictures being posted….

      July 27, 2010 at 5:59 pm

  7. Each time I see your pictures from this place I feel like I am looking at the set for a really creepy movie!

    July 27, 2010 at 3:19 am

    • It sure does have that feel doesn’t it, but then I have to confess to having processed some additional mood in to my shots… lol… Shhhhh, don’t tell anyone… ;)

      July 27, 2010 at 6:02 pm

  8. I agree with Karma these shots look like a film set, especially with all the little props in place.

    As someone who is very sentimental it bothers me that so much has just been left. Some of these items may have sentimental value to family members (in the same way that I kept my Dad’s RAF compass – no real monetary value but it was his). Do they even know it exists I wonder? I hope those who have discovered it now will leave it as is, both for the owners and for others to enjoy.

    Another great shot – full of atmosphere.

    July 27, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    • Thanks AC… I’m entirely with you, and can’t understand how all these personal possessions have been left behind… As I said to Amber though it would appear the current owner is still alive, but I guess too old to have much interest in the place… Not sure if they have any living heirs though… You’re right though, and one thing I was very careful of was to not disturb or remove anything that was there, and hopefully any future visitors will show it the same respect…

      July 27, 2010 at 6:08 pm

  9. Interesting photo Funky. And I too hope that others do not destroy what appears to be a very interesting piece of history.

    July 28, 2010 at 12:00 am

  10. Love the atmosphere in this place – you can see it in the photo. Glass of finest would go down very well too.

    July 28, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    • It sure does have an amazing atmosphere Brian, although I have to confess adding just a touch more with the processing.. lol..

      August 1, 2010 at 11:27 pm

  11. Pingback: Dinner is Served « FS Photography

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,172 other followers