The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Super Furry Animals…

So yesterday I finally had the opportunity to put my new toy through its paces… and I’m glad to say I was rather pleased with the results… So we spent the day at a wildlife park, which naturally was PURELY for the benefit of the kids… and was nothing even remotely to do with me wanting to play with my new lens…Nah-ah…

This is a small selection from a host of images I will be picking from in posts to come hopefully… providing I don’t get bored with them before I post them… Despite the title though I have to include one feathery not furry shot, as there’s a story to convey about this wee feathered friend of mine… I inadvertently pulled a bird…  ;)

This particular wildlife park has some real nice access to many of the animals, from walk through enclosures to open perches for some of the birds… to other animals roaming completely free within the grounds… Well, in one particular area I noticed how friendly one particular bird was as he was allowing himself to be petted… Well never one to miss an opportunity of some petting I decided whilst it was quiet to go make friends myself whilst the rest of the family were… ummmm… seeing to other natural requirements…

I checked first to make sure there were no “This animal bites” signs… but only saw a “Do NOT pick this bird up” sign… so figured he wasn’t in to removing fingers and the like…. Well I was giving him a good scratch behind the ear and under his chin (or whatever birds call their chins) when my daughter returned… and as I turned to look at her my new-found friend took full advantage of my momentary lapse in concentration, and promptly stepped on to my hand, and RAN full speed up my arm and round the back of my neck…. and perched himself firmly on my shoulder, and proceeded to nuzzle my ear and neck…. lol…

My first thought was “OH CRAP !!”…. “How the heck am I gonna get him back on his perch ??”… As from his demeanour I was pretty certain he wasn’t intending to return of his own free will… So a small crowd begins to gather… and I hear one woman whisper to her friend “I’ve seen him do that before, He won’t get him back very easily”…. OH THANKS !!!…. Lol…

And right in front of me is the huge sign “DO NOT PICK THIS BIRD UP”…. Ooooops…. Well it took some patience and cunning, but I finally managed to get him back on to my hand, and then literally peeled him off, and back on to his perch.. At which point my daughter said “Tickle him again Dad”….. NO WAY !!!… lol…

Anyway… I wasn’t the only one… When we walked through the Lemur enclosure there was a keeper in there making sure that people didn’t stroke the Lemurs, but just allowed them to get on with whatever they wanted to do… Well my daughter knelt down to get a closer look at some of the baby ones, at which point one came running up and jumped on her lap, and just sat there looking at her as if to say “Well !!!.. What have you got for me ???”…. lol…

25 responses

  1. PURELY for the benefit of the kids… riiiight! :-)
    What a funny story, and great shots. I really like the first one, so cute!

    August 24, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    • Damn !!!… Was it really that obvious… lol… Thanks so much TDC, the otter is my fave too… :)

      August 24, 2010 at 9:55 pm

  2. Wow, sweet! Great quality. I tried with a Sigma 70-300 lens to go for birds, but it wasn’t as easy as I thought. So much so that the photos just barely managed to get off the camera.
    You did a great job here!

    August 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    • Thanks Martin… Yeah it’s a great lens and I’m very happy with it… You’re right though, and I’m yet to really try it on more skittish subjects…

      August 24, 2010 at 11:20 pm

  3. That otter is so sweet! Looks like he or she is posing just for you. You and your family must have quite the way with animals in order to have them climb all over you!
    No picture of the lemur in your daughter’s lap? I’d love to see that!

    August 24, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    • LOL… Thanks so much k… Either that or we smell… errrrh… animal based… lol… And yeah I did get a shot of my daughter and the baby Lemur, although as I’m sure you can imagine it wasn’t the easiest shot to get with the lens I had on the camera… lol… but as you asked, here it is… http://funkyslug.files.wordpress.com/2010/08/img_6408.jpg

      August 24, 2010 at 11:13 pm

      • Very cute! I’m sure either of my daughters would have been thrilled to have that happen!

        August 25, 2010 at 1:23 pm

  4. OMG!! I WANT TO GO TO THERE!!!! (Oh, you may not get the ’30 Rock’ reference living on an ‘island’ and all).

    Wonderful photos and wonderful story! The animals obviously like you and your family and that says alot. Methinks you just might have a future in wildlife photography, Brian!

    The otter is adorable!! :-)

    August 24, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    • Lol.. You’re right.. 30 Rock is lost on me as I’ve not seen it.. Now The Big Bang Theory or Friends… lol…

      And I’ve not mentioned the other critters yet either… I was kissed by a corn snake, and held a Chile Rose Tarantula, and a Bearded Dragon too… as did both my kids.. It was a great day.. :)

      August 24, 2010 at 11:42 pm

      • Ooooh LOVE BBT!

        I prefer your furry and feathered critters! :-) Your kids MUST have cracked up at you being kissed by a snake!

        August 25, 2010 at 2:22 am

        • They weren’t the only ones who found it amusing… lol..

          August 25, 2010 at 7:27 pm

  5. Sounds as though you had fantastic fun …and the rest of the family. ;)

    All beautiful photos, although the otter is probably my favourite because…well…it’s an *otter*!!

    August 25, 2010 at 5:04 am

    • Thanks Jayne… Yeah I have to confess the otter is my fave too…

      August 25, 2010 at 7:28 pm

  6. Wonderful shots! The details are so sharp and the colours are gorgeous.

    August 25, 2010 at 5:14 am

    • Thanks Avital… I certainly do love the clarity I get from this lens…

      August 25, 2010 at 7:29 pm

  7. LOL – well, you can’t get in trouble if the Lemur comes to you, right?

    August 25, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    • You’re right there… and she didin’t get in to trouble twice.. lol.. Me on the other hand, well let’s just say I was lucky no keepers were watching… ;)

      August 25, 2010 at 7:30 pm

  8. The lemur got in her lap!? Oh I’m so jealous. What a cute story about you and that nuzzly lil’ bird. And the otter…well, don’t even get me started. Love the pose you captured it in. He looks so petable! :)

    August 25, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    • Haha… And you an ex zoo keeper too… Thanks muchly A… I’m glad you like the otter as much as I do… :D

      August 25, 2010 at 7:31 pm

  9. lol..what a cute story. That’s so funny. Looks like you are having lots of fun with your new lens, photos turned out great.

    August 26, 2010 at 4:52 am

    • Thanks so much Consuelo.. It was a great day, and oh yes.. it’s fair to say I’m loving my new lens… :)

      August 30, 2010 at 9:58 am

  10. Val Erde

    The parroty bird and the lemurs are the pics I like. I won’t comment on the otter, except to say it’s a good photo, because otters and I are not good friends (an otter ate ALL our fish, and I’m not talking about the sort of fish that go with chips!)

    The only time I was alarmed by the antics of a creature being fed at the zoo was decades back when I watched a zoo keeper feed a vampire bat – from his arm.
    :(

    August 30, 2010 at 1:40 am

    • Oh dear… Real sorry to hear that Val… I know exactly how you feel though, as my Dad once lost some quite nice fish to a heron, and the odd cat or two… but then I guess you can’t really blame them for following their natural instincts… Your vampire bat story sounds pretty gross… lol… Glad you like the other shots though… :)

      August 30, 2010 at 10:05 am

      • Val Erde

        Cat? Herons eat cats?? Yikes!!

        August 30, 2010 at 12:00 pm

        • LOL… Yeah I guess I need to re-word that slightly… He lost the fish to the heron AND the cats… Not the cats to the heron as well.. That would have been one monstrous heron… ;)

          August 30, 2010 at 12:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,519 other followers