The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Squaaawk…

Well, I’ve been marvelling in the expansion of MrsA’s artistic talents recently, with her return to brush and canvas after many years absence… and it has inspired me also to pick up a medium long forgotten… Pencil and paper… And this last weekend I sketched me a preening parrot…

Strangely enough though, what I found most difficult about this was actually trying to photograph it for my blog… lol…

I think one of the reasons I lapsed from pencil sketching, and tend to avoid painting, is that I have very little in the way of patience, and am also overly concerned with detail… Believe it or not I started my first ever oil painting some 10 years ago, and never did finish it… lol…

35 responses

  1. Hooray, I have been WAITING for this. Yay. And the wait was worth it. It looks stellar B :) You did an excellent job! I know what you mean though. I also lack the patience which is why I stopped. With photography it is all about the detail which is great, but in art like this it forces us to let go a little, and we don’t like that ;) I’m gonna bug you about that oil painting…

    October 18, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    • Thanks so much A… That means an awful lot to me yanno… I try to avoid letting go too often though, as it inevitably gets messy… lol…

      October 18, 2010 at 7:24 pm

  2. Val Erde

    I like this, especially the detail in the bird’s beak.
    :)

    October 18, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    • Thanks Val… It’s kinda given me the urge to try some more… :)

      October 18, 2010 at 7:28 pm

  3. WOW! This looks really good! I’ll have to show it to my daughter, she loves to draw! Maybe I can talk her into photographing some of her art for her blog…. and hopefully she still has some of her earlier work (some amazing dragons!).

    October 18, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    • Thanks so much Michaela… You definitely should talk her in to it, although I found the photographing it the hardest part… lol..

      October 18, 2010 at 7:30 pm

  4. Seems pretty good to me! I love that spiralling movement. I know exactly what you mean when it comes to painting and drawing. I’m completely immersed in detail, and whereas “serious” artists will start a painting or drawing as soon as they’ve finished the last, I feel like I need at least 2 months to recover!

    October 18, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    • Thanks Kai… Well thinking about it, it took me nearly 15 years from finishing the last sketch to starting this one.. lol..

      October 18, 2010 at 7:32 pm

  5. Blimey, thats good, I’m in London soon shall I see if there is any space free in the Tate?

    October 18, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    • Lol..Cheers Andy.. You might have more luck at the Tate & Lyle offices though.. ;)

      October 18, 2010 at 8:32 pm

  6. I am so jealous of you guys! I’ve always wanted to draw and I’m horrible at it. Oh, well, at least I can admire your work.

    October 18, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    • Well you’d certainly beat me hands down with your needlework skills… and I’m pretty sure that takes just as much skill and even more patience… Thanks Avital.. :)

      October 18, 2010 at 9:52 pm

      • Thanks for the encouragement, but needlework just doesn’t get the respect that drawing does! For me, it’s a mindless way to fill spare time when I’m too tired to use my brain.

        October 22, 2010 at 8:08 am

        • Oooh I don’t know… We all have our areas of interest, and usually think the things we can’t do are harder than the things we can do… I could happily draw for hours too without using my brain too much…

          October 22, 2010 at 11:12 pm

  7. JJ

    Fookin’ brilliant :o)

    October 18, 2010 at 11:45 pm

  8. Wow, Brian! You are multi-talented! I always fancied myself as having a bit of artistic talents, but my cartoonish talents pale in comparison.

    October 19, 2010 at 2:56 am

    • Haha… Well if it’s any consolation any portraits I’ve ever tried end up looking like they’ve been drawn by a one legged spider on crack… Now I wanna see some of your cartoons… The challenge is on… :)

      October 19, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      • LOL!!!! One legged spider on crack! I’m going to have to use that one if you don’t mind! My cartoons are only copies of others’ work that I’ve done, mostly to please my daugthers – Garfield, Scooby-Doo, etc.

        October 19, 2010 at 9:56 pm

        • Lol… By all means do… I still wanna see some of your cartoons though… :)

          October 22, 2010 at 11:47 pm

  9. That is a beautiful sketch….you are talented :)

    October 19, 2010 at 3:34 am

    • Thank you so much Consuelo… I’m not sure I’d entirely agree though… lol..

      October 19, 2010 at 6:10 pm

  10. This is lovely – I can see why both you and MrsA are such good photographers …both natural artists. :)

    October 19, 2010 at 4:57 am

    • Thanks so much Jayne…I have to admit that photography is far easier though…

      October 19, 2010 at 6:11 pm

  11. Val Erde

    By the way, the simplest way to ‘photograph’ artwork and drawings (as long as it’s small enough and even if it isn’t it can usually be stitched together in Photoshop or another program) is to pop it into a scanner.
    :)

    October 19, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    • Lol… Yeah I’ve done that plenty in the past… Unfortunately I don’t have a scanner any more though… Thanks Val…

      October 19, 2010 at 6:13 pm

  12. that’s an excellent sketch! I am envious, :-)

    October 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm

  13. Oh, fan-‘freakin-tastic…
    You draw (spectacularly) too??!! SO not fair.
    You know, sometimes the internets are very bad for my self-esteem. ;)

    *tee*hee*
    In all seriousness, this is GORGEOUS!! And I’m not really *that* jealous…(*lie*lie*lie*) LOL

    Thanks so much for sharing a bit more of yourself here. It’s such fun to follow a blog, and learn a bit more of a person bit by bit as they reveal themselves to their readers. It’s like putting a puzzle together, one in which you’re given one piece at a time to treasure and play with and see how it fits in with the others.

    Great talent, great sketch, great photo, great blog. Thank you!

    October 19, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    • LOL… Thanks so much KD… Your analogy may well be true, but I fear some of my pieces are missing… lol… I’m not entirely sure there’s much more to reveal though… Well ok, maybe a little bit… ;)

      And thanks for following… :D

      October 19, 2010 at 6:19 pm

  14. Impressive skills with you two! Nice work there sir.

    October 23, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    • Lol.. Cheers Brian.. It’s lucky it’s not a competition though, as Amber would kill me on both quality AND quantity…

      October 24, 2010 at 10:03 am

  15. This looks so good large. :)

    October 24, 2010 at 8:07 pm

  16. I think you have an eye for value and composition and it makes this parrot all the more interesting for the viewing! Lovely drawing!

    November 10, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    • Thanks so much Leslie… That’s high praise from someone with your artistic talent… :)

      November 11, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,179 other followers