The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Full On Mooning

Tonight was a stunning full moon, with a crisp clear sky to boot, and as I’ve never had any success in photographing the moon before, I decided it was time to give it another shot (as they say)… Only thing is, once you’ve got a nice crisp detailed shot of the moon… then what ?!?!…

Well naturally you have to add it to a dramatic (but slightly lacking) night shot… and if you haven’t got a suitable night shot… then create one… :)

Here’s a more natural alternative of the above creation…

And then of course the original shot, and my first successful shot of the moon…

33 responses

  1. That is absolutely amazing!

    January 18, 2011 at 10:18 pm

  2. A-freakin-mazing!!!

    January 18, 2011 at 11:54 pm

  3. Absolutely WOW, this is totally awesome, great capture

    January 19, 2011 at 12:07 am

    • Many thanks Consuelo… Photoshop comes in handy sometimes… lol…

      January 19, 2011 at 9:07 pm

  4. absolutely fascinating, Brian. You’re indeed a very gifted artist! Thanks for sharing those.

    January 19, 2011 at 2:50 am

    • Thanks so much Irina… I’m glad it worked out…

      January 19, 2011 at 9:11 pm

  5. LOL! I thought that didn’t look quite natural when I first saw it. :-) A full moon is surprisingly tricky. It’s so bright. When I’ve tried photographing the moon close to the horizon, I have often been surprised by how fast the moon moves in relation to the earth, though you don’t notice it when the moon is high.

    January 19, 2011 at 5:13 am

    • I was pretty surprised how quick it traversed across the viewfinder too, but surprisingly I found it quite easy to capture this time, but then I did go fully manual… Thanks Avital..

      January 19, 2011 at 9:13 pm

  6. Beautifully done! I’m kicking myself now that I missed this, although all night shots are still a hit and miss affair with me anyway!

    This would be a good one to share at Lisa Gordon’s ‘Creative Exchange’ (should you feel so inclined)! Her site is here:

    http://www.lgordonphotography.com/

    January 19, 2011 at 5:55 am

    • Thanks Jayne.. Yeah it’s not too often that you get skies clear enough to get a good shot of it… If you get chance though, switch to manual at f8 / 1/125s / ISO100.. It worked perfectly for me..

      January 19, 2011 at 9:16 pm

  7. Oh, very well done! You’ve produced a great shot of a fantasy landscape.

    January 19, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    • Thanks JP… Fantasy was the intention, so I’m glad that worked out… :)

      January 19, 2011 at 9:17 pm

  8. Nice work, that composite is very stunning!

    January 19, 2011 at 1:23 pm

  9. Very well created! Moody and powerful…love that you kept the silhouette of the man and the bird. Really awesome job, Brian!

    January 19, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    • Thanks Tracy.. Glad you picked up on the silhouettes, as they were the main reason I chose this shot as the base image… :)

      January 19, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  10. Oh yeah , very creative and very captivating! It is like these two images were just made for each other. The placement of the moon is perfect, adding such a grand scale next to the man and bird. Love it.

    January 20, 2011 at 12:57 am

    • Thanks A.. I have to confess I was looking for a suitable castle shot as a base image, but had been messing with this one as a b&w, and realised it too could work pretty well too… Real glad you like it… :)

      January 20, 2011 at 7:05 am

  11. Wow, Brian, amazing skills! So cool, it looks like another planet.
    Any chance you would share your settings for the moon shot? I used to be able to take a decent moon pic with my old point&shoot, but I haven’t been able to replicate with the Canon.

    January 20, 2011 at 1:26 am

    • Thanks so much Karen… and no problem at all with the settings… For the moon shot I used my 400mm lens and went fully manual at f8 / 1/125s / ISO100, and manual focus too using the live view… It worked out for me at least… :)

      January 20, 2011 at 7:08 am

  12. Val Erde

    Brill! Love the way you’ve photoshopped it into the new scene!
    :)
    I was struck by the fullness of the moon the night before it was actually quite full (does that make any sense at all?) and managed a shot of it myself but I had to have my decrepit old cybershot on auto white balance, so that’s kinda cheating, isn’t it?!

    January 21, 2011 at 1:12 am

    • Thanks so much Val.. Photoshop sure does come in handy sometimes, when there’s just not much out there to shoot… And cheating… Nah.. lol… Well that was probably the only thing on my camera that was on auto, but then I did shoot in RAW, so altered it in the processing… ;)

      January 23, 2011 at 4:07 pm

  13. I saw the moon outside my window last night and it brought back this night photo you composed. Memorable is good!!!!!

    January 22, 2011 at 2:49 am

    • Thanks Leslie… That’s quite the compliment that seeing the moon made you think of my shot… :)

      January 23, 2011 at 4:08 pm

  14. Great looking moon that Brian, ace tones too. Really like the original day one in black and white too – nice.

    February 8, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    • Thanks Brian, I’d been working on the black and white one with a view to posting that… then the moon “composite” struck me, and it seemed like a perfect fit…

      February 24, 2011 at 6:54 am

  15. Laura Tönnies

    I’m actually speechless. This is incredible!

    February 24, 2011 at 6:47 am

    • Thank you so much for your wonderful compliment… :)

      February 24, 2011 at 6:54 am

  16. I think what you’ve done here is amazing! =) This is seamless and I love how you posted the other images to see what you worked with.

    March 13, 2011 at 4:39 am

    • Thank you so much Christina… I’m real pleased you consider it seamless, as for me that’s mission accomplished… :D

      March 13, 2011 at 9:51 am

  17. Pingback: Supermoon! « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,767 other followers