The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Coming Soon…

To a Blog Near You… FLOWERY TYPE STUFF  !!!…

Yeah ok, I realise they’re not exactly the most impressive examples of those smelly things that appear in the garden on occasions throughout the year, but for the benefit of those who may not have realised before, flowers are not really me area of expertise… I’m willing to try anything once though, and I found they went best slightly roasted, with a hint of pepper… :)

This one was hiding in the bushes...

And for those who are wondering exactly what they are, well I have been doing some exhaustive research, and can confirm that they are indeed flowers…. To be more technically correct, and in order of appearance…

1) Golden Redus Wettus…
2) Hidingus Pinkus…
3) Tinyus Wettus Redus…
4) Peachus Pencilshavers Softus…

29 responses

  1. Roasted with pepper? Sounds delicious! mmmm…. I think your flowers are lovely. I think you just don’t want to ADMIT that flowers are among your areas of expertise ;) I think my favorite is that showered red beauty at top.

    April 1, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    • LOL.. Thanks A.. Mind you, I had to dry them off first, or there was too much steam generated during the roasting process, and they went all soggy… and no one likes soggy flowers… And I admit NUFFIN’ in public… :D

      April 1, 2011 at 7:32 pm

  2. It is a crying SHAME that you don’t do this more often!
    Methinks you might be falling for flowers, though I know you will deny it. I’m seeing the looooove.
    ;)

    April 1, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    • Hahaha… No no no no no… I’m not, honest.. Falling for them that is, not “not” denying it.. I mean.. I think.. “Walk away, nothing to be seen here”… Definitely no luvin’…

      (Phew.. Got away with that I think)

      April 2, 2011 at 7:53 am

  3. You sell yourself short, Brian. These are BEAUTIFUL floral shots! I want to dive right into that first lovely….looks so refreshing! :-)

    April 1, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    • Why thank you so much Tracy, that’s very kind of you to say… I’m glad you like them… (although I’m still not entirely convinced myself.. lol)..

      April 2, 2011 at 8:02 am

  4. Gina

    You totally fudged those names B. Tisk…Tisk…not letting you do research for me. Ever :D

    As for the pics…you found some beauties for sure. All my flowers (the rare and the few) wilt and die before I get ’round to shooting their portraits. Love all the glistening drops of…rainlike water (I’d never dream that you misted em for these shots. Nope. Never).

    April 1, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    • WHA !!.. But but but but.. Are you SURE !?!?.. I’m pretty positive they are the correct latin names for said flowery type schtuff… I spent well over a minute researching, and learning Latin, and everythin’… I’m nothing if not dedicated… :)
      And… ummmmm… Me !!.. Misting stuff !!.. Oh Noooooo.. Never !!.. :P

      April 2, 2011 at 8:08 am

  5. Macro flowers in my experience are notoriously difficult.
    Although i’m slightly unsure of the first and fourth.
    I am blown away by 2 and 3.
    They are excellent shots

    April 2, 2011 at 12:13 am

    • Many thanks, and I have to agree.. It’s a whole new area of photography for me… I wasn’t overly sure about the first shot either, but I was convinced otherwise by someone with a far better eye for this stuff than mine… I guess it’s lucky we all have different opinions though, as it seems to be liked by most… :)

      April 2, 2011 at 8:12 am

  6. Not impressive? I disagree! You really should do this more often.
    The Peachus Pencilshavers Softus is my favorite.

    April 2, 2011 at 12:15 am

    • Haha… Thanks Michaela… I may have a couple in reserve too, and I’m reliably informed that now is the time of year when all these little critters come out of hibernation… ;)

      April 2, 2011 at 8:14 am

  7. Well you know I love flowers and I think these are beautiful. I love the three isolated hyacinth flowers ..sorry, I should have used the correct name ‘Hidingus Pinkus’. They look like three little dancers in swirly skirts. And the Peachus Pencilsharvers Softus is such a clever idea. :)

    April 2, 2011 at 5:17 am

    • The three what !!… lol… Yes, if you’re going to frequent my blog, then we have to make sure were technically correct in these things, and stick to the proper terminology… or people will wonder what the heck we’re talking about… Hyacinths indeed !… “Pffft”… ;)
      Thanks Jayne… So pleased you like them.. :D

      April 2, 2011 at 8:18 am

  8. Val Erde

    Very good! I like the top one best!

    April 2, 2011 at 10:59 am

    • Thanks Val, my least favourite seems quite popular… Proves how much I know… lol..

      April 2, 2011 at 3:53 pm

  9. Ha! You have me chuckling. You have some very rare specimens growing around your home. Good photos, Brian.

    April 2, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    • Lol… Yup, we do indeed, and they’re all of the same genus “colourus stinkus petalus”…

      April 2, 2011 at 3:57 pm

  10. Ha, ha – love your flowery schtuff and your “Latin” names.
    Maybe you can share your roasting recipes next time! ;-)

    April 2, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    • Thanks Karen… I thought you might appreciate the effort expended in researching the correct names… As for the roasting.. well.. roast em, pepper em.. roast em a bit more until crispy.. et voila !!.. :D

      April 2, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  11. Smells like SPRIIIIIING :-) Awesome, Brian. Som more shots, please.

    April 2, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    • Thanks Irina… I’ll certainly see what I can do.. :)

      April 2, 2011 at 10:14 pm

  12. Found your blog through AKGinspiration. I love these shots and the names are awesome! I especially enjoyed “Peachus Pencilshavers Softus.” The colors and DOF are exactly how I love them.

    April 4, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    • Lol… Thanks so much, and thanks for the comment too… DOF is always an area I struggle with on flowers though, as the technical side of me always wants everything pin sharp, when I “know” it shouldn’t always be with flowers…

      April 5, 2011 at 6:59 am

  13. Lovely shots! Especially the raindrop coated flowers.

    April 5, 2011 at 11:49 pm

  14. wow! for not being your “area of expertise”, these are wonderful photos! the detail in the first photo is amazing!

    April 13, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    • Thanks so much… It’s an area I do feel I have an awful lot to learn though…

      April 13, 2011 at 6:28 pm

  15. Your photos are magnificent

    May 12, 2011 at 10:06 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,900 other followers