The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Top of the World

Well I’m back…

Now they say you’re supposed to do something every day that scares you… Well I didn’t manage EVERY day, unless I’m allowed to  include waking up next to the wife that is !!… lol… But I did manage at least a couple of things that gave me the willies… Now I’m not necessarily scared of heights, but we’re talking about going up a “normal” ladder to clean windows and the like… I DO however have to admit to balking slightly at the thought of a 560 ft (170 m) high viewing tower… with an elevator that speeds you to the top in less than 30sec… (but leaves you waiting in the windowed lobby at the top for what seemed like hours !!!)

Now there are stunning views from the three viewing floors at the top (and the kids insisted on visiting ALL of them). You can see for some 23 miles with 350° panoramic views…. BUT… and this is where the 2nd part of being scared comes in to play… as if doing all 3 viewing decks wasn’t bad enough… One of the decks has Europes largest glass floor…. Uh huh !!… That’s right… A GLASS FLOOR !!!… And.. you.. can.. walk.. across.. it !!!…

And OH YES… When your 5 year old daughter merrily throws off her shoes and starts running around on it, then there’s pride at stake… I tell ya though, I can confirm that walking back and forth on a glass floor at that sort of height makes your knees a wee bit shaky… For those of you who want to know exactly what the view is like… Well this was it… Straight down !!!…

Click large and go weak at the knees… if you dare… Enjoy… :)

32 responses

  1. Wow, that is SO COOL!!!!!!! But I’m not scared of heights… as long as you don’t ask me to bungee-jump off!! I’d rather walk down!
    Great views!

    April 22, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    • Actually bungee jumping is something I’ve always fancied doing, but have not yet quite plucked up the courage found the time… although I think I’d have to do it off a bridge, as the thought of a wobbly crane scares the cr*p out of me… lol.. This WAS pretty cool though… :)

      April 22, 2011 at 10:03 pm

      • You’re scared of heights and you want to bungee-jump???

        April 22, 2011 at 10:06 pm

        • Haha… Yeah I’m kinda odd like that… If it scares me (a bit) then all the more reason to test my limits (within reason)… If that makes sense… lol…

          April 22, 2011 at 10:12 pm

  2. This IS terribly cool B…what an incredible view down, out, around…all over! Sounds like a blast and I’d definitely join your daughter in running about although I might keep my shoes on. LOL

    Really sweet! Glad you had such beautiful weather for your getaway :)

    April 22, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    • It was quite the view for sure, and most of the time I actually had my eyes open too… I tell ya though, the no shoes rule sounded just fine to me, (even with YOUR feet… lol)… as the thought of my someones stilleto heel cracking the glass didn’t seem like a good thought… lol… Thanks G… :)

      April 22, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      • Ahh…didn’t realize the no shoes thing was a rule. Hope everyone had to wear socks…toe jam…Eewww!! Lol

        April 22, 2011 at 10:47 pm

        • Oh thanks for that… lol.. Well I had socks on… so that’s all I’m worried about… ;)

          April 22, 2011 at 11:30 pm

  3. Holy macro! That’s high!!! LOL I don’t know if I would survive that theory of getting scare, although it might help open my vision, but you sure had a lot fun doing it. Kids have the power to makes us do anything… ;)

    Brian, where is it exactly?

    Great shots, by the way!

    April 23, 2011 at 1:54 am

    • Thanks Anne, yeah I’m sure if it wasn’t for the kids, I might have given the glass floor a miss… lol… This is The Spinnaker Tower in Portsmouth, UK btw… :)

      April 24, 2011 at 7:16 pm

  4. Wowza, FS –
    this might be the nicest looking photo that ever made me want to throw-up! ;) I’m afraid my stomach couldn’t have handled that one – kudos for braving the climb to grab some awesome shots, though! :)

    April 23, 2011 at 1:55 am

    • Lol.. Well I was in definite disagreement with my knees for sure, but I’m glad I did it.. ;)

      April 24, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  5. Yep. I am not even enlarging that photo. I am shakey and sitting in a chair. Whoa! Beautiful photography, Brian!

    April 23, 2011 at 1:57 am

    • Thanks Leslie… Surprisingly taking the pic through the glass floor I found LESS scary than those looking out to the horizon… Have no idea why though… lol..

      April 24, 2011 at 7:19 pm

  6. A glass floor is just WRONG!!! I’d DIE, unless you gave me a couple martinis first ;) Kids are fearless and I can just imagine your wee one running around all giddily. Cute. Anyhow, the views you’ve captured are spectacular! Plus it looks like you had some stunning weather! Welcome back :)

    April 23, 2011 at 4:50 am

    • Haha… Well I thought I was going to, especially once we’d decided it was time to go, and the elevator took AGES to arrive… Well ok, maybe it was only 45 secs… but it seemed like hours… ;)

      April 24, 2011 at 7:22 pm

  7. I had no idea you could actually go inside and *up* the Spinnaker Tower! I think it’s a fantastic piece of architecture and I’d like to say I’m tempted to visit and go up it the next time I’m over on the mainland but I think the glass floor just might finish me off!

    Great shots, although even looking at a photo of looking down through the glass gives me a frisson of fear. :)

    April 23, 2011 at 7:14 am

    • YUP… You most certainly can… and it’s certainly an experience… You can stay well clear of the glass floor if you want to though… lol… but sometimes craziness takes over our common senses… lol.. Thanks Jayne.. :)

      April 24, 2011 at 7:24 pm

  8. That certainly would be unnerving – looking straight down!! This is similar to something that was recently added to the Willis Tower (formerly Sears Tower) in Chicago, it’s a glass room that sticks out over the city. I haven’t been there since they added it, but I might have to give it a try!

    April 23, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    • I’ve seen a programme about how they added that glass room to the Willis Tower, and they can pull it back in to the building for cleaning as well I believe… I think I’d prefer JUST the glass floor though, as opposed to a glass box… lol.. Thanks Holly..

      April 24, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  9. Wowee that is terrifying looking! But very cool looking at the same time! I have mixed feelings about heights; I’m okay with them when they are enclosed (no chance of falling down!) but pretty damn shaky if out in the open. I tried to climb a fire-tower in a local state park but couldn’t bring my wobbly knees to finish the climb while my daughter happily scurried to the top!

    April 23, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    • Haha… Yeah I’m ok up to a certain height, but climbing off of a ledge back on to a ladder normally plays with my nerves somewhat… Thanks Karen.. :)

      April 24, 2011 at 7:28 pm

  10. Uaah that last shot gives me antsy feet :-s Not much of a head for heights on me! Lovely shots though, fair play :D

    April 23, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    • LOL… Yeah I’m glad it was a clear day, or we’d have had to have gone back again… lol… Cheers Simone.. :)

      April 24, 2011 at 7:29 pm

  11. I would love it and would join your daughter. Looks fun. Thanks for sharing
    Anna
    http://Www.akginspiration.com

    April 23, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    • Well I guess you could classify it as fun… in a sadistic kind of way… lol… but I’m glad I did it… Thanks Anna.. :)

      April 24, 2011 at 7:30 pm

  12. From distance, it’s quite beautiful, but I’m not sure if I’d ever like to be climb that height :-)

    April 25, 2011 at 11:35 am

    • Thanks Irina.. Well climbing the 570 odd stairs would have put me off too.. lol, but fortunately there’s an elevator for public use… It was quite the height though.. :)

      April 25, 2011 at 2:02 pm

  13. I’m not scared of heights either but I do believe this would give me some ‘pause’ as well! What a cool view!!!

    April 25, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    • Well I had to “kinda” avoid looking up at it when we approached, to avoid getting pre-ascent willies… but it was definitely worth doing… :)

      April 29, 2011 at 7:18 pm

  14. Pingback: Karma’s August Rainbow Challenge « FS Photography

  15. Pingback: Midnight Meanderings « FS Photography

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,970 other followers