The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Quiet Contemplation

Well, as quiet as it can be when you’ve got your 11 year old daughter bugging you to take her picture too… She learnt her first lesson in photography this evening though, as we both headed out with our respective cameras… and that is to “check your battery”… lol…

First shot she see’s and turns the camera on, and then said “Oh !!.. Battery Exhausted ??… What does that mean Dad ??”…

I said, “That means that next time you’ll remember to check you’ve got a charged battery with you, just in case”… lol… Just as well I checked mine… Yeah I know I know…. I should have checked for her before we left home, but it was an ultra last minute kinda “Oooh look, that sunset looks nice… quick, grab your camera and lets go” kinda moment.. ;)

Btw, have a little photo gathering trip planned, so I might not be around for a week or so, so apologies in advance… :)

50 responses

  1. breathtaking photo!

    July 27, 2011 at 8:58 pm

  2. This is breathtaking.

    July 27, 2011 at 9:06 pm

  3. Beatuiful shot!! It really does speak of peace and quiet. While the battery lesson may have cost her a shot, I’ll bet that she remembers next time.

    July 27, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    • Many thanks Ted… She “might” remember… lol.. but I think I might have to remind her a few times too.. ;)

      July 27, 2011 at 11:26 pm

  4. WOW! Those colors are AMAZING!! Really beautiful.
    Yep, some lessons you have to learn the hard way,,,, like waaaay back in the pre-digital days, when I took my camera to the Arboretum and took picture after picture, and THEN realized that there was no film in the camera! (This one didn’t have that handy dandy little window that lets you see the roll of film that is – or isn’t! – in the camera).

    Can’t wait to see the pictures you bring back from your little trip. Have fun!

    July 27, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    • Thanks Michaela, it sure was a colourful evening, but I missed a better one the night before… Ah well, can’t win em all.. Lol on the film error though… You’re not the only one though, I know I’ve thought a film was finished and rewound, and opened the camera to expose everything, which was almost as bad.. lol..

      July 27, 2011 at 11:29 pm

  5. Val

    That is truly wonderful, Brian! :)

    July 28, 2011 at 1:56 am

  6. Awesome photo, Brian. Where is her horse? :) I have to keep extras in my camera case because I always forget to check that.

    July 28, 2011 at 4:38 am

    • She fond plenty of horses when we were on holiday… lol… Thanks Leslie, and I have plenty spares too just in case…

      August 15, 2011 at 8:01 pm

  7. What a beautiful sunset! I agree, we had the same impulse moment. lol

    And about that battery moment, it happened to me in the Keys, my camera went down… ya, I know, I should it known better! Forget to recharge it. ;)

    July 28, 2011 at 4:46 am

    • Sometimes you just have to rush out there don’t you, even if you’ve no time to find the perfect location… Thanks Anne… And we’ve all done it, hence why I now carry 3 batteries… lol…

      August 15, 2011 at 8:09 pm

  8. aw how disappointing for her; but still a gorgeous photo you captured

    July 28, 2011 at 6:29 am

    • Thank you so much Chloe… She was satisfied enough though being the model… :)

      August 15, 2011 at 8:10 pm

  9. Oh, I’ve done that! Luckily, my spare was charged.

    Enjoy your trip, I hope you gather many wonderful pictures!

    July 28, 2011 at 11:42 am

    • Thanks very much JP, and yeah I think I got a few shots… :)

      August 15, 2011 at 8:10 pm

  10. Awesome sunset and a good lesson I’m sure (although I agree you will likely have to remind her in the future…speaking from experience they are slow to learn such fine lessons). :D

    Enjoy your time away…looking forward to pic’s from your holiday. Don’t forget to buy me a souvenir. LOL

    July 28, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    • Ahhhh… Well I did buy you some New Forest Chocolate, but it began to melt… so I was forced to eat it… Sorry ’bout that… :)

      August 15, 2011 at 8:11 pm

  11. You are so mean! You didn’t check her battery for her? Sheesh! Glad you got out for this amazing sunset. It’s gorgeous. And it’s beautiful seeing the lil’ one sitting there pensively enjoying the scene. I hope you have a wonderful time away :)

    July 28, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    • Oh I can be meaner than that…. lol… as you well know… ;)
      Thanks A… It was real nice indeed…

      August 15, 2011 at 8:14 pm

  12. Stunning photo, Scott. Everything about it… stunning. :)

    I learned that battery lesson early on, too. It’s one of those lessons that sticks with you, especially if you missed what you thought would be a great shot or a once in a lifetime sort of thing.

    July 30, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    • Scott !!!… lol… Thanks so much Robin, it certainly was fortunate one of us was fully charged…

      August 15, 2011 at 8:15 pm

      • My apologies, Brian. I knew I’d messed up somewhere when I was rushing around trying to catch up on blogs, and for days I wondered where it was. I’m glad it wasn’t something worse than a wrong name (and there have been much worse mistakes).

        August 15, 2011 at 8:48 pm

        • LOL… Yeah it could have been a lot worse… but then I guess it very much depends exactly where you are, and what you’re doing when you get someone’s name wrong… ;)

          August 15, 2011 at 8:57 pm

  13. Haha I always hate it when the batteries are empty suddenly! But luckily I have some spare batteries with me very often.
    I really love this photo. The colours are really beautiful and it gives a nice touch that your daughter is looking at the sunset.

    July 31, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    • Me too… I have a battery grip with two batteries, AND a spare just in case… Just need to remember to charge them AND my daughters now… lol.. Thanks YP… :)

      August 15, 2011 at 8:16 pm

  14. Fantastic shot and a lesson she will never forget!

    July 31, 2011 at 3:27 pm

  15. I love this. The colors are wonderful and your daughter looks especially sweet in that hat.. it really adds something to the shot. Sorry I am late to pop in! I had that accident and power outage last week, and was away for the weekend so I’m very much behind on my blog reading!

    August 1, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    • Haha… Well you’re not the only one seriously behind, but I guess I’m fortunate my reasons are purely pleasurable, unlike your unfortunate series of events…. Hopefully things are back to normal now though…

      August 15, 2011 at 8:19 pm

  16. I’ve still not learned my lesson on that one… seems it still bites me every now and then. I’m glad that you pay better attention than I do, though – because missing this one would have been tragic! Awesome! And have a wonderful trip – I can’t wait to see what you bring back with you! :)

    August 2, 2011 at 3:10 am

    • I learned it a long time ago, and almost always carry a spare even if I’m travelling light… Thanks SIG…

      August 15, 2011 at 8:20 pm

  17. Great Colors… Superb Shoot…. wow… lovely…

    August 2, 2011 at 3:53 pm

  18. Wow, what a sky! Nice shot :)

    August 2, 2011 at 9:23 pm

  19. Fabulous shot. Enjoy your break away.

    August 4, 2011 at 8:07 pm

  20. Fantastic capture! I’m sure you daughter won’t make that mistake again! Still, maybe it was meant for her not to take photographs then, or perhaps you might not have been able to have taken this shot. :) Hope you have an amazing trip where ever it is you’re going!! I’m intrigued btw.

    August 5, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    • Thanks so much Samantha…. and mystery over, as we spent some time in The New Forest… and what a place that is to relax in… :)

      August 15, 2011 at 8:22 pm

  21. Cute story :) Love the sunset shot! its grea your daughter is getting into photography at such a young age!

    August 14, 2011 at 11:35 am

    • Thanks so much Adam, and it is real nice that she enjoys it with me…. Good to have a common interest still…

      August 15, 2011 at 8:23 pm

  22. Love these colors!

    August 25, 2011 at 4:43 am

  23. tajmutthall

    Beautiful. I guess pesky daughters are good for something after all!

    August 29, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    • LOL… She does have her uses occasionally… ;)

      August 29, 2011 at 6:48 pm

  24. Love the evening sky :D

    September 14, 2011 at 5:50 am

    • Thank you so much… Very kind of you.. :)

      September 19, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,529 other followers