The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Lighting The Way

This was a shot taken in quite dim light in Canterbury Cathedral. I love places like this so full of character with the grandeur of all the architecture… We also had a bit of a bonus on this visit as not only did we manage to sneak in for free, we also managed to get a special pass for using tripods AND shooting in the Crypt where no photography is allowed.

IMG_2802 s

And you certainly can’t beat a freebie, especially not when you get a special pass too..

8 responses

  1. This is superb Brian, such detail and I really like the way the light hits the ground. We were going to Canterbury last week but ran out of time, I must make sure I get back there to visit.

    August 31, 2009 at 9:55 am

    • Funky Slug

      Thanks Graham.. I’ve actually been hanging on to this shot for some time now and it’s never really had the right impact, but as my processing improves I’m finding I can use a lot more stuff from the archives…

      August 31, 2009 at 11:38 am

  2. Bertie

    Oh yeah, I remember when you went here. WOw, you really did process this superbly. Is it a panorama? Great work Funkster. The lighting and detail in the foreground is fantastic!

    August 31, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    • Funky Slug

      Thanks Roberta… It’s just a standard portrait with the wide angle, and yeah that sure was a good day… This is one of the shots that I knew had potential, but I could never process it how I liked… until recently that is when I tried a bit more blending of various filters and layers, which seemed to give it the life I wanted to convey.. Now all I have to do is remember what I did.. lol..

      August 31, 2009 at 6:21 pm

  3. Hi Brian! Now I’d like to visit “kentish” countryside as soon as possible!!! Many compliments :)
    chiara

    August 31, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    • Funky Slug

      Many thanks Chiara.. Well it certainly does have its fair share of gems if you’re prepared to explore.. If you catch the perfect weather then it’s a difficult place to beat.. :)

      September 1, 2009 at 9:23 pm

  4. Dan

    Fantastic shot Brian, superb composition and love the colours. I’m thinking of going to Canterbury Cathedral tomorrow – do you have to apply for a tripod pass before you go, or can you get one while you’re there?

    September 24, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    • Many thanks Dan, and yes we did get permission in advance, but I’m sure if you ask at the entrance kiosk they could point you in the right direction to get a pass for the tripod on the day…

      September 24, 2009 at 6:29 pm

Leave a Reply

