The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Something Different

Well I’m always up for trying something completely different, so this evening I decided to brave the elements and attempt a bit of sports photography.

IMG_8412_s

IMG_8412_s

Fortunately I managed to find a very accomodating kite surfer who seemed only too willing to surf back and forth in front of me doing some pretty hairy jumps while I rattled off numerous shots… Of those hundred or so I’ve pulled just 2 out to show here…

And believe me when I say “brave the elements”… It may not have been cold, but boy was the wind blowing pretty fiercely onshore… and man did my camera and I get covered in salt spray.. Worth it though…

6 responses

  1. Bertie

    I didn’t realize Brits DID sports ;) hehe…j/k. So cool Funky. Love the action in both shots. How fun that this guy was doing the jumps and stuff right in front of you! Is your hair all sticky from salt spray now?

    September 11, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    • Funky Slug

      Is my hair all sticky… Hahaha… Oh you are SOOOOO cruel Roberta… lol… Funny… but cruel all the same… ;)

      September 12, 2009 at 12:07 am

  2. The picture is wonderful, but I’m really enamoured with the sport. I’d never heard of kite surfing. Sounds incredible.

    September 12, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    • Funky Slug

      The sport looks pretty incredible too, but I’m not too sure that the North Sea is the place I’d pick to play in… ;)

      September 13, 2009 at 7:29 am

  3. How wonderful! My BIL is a kitesurf instructor in Spain, must get out there and get some shots (in the sunshine though!). eeek, did you camera survive a dose of sea spray? Although of course it’s only a Canon ….

    September 13, 2009 at 6:54 am

    • Funky Slug

      Well Spain certainly sounds an awful lot more appealing than the north Kent coast in a chilly summers day… lol.. And thanks for the concern Spud… lol.. But yes – my camera survived just fine.. ;)

      September 13, 2009 at 7:31 am

Leave a Reply

