The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Puffed Out…

So the other day my daughter was told she’d got in to the clarinet club at school, which starts some time soon… and she brought home a clarinet to practice with… No instruction on how to play it or anything yet, as she was just told to practice assembling and dis-assembling it for now….

WELL… Being an engineer and inquisitive as I am there was no way I could let her “just” assemble it, then dis-assemble it and put it away again, so I decided that it also needed playing too…

Now I have absolutely no musical talent whatsoever, but seriously… It’s a clarinet… You blow it…. How hard can it be !!!…  Hmmmmm… A LOT harder than I thought it was going to be that’s for sure… It took me about a minute to assemble… Then another 10 minutes of blowing and cussing that something must be missing… Then a further 10 minutes scouring the net looking at pictures of clarinets to make sure all the bits where actually where they were supposed to be… Then another 10 minutes blowing and huffing and puffing… and not a single sound would emanate from this  blasted instrument of torture….

So on the point of giving up I gave one last gasp HUUUUGE puff… and it WORKED…. Well, when I say worked I mean to say it kinda made a gargled strangled cat like wailing for a few seconds… which after a few more hefty puffs did improve slightly to something more akin to a cat with a sore throat…

My conclusion…. It MUST be broken… lol… So revert to what you know, and break out the camera and just take photo’s of the darned thing…. So here you go…. A picture… :)

IMG_9756_s

2 responses

  1. Bertie

    Hahaha you are killing me here! hehehe….poor thing huffing and puffing. I know how to play a clarinet ;) hehe…I bet they didn’t give her a reed for it. You can’t blow a sound without a reed. It’s basically like spitting through a popsicle stick to get a sound out of the mouthpiece. LOLOL

    Oh, but what a fantastic macro. Something beautiful out of a dud intrument. hehe

    October 4, 2009 at 3:40 pm

  2. It HAD a reed… lol… I know I’m not musically inclined, but I’m not quite that non musical… ;)
    I just wasn’t puffing anywhere near hard enough is all… lol… And I might have known you of all people would be able to play one… Grrrrrr…. Some people are just too clever… lol.. ;)

    October 4, 2009 at 4:31 pm

Leave a Reply

