The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Kids… Gotta luv em…

Well there’s no area of photography that I’ll not attempt… Or at least I’ve not found one yet that is… But there are a few that I have to say chill me to the bone… lol… Well ok, maybe not that bad, but not something I’d choose in preference to spending the night in a bath full of worms… ;)

Anyway… One such area is portraiture… I’ve IMG_1090_sdone it, and will continue to do it until I improve… I’m a masochist like that… lol.. Maybe one day I’ll even enjoy it… (frantically trying hard to avoid the typical sexist attractive female model references)….

Today though I was asked by a friend to shoot her kids (as other forms of punishment weren’t working)… hehe… Great kids though, and a real pleasure to shoot (insert involuntary cough)… Yeah ok, maybe the last bit is pushing the bounds of reality.. lol.. It’s fair to say it was a trial… As one of them really really really did not want “her” picture taken, but I’m not telling on which one it was… suffice to say it wasn’t “him”…. ;)

We struggled for some time it has to be said to even get her to look at the camera, but once she did I just rattled off a few shots until I got a glimmer of a smile and decided that that was good enough… Phew…. lol…

IMG_0263_sHere’s a couple more though that I did IMG_0252_sof my own kids too… And again had a VERY similar experience with the youngest… The oldest really couldn’t get enough…. But the youngest… WHOLE different story… There were plenty of tears there too about 2 minutes before this shot… lol…

So if anyone asks me again to shoot their kids… Next time I’m going in with a Magnum… and I don’t mean the ice cream… ;)

2 responses

  1. Bertie

    Brian, were you torturing these kids, or maybe wearing a scary mask? I mean, it’s a well known fact that kids LOVE to have their picture taken. hehehe… Your story is hailarious. I would never have guessed from the top picture that you struggled at all. It looks natural and beautiful, and I love how the girl’s hair is falling over one eye. You really did amazing here. Oh, well done with your own kids too ;)

    November 10, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    • Oh trust me, I was the one being tortured. Lol. I’m faaaar to used to shooting things that lack emotion and stay exactly where they’re put… Maybe I should try bribery next time… Do you have any idea where I can get cheap ponies from… lol..

      November 10, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

