The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Times Change

So after 24 years working for my current employer, in various roles from Electrical Apprentice to Test Engineer to Product Designer etc etc etc, finally ending up as Quality Manager…. Well finally it’s all come to an end, as we found out after months on month of uncertainty, that the business has gone in to receivership.  I’m now spending the next few weeks or so as part of small team slowly helping to wind the business up…

Most of my spare time however might now be spent trying to figure out how exactly I’m going to support a family of four, at this time of year, with a grand income of £0.00…. and pay the bills / buy food etc  etc…That should be entertaining… Maybe I can sell a few organs…. or children…. or both….. lol… You CAN survive on just one lung can’t you…. Maybe I could sell a leg too, and just hop everywhere… That would save on shoes too, and if I can get my wife to sell the opposite leg we could share trousers too…. Actually, now I think of it, does anybody need a new wife !!!… I’m open for offers… lol… She comes fully equipped with all her own baggage, and pound for pound has to be good value for money… ;)

Still…. If nothing else it might give me a bit more time to concentrate on photography… All I need now is some decent weather, and to find someone who’ll buy my pictures for a few thousand a go too… lol…. So if anyone happens to know an eccentric millionaire or two…. ;)

Better still…. If anyone’s got a job going… lol… I don’t mind working for a living… I’d even be prepared to do stuff if I’m paid enough money… ;)

12 responses

  1. Michael

    that’s a long time to be working for one employer and then get the bullet Brian, sorry to hear it and it can throw you into a turmoil, I worked at the shop for 23 years and was then told we were going tits up……I got into quite a lather but decided to go self employed, it did involve buying the shop and hocking myself to the devil and my debt is larger than the one they call the ‘national debt’ but I keep myself sane by taking photo’s.
    it’s hard to start out again but you clearly have a wealth of experience, try to cut out the negatives and think positively, I know it is easily said, but life is what you make of it, you clearly see images from a different perspective than 99% of photographers, so use your unique focus for you and your families future, all the best Brian, best rgds Michael.

    November 20, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    • Cheers Michael… Thanks for the encouragement… I shall certainly be doing what I can to stay positive, and thought maybe it would be best if I start selling someone elses organs first… :)

      November 20, 2009 at 9:07 pm

  2. Gary

    Hi Brian,
    Sorry to hear of your situation but I do understand. I’m also looking for employment after 27 years. It’s good to stay positive and keep your humor about things.
    One suggestion, I’ve found that feeding the kids every other day will save considerably on food costs! :)

    November 20, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    • My humour will be here for the long run… ;)
      Your suggestion has given me an idea though… Maybe I could just feed bits of the kids to each other every few days… That would save even more… lol… ;)

      November 20, 2009 at 10:28 pm

  3. Sorry to hear of your predicament FS, hope you find some work soon. My company are looking to make voluntary redundancies in the next month too!

    November 20, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    • Cheers Graham… Seems like there’s much more in the way of redundancies than employment at the moment eh….

      November 21, 2009 at 12:10 am

  4. Nadine

    So sorry to hear this and I hope that things turn around quickly for you. After 29 years with my company, I was laid off in 2003. It’s certainly not the most enjoyable experience I’ve ever had. And I wish I had some perfect words of wisdom to share. I have to admit I’ll be looking forward to you spending more time on your photography just to see what you come up with.

    Cheers!

    November 21, 2009 at 4:23 am

    • Thanks Nadine… Mixed feelings to be honest… Looking forward to a new challenge somewhere else, but not looking forward to the looking for it… lol… if that makes sense… ;)

      November 21, 2009 at 4:22 pm

  5. She comes fully equipped with her own baggage? Sounds like a steal of a deal! lol. Seriously though, you know I feel your pain. What a horrible turn of events and I’m truly sorry slugface :(

    November 21, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    • Thanks so much MrsA… It sure isn’t the best of times at the moment but I’m hopeful that something good will come from it… New and interesting ventures etc… It’ll be interesting for sure after 24 years… And before you mention the 24 years… Shut up !!.. lol.. ;)

      November 27, 2009 at 10:02 pm

  6. Bleak times and I’m sorry to hear this Brian. We’re living in uncertain times but great to see your humour shine through. I hope things works out for the better very soon.

    November 27, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    • Cheers David… Yeah I do intend to hold on to the humour as long as I can… lol… That’s one thing at least that they can’t tax me on… and apparently I don’t need to fill out claim forms in triplicate for either… ;)

      November 27, 2009 at 12:51 pm

Leave a Reply

