The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Winters Rant… back again…

So we’ve been hit by quite the winters scene, which although extremely pleasant to look at does have the unfortunate side effect of making travel extremely difficult…. as this country seems to be totally incapable of dealing with any form of weather…. It’s either the wrong kind of rain… The wrong colour leaves on the line… Inconsiderate cloud formations…. Overly bright sunshine… Wind that smells funny (or maybe that’s just me)… lol… Anyway’s, I’m sure you get the picture… The basic problem is that there’s always an excuse when the transport infrastructure fails, and everything is either late or cancelled… I really do find it amazing though that some countries get 18″ of snow and continue to function normally, but we get the merest flurry of snow and they close all the main airports / rail networks / major roads…. Hmmmmm… Makes you wonder how developed a country we really are…

Anyway.. That’s my rant… lol… But it does still look pretty, and I will hopefully be able to venture somewhere to get some better shots maybe, if it’s still here at the weekend… but here’s a lame one for now taken at the end of my road…

So today, in a feeble attempt to re-motivate myself and drag myself out of this recent slump, I decided to take the day off work and spend some fun time with the kids in the snow (as surprisingly ALL the schools were closed)… lol… Well what better way to enjoy the snow than with a bit of sledging… Only problem there I thought, as I was laying snug and warm in bed, was that we have snow so infrequently the kids don’t have a sledge… So being the good dad I am I decided to drag myself out of my cosy bed and build them one from scratch… So there I am at 8am this morning, in a freezing garage, with odd bits of wood, saws, drills, screws, planes, frozen hands, numb fingers… beavering away like some crazed beavering type beaver thing… lovingly building a hand-crafted rocket sledge….

Well at some point during my toils I must have whacked my hand, as my knuckle is now all swollen and bruised… Not that I felt it though… but it sure hurts like heck now…. Anyway’s… an hour or so later said sledge is complete, with superfast runners etc etc….

So off we head to the nearest hill (and I was even kind enough to take the kids with me too) to try said sledge… Me pulling the sledge with kids on board all the way there… And it flew… and at least one of the kids loved the twin seater super speedy sluggy sledge…

The only thing was, after all of my troubles… I was greeted with moans of disgruntled disgust, when at the bottom of the hill they MOANED and WHINED because they had to drag it back to the top of the hill !!!!…. There’s gratitude for you…. lol…

The afternoons outing was slightly more appreciated though, and wasn’t inclusive of quite so much moaning and whining…. but then it is difficult for kids to moan with a mouth full of snowball… I AM the snowball champion… It’s official… I can beat any 9 year old hands down… ;)

12 responses

  1. aswirly

    Hooray it’s back! Your street looks like a winter wonderland I must say. I will NEVER see my street look as charming as this. Funny about how your area just collapses with a little bit of snow. hehehe…Although, mine is just as bad. Drop below 50 degrees and people get pretty upset! Anyways, I love that you built a sledge for your kids and had a snow day. Pretty cute stuff ;)

    January 8, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    • Drop below 50 !!!… Shut up… lol… Grrrrrrr….. I’ll have you know it’s been / felt as low as 20 degrees here… It does look pretty cool though, and we’re apparently in for a lot more this weekend too… More snowball fighting…. Woo Hoo… ;)

      January 8, 2010 at 8:27 pm

      • aswirly

        Scoop up some snow and eat it with maple syrup. mmmm…. or what ever you people have there…squash? hehe

        January 8, 2010 at 8:30 pm

  2. Did no one ever tell you that yellow snow is bad…. REAL BAD… lol… Never eat yellow snow… ‘k…. Yuck !!… ;)

    January 8, 2010 at 8:32 pm

  3. Kerri

    Hello =)

    Looks a lot like here!

    I hope all is well. Take care!

    January 9, 2010 at 12:39 am

    • Hi Kerri.. Yeah it’s coming down heavy now and more promised for the weekend… The kids love it… Sorry I’ve not been on Flickr… Kinda had other things to get my head round… Thanks for saying Hi… :)

      January 9, 2010 at 12:43 am

  4. Kerri

    Get out and build a snowman!

    January 9, 2010 at 1:14 am

    • Already did… and a snow dog… and a snow hamster… and a snow slug… ;)

      January 9, 2010 at 10:42 am

  5. wish my partner had made mine a sledge, can i borrow you :), we have the white stuff here in Essex but it kind of keeps thawing but i am to frightened to drive out at all in it. Do hope you cheer up soon I miss you and your funny comments, your one of those people that brighten up my day, Take care xxx

    January 9, 2010 at 10:28 am

    • Thanks so much Andrea… Well it was kinda fun building it… and they did “kinda” appreciate it.. lol.. At least they called me the best dad ever for making it, and then promptly moaned about having to pull it… lol… Gotta love em… ;)

      January 9, 2010 at 10:39 am

  6. Car

    This cracks me up, the story is like a comedy of Funky errors ;) Poor you ;0) Car x

    January 13, 2010 at 7:16 am

    • It wasn’t funny…. lol… Well ok, maybe it kinda was slightly funny… just… ;)

      January 13, 2010 at 8:04 am

Leave a Reply

