The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Hmmmmm…

Well ok… I know it’s not pretty…. But this was more an experiment with lighting than anything else, and in the absence of a better looking model I had to resort to the only option left….

It was either this or a pile of old laundry…. That’s my excuse anyway…. :)

EDIT.. Ok, so by special request, here’s the maniacal grin version… with different lighting and processing… See, I’m nothing if not accommodating… lol… ;)

And I even have all my own teeth and hair (or some of it)… for now at least… I’m just growing too tall for what’s left of it…. :)

19 responses

  1. aswirly

    Are you REALLY smiling? Your eyes look so serious and deep in thought. The lighting is very well done giving you a broody feel. I like it! Very nice portrait B :) Good to see ya :)

    January 24, 2010 at 12:06 am

    • Oh trust me MrsA, I am really “kinda” smiling… lol… It’s either the pensive smile like this, or the insane maniacal grin… There is no in between I’m afraid… lol… ;)

      January 24, 2010 at 12:12 am

    • Oh, and thanks… Glad you like… :)

      January 24, 2010 at 12:13 am

      • aswirly

        I wanna see a menaical grin. I totally don’t believe you ;)

        January 24, 2010 at 12:17 am

  2. LOL… Well maybe… Just for you I’ll rustle one up some time… Be warned though, it’s not pretty… I’ll make sure that the house is empty first though, as I’d not want to scare the kiddies… ;)

    January 24, 2010 at 12:23 am

    • aswirly

      I can’t wait! ;)

      January 24, 2010 at 1:04 am

      • Ummmmm… Well never say I don’t do as I’m told… :)

        January 24, 2010 at 1:10 am

  3. aswirly

    WHAAAAT? That’s not menaiacal at all!! That’s downright precious! If you want to see menaiacal…well, I guess you haven’t seen my monkey grin. LOL

    January 24, 2010 at 1:19 am

    • Awwwww shucks… Thanks… Well it’s maniacal to me… And the monkey grin… Ummm… No comment… lol… But I’m thinking that as I showed you mine… ;)

      January 24, 2010 at 1:25 am

  4. Photos or laundry? You have to do the essentials in life….photos win EVERY time :D

    January 24, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    • Well it wasn’t photo’s or laundry… it was photo’s of laundry… lol… But even then maybe the laundry takes second spot… maybe.. lol… Cheers Brian..

      January 24, 2010 at 6:18 pm

  5. Really like the lighting on this one FS

    January 24, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    • Well that’s good… as it was mainly the lighting I was playing with… Cheers Graham..

      January 24, 2010 at 6:18 pm

  6. Hi Brian! Cool portrait! I have been struggling whenever I want to take self portraits. I tried a couple of times and in the end I always ask my husband to take them for me. To him, that was no longer self portraits. How do you make sure that you are sharp?

    January 26, 2010 at 7:08 am

    • Hi Attiev… Many thanks.. Well I use a remote release whenever I do mine, so it’s fairly easy to get the focus right that way… most of the time… ;)

      January 26, 2010 at 7:29 am

      • I see… and you use the automatic focusing I assume?

        January 26, 2010 at 7:32 am

        • I do indeed, but I also set which focusing point I want to use, based on where I think I’ll be in the frame. It usually works out ok that way… :)

          January 26, 2010 at 7:38 am

        • Ah now I see… :) I will do that next time! Thanks Brian. Have a great day. I enjoy reading your posts. They always make me smile.

          January 26, 2010 at 7:40 am

        • Thanks so much… Have a great day too.. :)

          January 26, 2010 at 7:44 am

Leave a Reply

