The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Cosmic Crossings

I don’t get anywhere near enough opportunity to do these, but every once in a while the conditions seem to be too good to resist… No wind (not me), no clouds, no crazy star ruining atmosphere, not “much” light pollution and bright stars…. Well tonight was one such night when I had to take a shot I’d been after for a while…. and using the tried and trusted layering technique … I blended this from 18 x 30sec exposures… Well it didn’t come out quite how I envisioned it, but it will have to do for now…

I’m not entirely sure though why some stars appear white, and some vivid blue, when they all look pretty white to the naked eye…. Anyone know the reason ???… lol…

11 responses

  1. aswirly

    Brian, this is really REALLY cool. Not only do you have stars, but streaking cars in the distance! And your layering made for a real crisp shot. I’m so glad you got out and got some stars. It’s awesome. More please ;)

    March 3, 2010 at 12:11 am

    • Well I’m not sure it’s quite up to your standard, as you do tend to get a few more stars than me… Way to much light polluiton to deal with round here… But it’s something to build on at least… :)

      March 3, 2010 at 8:15 am

  2. aswirly

    I thought about researching your question about the blue stars…but I’ve been way too lazy ;) maybe it has something to do with blue being the shortest wave length? You know, similar reason to why we see the sky as blue? Maybe the blue stars are closer while all the light rays merge to white in further stars. Wild guess.

    March 3, 2010 at 6:32 am

    • Awwww poo, and that was why I posed the question too, as I was too lazy to research it… lol.. Well at least I can rely on you to be as lazy as me…

      So it’s nothing to do with the type or age of the bulbs they use in the stars then.. Maybe some use halogen bulbs, whilst others use energy saving bulbs… Or maybe the bluer stars use more chlorine in their swimming pools, whilst the whiter ones are more environmentally friendly… OR… Maybe the bluer stars are way older and all the inhabitants are old, and use blue rinse hair colouring to hide the grey !?!?… It’s possible… :)

      Yeah ok… I’ll go with your explanation for now… lol… ;)

      March 3, 2010 at 8:23 am

      • aswirly

        ROFL!!! You CRACK me UP!!! You silly thang you. lol. Thanks for the giggle.

        March 4, 2010 at 12:47 am

  3. Oooooh star trails – nice. Looks well cool. As for the blue and white stars…ummmmm….dunno…let’s leave it to Amber to find out eh?

    March 5, 2010 at 12:54 am

    • Well I’m STILL waiting…. lol… Maybe she’s too busy blue rinsing her hair…. ;)

      March 6, 2010 at 7:59 pm

  4. Ah nice work FS, I have not tried this yet, must give it a go. Hope the work situation is improving pal.

    March 8, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    • You sure have got to try it mate… So many different ways of doing it, but they all seem to work…
      And erhhhhh…. The work situation… ummmm… Well I’d love to say it is…. but there ya go…. lol….

      March 8, 2010 at 9:48 pm

  5. My husband is fascinates with the stars. I am not a big fan. But seeing this shot makes me want to give it a try. The place where I live is quite dark anyway. Will share this with him. Thanks Brian :)

    March 11, 2010 at 4:43 am

    • You have to try it at least once, and if you’re blessed with little light pollution then the results would be amazing…. I’ll keep an eye out for your first star shot… ;)

      March 11, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Leave a Reply

