The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Volcanic Sunset

Following on from the unfortunate Icelandic volcanic eruption today, which has brought the whole of British airspace to a complete halt owing to the cloud of volcanic ash covering most of Northern Europe, we were at least promised quite a dramatic sunset…. and I have to say that it didn’t disappoint…

I have to confess to having a tiny bit of a thing for sunsets… just in case no one had actually noticed that small fact…. especially as you don’t have to get up early in the morning to catch them…

14 responses

  1. aswirly

    OMG I didn’t even realize about the volcano!!! Oh man, that is crazy. I had to go look it up and WOW, what a reminder of how small we are…

    Looks like you’re quite enjoying it though ;) hehe…I don’t blame you. I mean, what a magnificent sky. Your images are absolutely stunning. Such breathtaking color. Does the air smell any different there?

    April 16, 2010 at 2:05 am

    • Thanks so much A… You’d have loved it… Surprisingly enough though if I hadn’t heard about it on the news I’d never have known, as the dust cloud is so high and dispersed that you can’t see it at all… The smell though is… OH!!!… Sorry, that was me… ;)

      April 16, 2010 at 10:21 am

  2. Absolutely stunning, a beautiful sunset. I heard about the volcano eruption this morning.

    April 16, 2010 at 2:48 am

    • Well it looked real nice, but you sure have to feel sorry for all of those stranded due to the complete shutdown of any flights…

      April 16, 2010 at 10:23 am

  3. Fabulous colours! I am so jealous. Desert climates don’t have great sunsets.

    Funny, but I was telling someone about Mt Pinatubo and the amazing sunsets that some photographers were capturing. No ash got as far as Israel, which was actually just as well because I was trying to capture the new moon.

    I did get a reasonable shot but it’s not the greatest. Now that I have a much better idea of how to take the picture (and NOT to listen to my know-it-all neighbour’s camera instructions which were way off the mark), I can try in another month or two. Here’s the new moon on the horizon: http://apinnick.wordpress.com/2010/04/15/new-moon-setting/

    April 16, 2010 at 7:33 am

    • Thanks so much Avital… Lol at your know it all neighbour… I think we all have one of those…

      April 16, 2010 at 2:16 pm

  4. Love those reflections, wasn’t t a stunning sky. I as floating around the Tonbridge area so I stopped where I could to capture the spectacle. I wish I was on the North Kent coast.

    April 16, 2010 at 11:18 am

    • It sure was quite the sunset, although it didn’t last quite as long as I was hoping it would…

      April 16, 2010 at 2:00 pm

  5. I’m more than happy with this volcano thing at the moment, especially when it produces pictures like this. What a cracking sunset that is sir – nice!

    April 17, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    • Well we’ve only had the one amazing evening…. but it was worth it… I’m just glad I’m not planning to fly anywhere any time soon….

      April 17, 2010 at 8:12 pm

  6. Wonderful reflections there Brian! I love the point of view here. That must be fun for you shooting sunset during this time. Well, enjoy then! :) I love to see your sunsets shots with those crazy, dramatic colours.

    April 19, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    • I’m hoping that tonight will be real nice too, as it’s looking promising right now… We’ll see… Thanks Attiev..

      April 19, 2010 at 6:14 pm

  7. Stunning photographs! I had a look at your other photographs and I must say I am very impressed with your work. Very well done Brian!!
    Jan

    May 15, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Leave a Reply

