The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Health Warning…

Yeah I’m sorry, but I thought I’d better issue the relevant health and safety precautions with this one… It’s not pretty, and certainly not for the faint of heart… And I don’t want anyone suing me that’s for sure… So as an extra safety measure, and last warning, here is the obligatory “take me to the kittens” link… although I have to confess, they’re not strictly kittens per-se…. No libel actions over that one either please… :)

So I have the opportunity to try out some night portraiture shooting for a very good friend of mine…. She’s agreed to let me experiment on her…. lol… (some people just never learn)…. ;)

Anyways… Before I experiment on her, I decided that maybe I should have a play around with myself first…. Oooooh…. Ummmmm…. Maybe I should re-phrase that…. Conduct some “personal research”… That sounds MUCH better… :)

So here ya go… You HAVE been warned…. It’s not too late to run away…

I know the single off camera speedlight probably isn’t ideal, but at the moment it’s all I have, so will have to do…. Hopefully at some point I might be able to acquire some candles… and if nothing else, at least the smoke will obscure my ugly mug… :)

Sorry… lol… But sometimes you just HAVE to make someone else suffer…. Consider yourself lucky, I have to look at me every day… ;)

12 responses

  1. Wonderful portrait of yourself Brian! Mu husband finds it cool too hehehhe The speedlight doesn’t hurt here Brian. In fact you used it appropriately LOL. Excellent backdrop too!! I hope you had fun while experimenting yourself ;p

    April 22, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    • Thanks Attiev… Glad you like it… Well this was after all a lesson in using slow sync off camera lighting, so yeah the speedlight was essential for this shot… It would however be better with proper portable studio lighting obviously… But I had to go with what I have… :)

      April 22, 2010 at 1:34 pm

  2. aswirly

    Are you playing with yourself again? lol…You kill me. Fortunately your sp isn’t THAT scary. No kittens needed ;). lol…. Seriously though B, it’s a great portrait. The flash is perfect and with that sky too…awesome. Can’t wait for you to experiment on your friend. I’m sure the result will be fantastic!

    April 22, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    • Oh… Not “that” scary eh… Just “slightly” scary… Is that what you mean… lol… Ummm… Thanks A… I think… ;)
      Seriously though, I can’t wait to do some more serious night portraits… Thanks you… :)

      April 22, 2010 at 9:18 pm

      • aswirly

        ok ok, not scary at all! well, maybe just a smidge ;)

        April 22, 2010 at 10:19 pm

        • That’s better… slightly… lol… :)

          April 22, 2010 at 10:22 pm

  3. I think that is a great shot. It’s in a perfect setting and the lighting is great too. Judging from this photo, I’m sure your friend will be pleased with the result. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

    April 23, 2010 at 2:03 am

    • Thanks Consuelo.. All I have to do now is wait for the next perfect sunset.. :)

      April 23, 2010 at 9:08 am

  4. Great setup! Considering I could see the top edge of the photo while reading, I was expecting a carcass or something in the foreground once i started scrolling. Funny story, great photo! Wonderful cloud formations and lighting!

    April 24, 2010 at 12:33 am

    • LOL… Thanks Sean… Maybe a carcass would have been a better idea… ;)

      April 25, 2010 at 3:25 pm

  5. LOL! You are HILARIOUS Brian! I know how you feel which is why I don’t post self-portraits! But YOU have nothing to worry about…yours are always good! :-)

    P.S. the new images you added in Animals, the ones of the baby ??? – adorable!! :-)

    April 26, 2010 at 3:21 am

    • Thanks Tracy… Yeah I only ever do them if I’m trying out something different, and I always try to make it more about the photograph / technique itself than me… lol… The next one will be me standing behind a tree… or a bus… or an elephant… Basically anything that’s big enough to completely obscure me… ;)

      Oh and the babies… They were prairie dogs…. and couldn’t have been more than a few weeks old if that… They were the best… :)

      April 26, 2010 at 9:21 am

Leave a Reply

