The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

National Security Threat…

Yes… That’s pretty much what we were last night… Armed and dangerous, and very much a threat to national security with our cameras and tripods…. lol… Maybe the tripods were confused with missile launchers… ;)

I mean seriously… Exactly how much damage can you do to a piece of architecture with a camera !?!?!…

So last night the City of London was due a nocturnal visit, and I was severely reprimanded by a power-hungry security guard, obviously looking for a quick kill…. And for what reason you may ask… What high security government complex did I infiltrate… What national armourment access codes did I steal… Hmmmm…. Well funnily enough, all I managed was to stand on his “step”, just to see if there was a different angle for a shot…. which there wasn’t…. So I stepped off again…. and walked away…

Black and White or Colour ??..

He tracked me down though a few minutes later, and started spouting the section blah blah blah rules of trespassing…. and how I’d “stepped on to their property !!!!”…. I was polite and apologised, saying I didn’t realise, as there was no delineation between public / private property…. but he was off on some power trip, and started spouting how my house was private, and he’d not walk in to my living room the way I “stood on his step”…. Lol…

Then he pointed out some tiny studs buried in the paving, and said “If you see these studs, then you’re allowed to stand THAT side, but you’re trespassing THIS side…. Then he radio’d in to head office how he’d foiled a major security breach…. LOL…. They are SUCH idiots…. He was one of many last night, all on the same power trip…. Give them a badge and a uniform and they’re like the next Fidel Castro… ;))

19 responses

  1. Oh you’re such a crim! I got nobbled by a ‘security’ officer on a train a couple of months ago when my foot that was crossed over my leg accidentally brush the seat opposite. He prosecuted me for having my feet on the chair. What pillocks they are. Anyway, you got a great angle. I like the b and w one – Metropolis like.

    April 25, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    • Yeah they are the strangest breed… We even tried to joke with one of them, but his steely eyed glare was having none of it…

      April 25, 2010 at 5:36 pm

  2. How DARE you step on HIS step!! LOL! This reminded me of the guy who got in his SUV and drove DOWN his driveway (hmmm, maybe 80 yards or so?) JUST to yell at me for photographing a downed tree on the edge of his property! (This was during all the wild storms we were having so I was out photographing damage in the area – I wasn’t EVEN on his property but standing in the road!) He then got in his SUV and drove BACK up the driveway! First, I can’t imagine having that kind of paranoia and second, how LAZY is that??

    Anyways, nice photos. Hmmmm, the choice between b/w and color is tough as they are both good and each have a very different feel to them. If I were forced to choose, I’d go b/w as your finishing gives it a very gotham city vibe. Nice work! :-)

    April 26, 2010 at 3:27 am

    • Haha… Yeah that IS insane, and so so lazy too… A friend of mine got told off for taking pictures of her own daughter in a park… And I got told off for getting out of my car beside a road, to take a picture of a swan… Apparently my presence standing “next to” my car could have disturbed the nesting wildlife !!!… I turned round and looked at the road, no more than 2 yards away… and just said “ummmmm… Yeah ok !!”….

      Some people have the strangest views…. lol…

      April 26, 2010 at 9:30 am

  3. Gina

    Having seen both…I (of course!) lurve the color version. But…have to agree that the b&w has a very gothem modern cool vibe. I think they are both fantastic so my choice is…NOT to choose!! :)

    Sweet work B!!

    April 26, 2010 at 5:24 am

    • Might have known you’d plump for a splash or two of the vivid stuff…. lol… That’s of course ignoring the minor fact that you took the wussy option of kinda NOT choosing…. lol… Thanks G…. ;))

      April 26, 2010 at 9:33 am

  4. I favour the B&W Brian. It looks so much cooler ;p
    About those security guards, we experience the same thing here. I wanted to photograph a relatively new building, the guards stopped us before we entered the area. I got p*ssed too. He said if we still want to, we can photographed it from outside the gate. And I was thinking how pretty would that be. I haven’t visit the building for a year now. I will when I have access to a higher ground in front of it.
    Now, I am thinking, do we need to befriend these “guards” so we could have access? With your charm and humour, I am sure that they will succumb in good time. How about that? ;p

    April 26, 2010 at 5:40 am

    • Honestly Attiev… It never ceases to amaze me the attitude of these security guards… I find the police themselves are mostly ok, and sometimes even helpful… but the private security firms are on a serious power trip…. Oh, and believe me… we have TRIED the passive humorous approach on many an occasion, but they must be specifically trained to be impervious to any form of humour…. as they NEVER even so much as crack a smile…

      It does make me wonder how long it will be before cameras are banned completely in public places… I have a feeling that day won’t be too many years away….

      April 26, 2010 at 9:41 am

  5. aswirly

    He foiled a major security breach ;) haha… I can’t imagine a slug being a threat ;) I wonder if he’d be nicer if you were a girl. Nah, those security guys are on such power trips. Hilarious though!!! Love both the bw and color. I’m really drawn to the color, although the drama of the bw is so cool…. ugh… keep both!

    April 26, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    • Yeah I’m not sure being a girl would have helped… Well ok, maybe just a bit… And NO… I am NOT going to dress up just to test your concept… lol… Not even if you do plead… ;)

      April 27, 2010 at 12:00 am

      • aswirly

        Puhleeeeeze… DOn’t make me send you the begging eyes again ;)

        April 27, 2010 at 12:03 am

        • Hahaha… Weeeeeell…. Ummmm…. NO !!!… lol… And if I ever did there’d never be photographic evidence… Well ok, maybe just that one time… lol… ;)

          April 27, 2010 at 12:07 am

  6. It does sound like he was on a power trip. I had the same thing happen to me at a mall. I was just taking pictures of my daughter and husband when the security guard ran over to me and said you can’t have camera’s in here. He was all proud to say all what he knew and I was polite and said okay sorry. He seemed like a newbie and was just proud in his uniform so I let him have his moment of glory.

    Beautiful shots by the way. I like both colour and black and white. I also like the composition.

    April 27, 2010 at 2:21 am

    • It’s crazy isn’t it the way they react sometimes… and to be honest they’d gain much more respect and compliance if they were just a bit more “normal” about the whole thing… Sure they have rules to enforce, but being polite and human about it isn’t going to hurt…. especially when we’re polite and apologetic… Ah well… lol…

      April 27, 2010 at 9:08 am

  7. I was there and you did look like trouble!!!! just goes to prove that he had nothing to do other than stroke his ego!

    April 27, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    • Lol… Thanks mate…. As long as it was just his ego… ;)

      April 27, 2010 at 9:56 pm

  8. They both have a great “sci-fi” kind of feel. My choice is the color version. Nice!

    May 14, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    • Thanks Bob… It’s an amazing place to photograph…

      May 14, 2010 at 5:23 pm

  9. Pingback: Looking Up « FS Photography

Leave a Reply

