The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Skinny-Dipping…

NO !!!… Not ME !!… I’m referring to the tree fortunately… This is yet another one of those favoured places very close to me, that I keep coming back to, as personally I think it’s just such a photogenic little tree, sitting there all alone in the middle of its own little pond…

This is yet another post though where I just could not decide between two specific shots, so once again I will post both and you can take your pick… At the moment though I’m edging towards the bigger sky option…. but then I have been known to be quite fickle at times, and will likely dislike both of them by the time anyone gets to read this… I also have a shot from the other side of the pond that I currently really like, that will appear in a future post (assuming I don’t dislike that one too real soon)… lol…

Seriously though… Is it JUST me, or does anyone else take a series of shots, feel real happy with them… but within a few days dislike ALL of them ?!?!?…

24 responses

  1. Damn Brian. Stunning photos! Difficult to pick a favorite. I LOVE the sky in the first one but I do like the full reflection in the second (gee, I’m a huge help, huh??) ;-)

    And, no, it isn’t just you. I can take a whole BUNCH of photos, instantly HATE all of them OR, like you, like them at first and then deem them all crap a day later. Sigh. It is a sickness. I’ve said it before….I bet the images I toss would fill some other photog’s portfolio…

    April 27, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    • Thank you so much Tracy… and yeah… no help at all.. lol.. But for exactly the same reasons as me… I like the sky in the first one, and the full reflection in the second… Ah well…

      Glad it’s not just me, but then I guess it proves that we’re our own worst critics, which hopefully helps us to continue improving and learning… :)

      April 27, 2010 at 3:00 pm

  2. aswirly

    I love this tree. I remember it well. She’s soooo photogenic. And yes, it IS a SHE. lol. Both are so beautiful, but I think you know my fav ;) A little partial to the sky like you. Somehow the first one feels more balanced to me too.

    I have the sickness too :( I always hate my shots. lol. Well, most of them…

    April 27, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    • “She !!!” LOL… So how exactly do you tell the sex of a tree then ???… Now I’m intrigued… Do tell…. Is it from the tone of its bark… hehe… “IT” is a great tree though isn’t IT…. lol… And I know you have the sickness too and always hate your shots… Maybe you should take better ones then… lol… I’m messing, your shots are ALWAYS amazing A… :)

      April 27, 2010 at 7:33 pm

      • aswirly

        BETTER ONES???? oooooh you are sooo mean. hehe…and no, I will NOT tell you how to sex a tree (that sounds bad), but IT is defo a SHE!

        April 27, 2010 at 8:12 pm

        • Awwww…. And there was me hoping to learn something new…. lol…

          April 27, 2010 at 9:54 pm

  3. cracking shots where is this place of yours?

    April 27, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    • Ahhhh, I’m sure you’ve wandered past there on a number of occasions… ;)

      April 27, 2010 at 10:00 pm

  4. Amazing! I like them both, but I am partial to the second one. It obscures the factory more and completely hides the smokestacks. I also like the texture detail in the foreground.

    I also can be a rabid fan of my recent work, thinking it’s the best thing ever shot. Then a week later, it’s junk. If I have a flaw in a shot — which is well, all of them — I have a hard time not tearing it apart as I show it to someone. And of course, they never would have noticed the flaws.

    I need to find a favorite place like this to take photos. :)

    April 27, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    • Yeah it was a difficult choice for me, and even now I’m still not sure, but that’s mainly for the reason of either the sky or reflection… Thanks Sean… and it’s good to know I seem to be in the majority of those that question our shots…

      April 27, 2010 at 10:33 pm

  5. Beautiful shots and a beautiful place. I think I especially like the first photo. I like seeing more sky. And I am the same way too, I often look my photos and at first I get really excited about what a captured and then I change my mind and think nah, I don’t like that…I go back and forth, I am indecisive. I thought it was just me but glad to hear it happens to everyone.

    April 28, 2010 at 12:43 am

    • I used to be indecisive too, now I’m not so sure… ;)
      And yeah it seems to happen to everyone.. So many times have I looked at a shot on the camera and thought “Yes”… only to bin it once it’s on my laptop… lol…

      April 28, 2010 at 5:38 pm

  6. I definitely like the first shot better. The cloud formation in the sky adds some interest which keeps the eyes flowing on the photo. That is a pretty spot for pictures.

    April 28, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    • Many thanks Mike… I have to confess to having a thing for clouds, and if we have clear blue skies it drives me nuts… much to the families disgust… lol…

      April 28, 2010 at 5:41 pm

  7. Nah… it’s not only you. I feel the same way too. I get bored easily. Thank god I don’t feel that way with my husband LOL
    I am torn. I love the awesome looking sky of the first image and at the same time I love to see the reflection. Oo! Oo! Oo! I know! I know! Make a vertorama out of them!!! Hah! That way, you get the sky and the reflection in one image. Would you consider it? I would love to see it.

    April 29, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    • LOL… Believe me I did seriously consider blending the two images together Attiev, and I may still do so, as it would be a fairly simple process with these two shots… but we’ll go with them as is for now at least… Maybe I’ll blend one for flickr.. ;)

      April 29, 2010 at 4:02 pm

      • Oh yes, I shall wait for it then ;)

        April 30, 2010 at 12:40 am

  8. Finally catching up with everyone after a busy period. ADORE this shot – great colours and reflections. Love the tree in the water. Fabulous shot sir.

    May 3, 2010 at 9:45 am

  9. This is gorgeous. The pond looks like glass! I love the first shot with the big sky background; the sun is more fiery and the clouds appear to be directing you to the lovely tree.

    May 9, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    • Many thanks… It sure was a gorgeous evening, and the light was perfect…

      May 9, 2010 at 6:28 pm

  10. Fantastic image.

    May 14, 2010 at 4:31 am

  11. ksbphoto

    Great composition! I love it!

    May 22, 2010 at 4:35 am

Leave a Reply

