The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

The Bridge

Yup… It’s London Bridge… No… I mean Tower Bridge… No, London Bridge… Errrrhhh… Tower Bridge !!…. YUP… Definitely Tower Bridge… Oh… and at night too… :)

Now this is a shot that I’ve wanted to get for quite some time, but now that I have it, I have to confess that I REALLY don’t like it… I’ve messed with this soooooo much to try to make it “work”, that I’m not entirely sure what it is anymore… Cropped it, coloured it, tinted it, desaturated it, pointed at it, called it names, blah blah blah….

I wanted some punch, but can’t seem to find it… Anyways… I thought I’d post it for now, and at least then I’ve done something with it, and can delete it at a later date and not feel that I wasted my time entirely… That’s the plan anyways… :)

Or maybe it’s the simple fact that it’s 3am here now that is affecting my sense of reason… Guess that’s more likely…

**Edit**
Here’s the sooc shot, to give a better idea of how difficult a shot this was to edit…

19 responses

  1. aswirly

    What are you doing posting at 3 am? Seriously Funkster. lol. Hey, I like what you did to the color. You really brought out alot of different tones in the scene and it’s so cool to see the…um…Tower Bridge ;)

    May 1, 2010 at 3:15 am

    • Lol… Thanks you… Yeah, what am I doing up… Ummmmm… Dunno… good question… Do I get a prize if I can answer correctly ???… :)

      May 1, 2010 at 3:19 am

      • aswirly

        Go to bed! Now that’s an order… I KNOW you have sheep where you are. Good time to start counting them ;)

        May 1, 2010 at 3:22 am

        • Someone left the gate open, and they all ran away… I blame Shaun… Yanno – Shaun the Sheep !!.. Get it ??.. Yeah ok ok, it’s late, I know.. :)

          May 1, 2010 at 3:27 am

  2. I really like this shot. I like the colors the composition and everything.

    May 1, 2010 at 4:18 am

    • Thank you so much Consuelo.. I’m still not sure about it myself though.. lol.. It’s the shot I wanted, but it doesn’t grab me the way I envisioned…

      May 1, 2010 at 9:56 am

  3. I like the composition of this quite a bit. However, I’m curious about the story here some more. Especially in this shot being one you have wanted for some time. Is it a location issue, in that it was hard to get to, or was it waiting for all the elements to come together just right?

    I’m guessing you wanted a bit of the moisture in the air to capture the light beams from the spotlights? I think it is what is also muting it some since the background is I’m curious what this shot would be like on a drier night with clear cloud formations reflecting the city lights.

    Looking at this more, I am now imagining a ‘creative’ type shot that plays on depth. Perhaps with positioning the camera to left a few feet, and snapping some supporting shots, you could make it look like the top of the bridge goes through the sun dial. A bit MC Escher like. :) Of course, now I’m just rambling.

    May 1, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    • Nah you’re over thinking my reasons Sean.. lol.. It was a shot I saw during the day, and thought it would make a stunning night shot.. I’ve only wanted it for a while, as I never get chance to hit London at night.. It was a terribly difficult shot to take though, and took some serious RAW editing, as the bridge itself is so powerfully lit that it must be visible from space, and the sundial is not lit at all..

      I’ve added the sooc shot to give you a better idea of the problems faced with the shot…

      My reasons for not really liking it are more on the basis that it doesn’t “wow” me the way I hoped it would… Maybe a clearer night sky would have helped, but I’m not sure…

      May 2, 2010 at 10:19 am

      • Thanks for posting the sooc. Now I see what the challenges are. You got a pretty amazing result for that starting point! This setup is a great candidate for a bracketed HDR. That would give great detail on both the sundial and bridge.

        May 2, 2010 at 5:11 pm

        • Lol.. I did also HDR it, but the hdr alone didn’t work too well unfortunately.. The edited RAW was much more successful..

          May 2, 2010 at 6:44 pm

  4. Yeah it’s a nice composition there Brian and quite an improvement from SOOC. Perhaps a bit of off camera flash on the timeline monument to make it stand out?

    May 3, 2010 at 9:43 am

    • Good thinking there Brian, unfortunately though I wasn’t thinking the same though when I left it at home.. lol..

      May 4, 2010 at 3:31 pm

  5. I definitely like the edited version than the original image. I get to see more details in the edited version.
    Hmmmm… how about 2 tonemapped HDRs, 1 HDR to expose the bridge and 1 HDR to expose the sculpture then blend them together? I am not sure if that would fix the ‘problem’.
    Funny you mentioned that “hdr alone didn’t work too well”, I got the same problems when I processed some of my HDR images. In the end, I ditched them because I got so frustrated with processing them. It’s good to know that it’s not just me LOL

    May 4, 2010 at 2:16 am

    • Lol… Trust me Attiev, I tried so many different options when editing this particular shot, and blended so many different versions, but nothing came out how I wanted it… Ah well… You can’t win them all..

      May 4, 2010 at 3:33 pm

  6. Then a true HDR set of images might have worked. I”m talking 5, 7 or 9 of them. That’s a huge light range you tried to capture in one image.

    Anyway, what you posted is not bad at all. I’m sure I would not have come even close.

    I was only in London once 5 years ago and I stood in that very spot. Might even have a photo of it though it was during the day. There’s a nice pub behind you if I remember correctly.

    May 4, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    • Have to confess that I’ve occasionally dabbled with 5 or more, but “normally” I find 3 more than adequate, in most instances… Plus I’m always aware of file sizes and card size limitations… lol… You might be right with this one though given the dramatic variation in light… I still don’t think it would have helped me like the shot the way I’d envisioned though… And you might be talking about The Dickens Inn in St Katherine’s Dock… Thanks for the visit and comment Scott… :)

      May 4, 2010 at 7:30 pm

      • Yep, that’s the place. Hoisted my first pints with some friends I meet via the Internet. Grand time and the buffet was good once I figured out what bangers and mash was. :)

        May 4, 2010 at 9:09 pm

  7. I think the edited version is great. But of course, I love the editing part anyway.

    May 29, 2010 at 4:46 am

    • Thank you so much… I wish I loved it as much as I hoped I would, but I think I’ve now learnt to not “plan” for a specific shot, as they never quite come up to the vision you’ve got in your head, and that was very much the case here… I have much more success with the whole spur of the moment “that might work” style of shooting….

      May 29, 2010 at 10:14 am

Leave a Reply

