The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Underneath The Arches

Nothing real interesting to add to this post I’m afraid, apart from the fact we were hoping to get a stunning sunset with this bridge being the main focal point… The sunset however didn’t materialise, so this was shot toward the only remaining semi interesting portion of the sky… It was quite a beautiful and peaceful park though, which kinda always amazes me… that there are still these large open areas so close to the centre of London…

Apologies too for being a bit on the absent side this past weekend though, as I’ve been feeling a bit rough… Feeling better now though… Kinda… lol… :)

21 responses

  1. aswirly

    Well Funkster this is lovely. This is actually in London? You really captured the water beautifully and the bits of color in the sky are real nice. Really sorry you’ve been feeling so icky :(

    May 4, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    • Well it’s kinda the outskirts, but even IN central London there are plenty of similar parks where you can get away from the hustle almost completely… Thanks MrsA… :)

      May 4, 2010 at 3:40 pm

  2. Wow – look at those colors! Perhaps this WAS the photo you were meant to capture. If the sunset had happened as planned, you might have missed this.

    Sorry to hear you are feeling poorly! Hubby had a rough weekend as well with a 24-hour bug…not pretty. Get better soon!

    May 4, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    • You may well be right, and I’m certainly not going to complain, as the comp from the other side probably wasn’t quite as nice… Thanks Tracy.. :)

      May 4, 2010 at 4:29 pm

  3. Avital Pinnick

    I think it’s beautiful! I’d love to live in a country with bridges … or nice sunsets … or that much water. ;-) What focal length lens did you use for this shot?

    May 4, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    • Yeah I have to admit that we are quite lucky when it comes to locations and interesting architecture… The weather however can play havoc though quite often… lol… Oh and this was shot at 10mm… Thanks Avital.. :)

      May 4, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      • Avital Pinnick

        OK, I’ll stop whining and admit that we very seldom get rained out! Dust storms are tough on cameras, though. I really want a wide angle lens, preferably a Canon 10-22mm. Maybe my next bonus will allow a splurge! Really nice shot, even if it’s not what you’d intended. I’m getting up at the painful hour of 5:15 a.m. to try to catch the sun rising over Amman again.

        May 4, 2010 at 7:42 pm

        • LOL… I’ve tried sunrises, and even managed one once… but it’s the getting out of bed that ruins everything… lol.. I have to confess that sunsets are a lot more congenial… ;)

          May 4, 2010 at 7:50 pm

  4. Woohoo!! Nice perspective on this one Brian! I love that silky water movement. I wonder if you could get into the water and shot one arch straight on at really lower angle. Amazing place Brian.

    May 5, 2010 at 1:09 am

    • LOL. You wouldn’t be trying to get me washed away now would you.. ;) You’re right though, the water was shallow enough, given the right footwear, which I didn’t have at the time, and the water would have been a wee bit too cold… Thanks Attiev.. :)

      May 5, 2010 at 2:18 pm

  5. This is really nice. I think I could find myself spending good amounts of time there. It also makes me want to go for a swim. Nice photo. The water is wonderful.

    May 5, 2010 at 3:23 am

    • Yeah, swimming would have been out for me… as it would have been far too cold.. but I’ll agree with it being quite a nice park.. Cheers Sean..

      May 5, 2010 at 2:20 pm

  6. Wow, this is a gorgeous shot, even without the sunset you were expecting :)

    May 5, 2010 at 3:30 am

    • Thanks Consuelo.. I think from it all I was most pleased with how the water smoothed out nicely with the exposure time I used..

      May 5, 2010 at 2:21 pm

  7. I think the photo has a great mood even without the beautiful sunset. Good work. I sympathize with you also because sometimes I’ve set up a shot and waited for a sunset which didn’t materialize.

    May 5, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    • Yeah it sure is a pain, but at least if you’ve got a nice location then all’s not lost… Well most of the time that is… Have been places where the fog rolled in and you could shoot nothing though… lol…

      May 5, 2010 at 5:04 pm

  8. Stunning shot FS, love that water effect.

    May 6, 2010 at 10:53 am

  9. Curses with the sunset but a beautiful atmosphere nonetheless sir.

    May 23, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    • Thanks Brian… Yeah I wasn’t too disappointed with the lack of sunset, when this was there to photograph…

      May 24, 2010 at 9:30 pm

  10. This is sooo beautiful Brian! Really love the soft lines created by the water. Very nice!

    April 17, 2011 at 2:58 am

    • Thanks so much Anne… I was quietly pleased with the way it turned out… :)

      April 17, 2011 at 3:47 am

Leave a Reply

