The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Sunny Knights

Well it has to be said that one thing we’re blessed with here is an abundance of castles… Within an hours drive from me I can think of at least a dozen, if not more… and I’m sure I’m missing plenty too… And they’re mostly genuine castles too… So today (as the kiddies were off school for the day), a visit to our local’ist local castle was required…

This is Leeds Castle, and was built in 1119, and is most renowned from the Tudor times, when King Henry VIII visited frequently with his Queen Catherine of Aragon, and the entire royal court…

It’s a wonderful place to spend the day though, when the weather is nice… and comes complete with an amazing landscaped estate, and the compulsory moat, black swans, and a maze, and of course its own golf course… lol..

16 responses

  1. Beautiful scenery here. Wonderful.

    May 6, 2010 at 9:37 pm

  2. aswirly

    We have a castle in Pacifica… ok ok, it’s not a REAL one. Ha, I can’t believe you have at least a dozen near you. That is just so cool and fairytale-esque….well, at least to me coming from the wild wild west. lol. Love these three shots, and especially the last one. A gorgeous scene indeed with fluffy clouds and everything :)

    May 6, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    • Hmmmmmm… Yeeees, I seem to recall having seen pictures of your “castle”.. lol.. I’ll say no more… And the wild wild west !?!?… LOL… Is that where Billy the Squid comes from too… hehe… ;)
      Anyways… Thanks A… Glad you likey… :)

      May 7, 2010 at 12:08 am

  3. What a beautiful scene. You are lucky to be living so close to these castles, so much history, I like how you composted the photograph too. :)

    May 7, 2010 at 3:27 am

    • Thanks so much Consuelo, yes I have to admit we are very fortunate to have some spectacular places to visit, and it never ceases to amaze me the history that comes with them too, and the fact that their origins date back almost 1,000 years…

      May 7, 2010 at 9:20 am

  4. Suuuuure, rub it in, Brian! You and all your wonderful castles and lush green lands! Is that rhubarb I see growing along the moat? Looks like rhubarb – red and green stalks with large leaves. I grow it in my garden and make a might fine strawberry-rhubarb jam. But I digress. Castles are just plan cool and you are very lucky to have them close-by. How close are you allowed to get? And, where are the black swans??

    May 7, 2010 at 3:29 am

    • Haha… Yeah sorry about that… lol.. Soooo… The rhubarb, well it’s actually Gunnera manicata (I think) which is commonly referred to as giant rhubarb, but I’m not sure it’s quite as edible.. lol… The leaves are HUUUUUGE though… ;)
      And not to rub it in any more, but how close can you get… Well, you can walk round inside too, and see the rooms as they would have been hundreds of years ago… unfortunately though they don’t like you taking pictures when you have a “professional” looking camera, but I did sneak one or two… Shhhh…. Oh, and also I have shots of black swans too… Yup, plenty of those at Leeds Castle.. I’ll throw a shot up for you when I get round to processing one… just to rub it in a tiny bit more… ;)

      May 7, 2010 at 9:27 am

  5. Avital Pinnick

    Gorgeous shot. So you do get sun in England occasionally! ;-) I like the natural HDR look. The green is really eye-catching. Maybe we’ll see Leeds Castle the next time I visit my sister in London. We have castles, too, but they’re mostly piles of Crusader-era rubble. Not nearly as well-preserved as the English ones. Nor as picturesque. They were built as fortresses, so they lack basic amenities like swans, gardens and golf courses.

    May 7, 2010 at 6:05 am

    • Lol, Yeah we do get some sunshine.. occasionally.. And if you’re in London, then a visit to Leeds Castle, or Hever Castle would be an easy day out.. plus there’s the Tower of London in the heart of London… All definitely worth a visit… Thanks Avital..

      May 7, 2010 at 9:30 am

  6. Crisp photos with good natural color saturation. Very Nice.

    May 7, 2010 at 12:26 pm

  7. That looks just like my neighbor’s place here in San Jose. Except they have kind of let their lawn go. The water restrictions means the moat is dry except when it rains and the leaves clog up the drains. (That does keep the cars at bay during those times.) The residence is also a bit smaller. But otherwise, these capture that essence perfectly. :)

    It may be quite some time before you see photos of a scene like that from me. Very nice!

    May 8, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    • Lol… I’d like to say it looks like my house too, but vivid as my imagination is, even that’s a stretch too far for me…. Cheers Sean…

      May 9, 2010 at 12:09 am

  8. Amazing views Brian. At least a dozen castles in an hour drive? How could you not be tempted to drop by to grab some shots. I wish we have a few of medieval castles but an hour drive from home are just trees on the highway. ;) Love that view with the tree.

    May 12, 2010 at 11:21 am

    • Well actually I think their are more… lol.. I sometimes try to count them all up… and then remember that I’ve forgotten a couple… Some are not “real” castles though… Some are just follies… But they’re still very impressive all the same… Thanks Attiev.. :)

      May 12, 2010 at 12:36 pm

Leave a Reply

