The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Macrophotographanism.. ism..

Yeah ok ok, so I’m struggling with titles again…. but hey… It’s a real word…. It’s in the dictionary… Well it’s in the one I’m just writing at least…It’s under n…. OH… Crap !!…. “N”…. Oh heck, Now I have to start again…..

And before you start Amber… No.. It’s NOT a flower… and it’s most definitely NOT pink either… and it’s most certainly NOT in my garden… ummmmm… Well ok, maybe it was in my garden, but I don’t know how it got there… Maybe the hoverfly brought it with him…. S’not mine though…. Oh no no no….You know you’ll not catch me taking pictures of flowers and stuff…

I was right though…. It’s not a flower… It’s blossom…. and it’s not pink… It’s “Cherry” Blossom…. apparently…. So someone told me…. :)

18 responses

  1. Very cool photo – I need to get a better lens – I have a 200 but I can’t get much closer and this shot really makes me want to get a whole lot closer – i recently took some bee shot and thought they were cool – but I like this a lot more !!! Way to go !!

    May 12, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    • Many thanks, and thank you so much for your comment too… Macro lenses sure do open up a whole new opportunity with photography, and it’s something I don’t do nearly enough of… That said, I’d like a better one though… lol..

      May 12, 2010 at 11:50 pm

  2. AMAZING detail on that bee, er hoverfly! DO you see THAT eye!! WOW!

    You can make up words all you want, Brian! No complaints here! :-)

    May 12, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    • Lol… Thanks Tracy… Making words up is fun… It’s called literarieairianism…. honest…. ;)

      May 13, 2010 at 8:03 am

  3. Very sharp and colorful and definitely not pink says the guy sitting in a mauve colored chair.

    I am confused as to focal lengths for macro lenses. Which is better to use? Or is it one of those it depends things?

    May 13, 2010 at 12:04 am

    • Well with macro lenses you most definitely get what you pay for… Mine is only a cheap(ish) 60mm macro, but personally I think the best option would be a 100mm macro…

      May 13, 2010 at 8:10 am

  4. WOW! Stop worrying about people thinking you are taking a shot of pink flowers. I love pink flowers but I couldn’t take my eyes off of that bug! Holy crap! (er, is okay if I say that here?) ;-)
    I love, love, love macro shots.

    May 13, 2010 at 12:17 am

    • LOL… Thanks Karma… But pink flowers aren’t renowned for being very manly for some reason… lol… Maybe I should look for some black flowers instead… ;)

      May 13, 2010 at 8:12 am

  5. aswirly

    Well howdy ho bug eyes! And I see that C.McG. strikes again ;) I do know you are a softie for flowers and especially the pink varities. That being said, I love that incredible detail you captured on the fly. Amazing when viewed large. It’s so fuzzy wuzzy ;)

    May 13, 2010 at 1:26 am

    • Lol… Well C.McG has to put in an appearance at least once a year… anyway, all my “cherry” blossom has blown away now, so there’ll be no more of that.. Maybe I’ll have to steal some flowers from my neighbours…. And stop calling me bug eyes… ;))

      May 13, 2010 at 8:15 am

  6. Wow great shot. Great detail on the bee and those cherry blossoms are so pretty ;)

    May 13, 2010 at 4:57 am

    • Thanks so much Consuelo… I really do need to make better use of my macro lens I think…

      May 13, 2010 at 8:16 am

  7. Avital Pinnick

    That is really impressive!

    May 13, 2010 at 11:48 am

  8. lsaaby

    Great shot. I’m a sucker for macro pictures especially of bugs. Love the detail in the picture.

    May 13, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    • It sure is pretty amazing how cool some bugs do look when you get in real close eh… Thanks… :)

      May 13, 2010 at 8:10 pm

  9. Oh wow!! I am amazed by the size and the sharpness of that fly Brian. Amazing shot I’d say!

    May 14, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    • Thanks Attiev…. You’ve gotta love macro lenses… and I really need to use it more I think…

      May 14, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

