The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Zoom – mooZ

So I know this is an old old shot, and I really must take some time to recreate a far better version, now I have a better camera, and have learnt far more about photography… but for now I decided to throw this one on here, as I was reminded of it yesterday by a similarly titled shot… lol… But this is a Mazda, so I’m actually allowed to say zoom zoom… lol…

This was created by setting the camera up in the car on an extremely stable tripod, and wrapping the seatbelt around it too, to avoid any accidental shots of the whole thing flying through the windshield… This was set up as a fully manual shot…

Firstly I switched to manual focus and set it to focus on the A pillar… I did this to avoid having the camera hunt for a focal point in the low light…

The aperture was set to f11 to give me the prime dof for the lens, and an adequate shutter speed to capture the light trails…

The focal length set to 10mm, to incorporate as much in the image as possible…

The ISO speed was set to 100, to again give me a long enough exposure time to capture the light trails, and also to maintain the best quality and avoid any high ISO graininess…

Finally I set the camera to bulb mode, and using a remote shutter release exposed for (in this shot) 30 seconds… I tried other exposures, but given the previous manual settings this gave the most acceptable result…

In my next attempt ideally I want to obtain better colour, as the sodium lighting threw the colour balance so far out that even editing the raw in photoshop was unable to bring it back to where I wanted it…. That’s the plan at least… We’ll see….

19 responses

  1. aswirly

    Hey, are you saying I’m not allowed to say zoom zoom? How RUDE! lol. I love this shot. You know I do. It was one of the first shots that made me a fan of yours YEARS ago!! It’s ok, shots like these don’t grow old ;) Can’t wait for you to try this again. It’s so cool!

    May 13, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    • Haha… Well I never said you “weren’t” allowed… Only that I “am” allowed… lol… There’s a difference I’m sure… ;)
      And stop with the “years”… You’re making yourself sound old… LOL… ;)

      May 13, 2010 at 8:13 pm

  2. WOW! I couldn’t even begin to imagine setting up this shot! AMAZING!

    But, whattya doin’ with the steering wheel on the wrong side of the car? ;-)

    May 13, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    • LOL… Not you an’all… It’s the RIGHT side… Look… You can see… Nothing on the left, but the steering wheel on the right side… Right is right… right !?!?!… :)

      May 13, 2010 at 8:29 pm

      • WRONG! We ALL know that left is right and right is queer! ;-)

        May 13, 2010 at 8:34 pm

        • LOL… Left is right !!!… No way… It’s my blog, and it’s definitely right on both sides…. ummmm… or something like that… :)

          May 13, 2010 at 8:42 pm

  3. What a fun image! I opened it up to look at the details here. It captures so much and it’s clear what happened. The RPM range, the Speed range, the cars, lights and CD player all in motion. Not to mention just how crisp everything is that is ‘stationary’

    If it wasn’t for the lettering being clearly readable, I would have accused you of flipping it horizontally. Oh, and the fact that you live on that island. ;)

    May 13, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    • It’s pretty cool to do, but the biggest problem was getting the tripod in position… Not only do you need a sturdy tripod, but it needs to be extremely adaptable too… Next time I try it I think the tripod setup will deserve a shot all of its own… lol…

      May 14, 2010 at 8:29 am

  4. Enjoyed looking at this shot and learning how you did it. Nice!

    May 14, 2010 at 12:16 am

    • Thank you so much… It’s always fun to try something different… Thanks for your comment…

      May 14, 2010 at 8:30 am

  5. Wow a Very cool shot. This is awesome :)

    May 14, 2010 at 4:25 am

    • Thanks Consuelo… Hopefully the next time I try it it will be even better…

      May 14, 2010 at 8:31 am

  6. Very cool idea, excellent execution. It’s a fun image to view. I like combining “shooting while driving” with the self portrait aspect. Way to go!

    May 14, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    • Thanks for the comments…. I have plenty more ideas for driving shots, and really need to get myself sorted to put them in to practice…

      May 14, 2010 at 5:22 pm

  7. I saw a similar image at your flickr photostream I think. I was wondering how on earth you managed to get everything done for this shot. Now I know!! ;p You must have a really steady tripod to get your shot. Nice one Brian!

    May 19, 2010 at 4:56 am

    • Thanks Attiev…. It was the same image… Lol… I just decided to post it here as only a few people would have seen it before… and I hope it might give me the push to try for a better shot… :)

      May 19, 2010 at 6:57 pm

  8. Pingback: Nothing Original Here | Sean Kane

  9. angelcel

    Came here from Sean Kane’s site. What a wonderful photo and such a greaat idea – love it!

    May 26, 2010 at 6:17 am

    • Thank you so much… It was fun, but pretty tricky to do, as I think Sean will agree… I’d recommend everyone give it a try though, but the important safety tip is to make sure the camera is really secure… :)

      May 26, 2010 at 7:44 am

Leave a Reply

