The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

To Plan or Not to Plan…

.. that is the question… Now there have been a few times recently when I’ve had a very specific shot in mind, and gone out with the intention of capturing that particular shot, but have NEVER been satisfied…

Now I’m not saying the shots I’ve taken haven’t been perfectly adequate shots, but the point is that they never actually conform to the shot envisioned in my mind… So am I to fussy… Does my imagination exceed my skill… Am I to much of a perfectionist… Am I the only one with this problem… lol…

Whatever the reasons, I have now firmly concluded that I take my best shots when I have no specific shot in mind, and just arrive at a location, with maybe just some vague ideas, and look for subjects that are of interest… and shoot spur of the moment…

And this is a typical example… My intention this day was to shoot a derelict farm, and I came away with a widdle butterfly… (ignore the thistle / flower type thing.. lol)…. ;)

17 responses

  1. I’m starting to get the sense that you’re becoming a nature photographer and you’re not even realizing it. It’s only a matter of time before you have an ongoing series without a single sunset, landscape or building. ;) This is great, and I love the splash of color the purple thistle brings to the party.

    May 29, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    • LOL… You may be right there Sean… Wait till you see some future posts…

      May 31, 2010 at 10:19 am

  2. Avital Pinnick

    What a beauty!

    May 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm

  3. GREAT shot, Brian!

    I couldn’t agree with you more. For me, what makes photography fun are just those moments where something amazing happens, or you notice a really cool image, and BAM! you are right there to capture it. I MUCH rather THAT than heading out for a planned shot, although, sometimes that works for me, too. (I just have too many instances where it doesn’t and that is frustrating!)

    May 29, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    • Yeah I can happily plan a location, and get some vague ideas, but a SPECIFIC shot rarely works for me…

      May 31, 2010 at 10:20 am

  4. I love the color capture here! It is quite stunning. No ignoring the thistle though! It really compliments the butterfly.

    I also have much more imagination than skill! I’m regularly disappointed by what I pictured in my mind as being a great shot that turns out only mediocre on my camera. (I will partially blame my camera for this as well… one of these days, a DSLR will be mine!)

    May 29, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    • LOL… Well unfortunately I can’t blame my equipment.. so I guess it’s all down to me… ;)

      May 31, 2010 at 10:22 am

      • Well, you have nothing to be disappointed in, according to what I’ve seen here!

        May 31, 2010 at 2:47 pm

  5. aswirly

    Awwww pretty widdle flutterby ;) I do love this. And I know what you mean about planning vrs not planning. Sometimes…SOMETIMES a planned shot will come out great (like your speedy light trail in the car shot. You can’t tell me you didn’t plan THAT one) hehe… but unplanned one like these are grand too! :)

    May 30, 2010 at 12:26 am

    • True… lol… Well “sometimes” it works for me too… but unfortunately all too rarely… I guess the long exposure shots do take at least a bit of planning eh… like star shots and light trails… Cheers MrsA… :)

      May 31, 2010 at 10:24 am

  6. This is a beautiful shot. The same happens to me too, I have this shot in mind and then it never happens the way I envision it. I love the colors here too, amazing :)

    May 30, 2010 at 3:25 am

    • Thanks Consuelo… Well from now on I’m just gonna mainly go for unplanned.. or at least only vague planning… ;)

      May 31, 2010 at 10:25 am

  7. angelcel

    When I plan something it almost invariably comes out looking only OK. My best shots are always spur of the moment, pure luck …which is rather frustrating as it clearly means that I don’t actually have a *clue* what I’m doing!

    I think the widdle butterfly is beautiful. :)

    May 31, 2010 at 11:02 am

    • LOL… Well I’m sticking with my imagination exceeds my skill… It sounds slightly better than I have no clue what I’m doing… ;)

      May 31, 2010 at 2:00 pm

  8. Awww this is a very sweet shot Brian!!! I love it. Nice contrast too with the leaf and the flower.

    June 1, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    • Thanks so much Attiev…. Sometimes I can go all naturey eh… lol..

      June 1, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Leave a Reply

