The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Rockin’ It…

Now this is what I call a rock pool… lol… I’m assuming it used to be more of an outdoor seaside  swimming pool, but it’s very much given over to all sorts of sea-life now…

Still on a bit of a black and white kick here, but for those who prefer your kicks in glorious technicolour, then here’s an extra splash or two…

And I’m not mean or anything, but I was SOOOO willing my daughter to fall in head first…  What a shot that would have made… lol… Even me shouting BOO !!! didn’t have the desired effect though… ;)

25 responses

  1. angelcel

    Oh this brings back memories! I learned to swim in a seaside, seawater pool and it was filled with wildlife like this. Apart from being freezing cold, I was terrified of the ‘stuff’ that swam and crawled around my feet and to this day don’t like wading in water unless I can see fairly clear sand!

    Great shots – I like the ‘triangular’ perspective, especially with the figure in the distance on the first. I think it works well particularly in black and white.

    June 17, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    • I’m not sure I’d fancy swimming in this one either, and that’s ignoring the cold… The rocks and barnacles etc all looked a bit sharp and scratchy for my liking… lol…

      June 17, 2010 at 3:35 pm

  2. Tri

    i really like these photos and your perspective. nice work!

    June 17, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    • Thank you very much… Thanks for your comment…

      June 17, 2010 at 10:44 pm

  3. Awesome perspective! I really like the color shot. That girl in the pink hat is killer!

    June 17, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    • Just realized ‘that girl’ is your daughter! Her attire and posture totally add to this shot!

      June 17, 2010 at 9:13 pm

      • Thanks Tracy… Well she actually features in both shots, but I too quite liked what she added to the colour one as well… She does come in useful sometimes… lol.. ;)

        June 17, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  4. As is my usual preference, I like the glorious technicolor! The B&W, however, almost give an abstract look to the shot.

    Funny on trying to will your daughter to splash in! If that ever happened to one of my kids I’d unfortunately be laughing to hard to get the shot!!

    June 17, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    • Lol… Well fortunately she’s an exceptional swimmer, but it would have been hilarious had she gone in head first… ;)

      June 17, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  5. aswirly

    You are SOOOO mean to your poor daughter. lol. haha, I wouldn’t have uh…laughed had she fallen ;) What a strange pool. Did you go swimming with all the slimy sea life? Really strange and cool shots!

    June 17, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    • Haha… Did I go swimming… in “salt” water… Are you MAD… Ummmm, actually, no need to answer that.. lol… And naturally I’d not have laughed either… There may have been a discreet cough or two, but that’s all… ;)

      June 17, 2010 at 10:38 pm

  6. absurdoldbird

    She looks like she’s polishing the reflections!
    Lovely photos, I prefer the lower one myself.
    :)

    June 18, 2010 at 12:27 am

    • Haha… Thanks… She was actually trying to catch a bucket full of skittish fish… without success…

      June 21, 2010 at 10:29 pm

  7. I am soooo liking the B&W shot Brian. You got strong images with leading lines here.

    June 18, 2010 at 1:35 am

    • Thank you Attiev… Yeah I think my fave is the black and white too… but I know many prefer the full colour option…

      June 21, 2010 at 10:30 pm

  8. I really love these shots!
    Last post, I preferred the black and white, but this time I love the color version most! That green moss is amazing. :)

    June 18, 2010 at 2:25 am

    • The green really did stand out… especially when the sun shone… Thanks so much…

      June 21, 2010 at 10:31 pm

  9. lol would have been funny, beautiful shot. I love the angle of that you chose and I really like the color photo

    June 18, 2010 at 3:33 am

    • Thanks Consuelo… I guess it’s wrong to admit that I really wanted her to slip… lol… Fortunately though she is an exceptional swimmer, so I’d have had plenty of time to capture it… lol…

      June 21, 2010 at 10:32 pm

  10. Great composition. I really like the color shot better because ot the green mold around the pool.

    June 18, 2010 at 11:35 am

    • Cheers Mike… Glad I put the colour option in too now…

      June 21, 2010 at 10:33 pm

  11. Looks similar to where I live in West Kirby! Is your daughter polishing the pool there??? Love the tones in the black and white version.

    June 19, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    • Thanks very muchly Brian… She was trying the cheap fishing method of chasing them with a bucket… without success I might add…lol..

      June 21, 2010 at 10:34 pm

  12. I really like the perspective…the color shot is my favorite!

    July 20, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    • Thanks again… It was the green of the algae that initially grabbed my attention…

      July 20, 2010 at 10:10 pm

Leave a Reply

