The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Top Secret…

Ok, so this is from a visit to the infamous and HIGHLY secret Potters Manor… It’s one of those Urbex best kept secrets, and the official line goes something like “Potters Manor House was built in 1904 by the classical architect Hugh Jokin. It nestles well hidden near the village of Nevertell just off the A40999 in Hampnex. The last inhabitants were a family of artisans and potters and for some reason, that we will probably never know, left the house with all its contents including many paintings and full wardrobes of clothes”….. and that’s pretty much all you will ever find out about the place, and NO ONE will tell you where it is….

Well I’m a slug, and we’re tenacious and driven and will never let go once we’ve got a sniff of something…. errrrhhhh… or is that an Alligator…. Anyways…. When a friend mentioned her failed potential trip there, I decided it warranted some serious investigation, and after a few hours of internet sleuthing I eventually determined its whereabouts, and today we paid a visit… and what a find it is too…. and I can kinda understand exactly why it is such a closely guarded secret… as it’s packed full of original artefacts….  and is pretty much untouched by vandals… The sort of place you don’t come across too often, and therefore worth protecting…. to a degree… lol…

LOVE LOVE LOVE Urbexing….. Such a blast when you find these sorts of places…. More to come soon…

27 responses

  1. Urbexing? This is a term I’m not familiar with. This place looks like a movie should be shot in it!

    June 21, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    • Ahhhhhh… Yeah I guess it’s not an everyday term… Well it’s actually short for Urban Exploring… which is basically just exploring derelict and abandoned places (where you’re not really supposed to be)… lol…

      June 21, 2010 at 10:37 pm

  2. OMIGOD I am BEYOND jealous!! WHAT a house! WHAT a mystery! I so want to go to there!!! You’ve just about made me crazy outta my mind, Brian. I could roam that place for HOURS!

    I like both photos but, damn, that first image is incredible! THAT is what I call a skylight! So nice this place hasn’t been vandalized. It should be immortalized! :-)

    June 21, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    • LOL… Thanks Tracy… Well I could tell you it wasn’t as good as it seems… but I’d be lying… lol… I’ve been to a few places, and this one was pretty much up there, purely because of vast amount of original artefacts… such as books and diaries and clothes from the 50’s and 60’s…

      June 21, 2010 at 11:22 pm

      • Would you get in serious trouble if you are caught there? The diaries would be so interesting to read, I’m sure!

        June 22, 2010 at 12:26 pm

        • Well it is trespassing, but I guess it depends entirely on who catches you, and what mood they’re in, and your ability to politely talk your way out of it… but we didn’t break in or damage anything, so at worst I think you’d just be told to leave…

          Oooh… and there’s a picture of one of the diaries from July 1966 on my flickr site… :)

          June 22, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    • I agree, that first shot is really unbelievably good. I meant to say so in my first comment, but I was distracted by urbexing!

      June 22, 2010 at 12:37 am

  3. ooh what a cool place, I love this, so interesting and the story is too. Your pictures are awesome I love the detail you captured up top and the second one gives a feel of mystery.

    June 22, 2010 at 2:45 am

    • Thanks Consuelo… There’s more shots to come, but as usual I think I may have peaked to early, and posted the best first… lol..

      June 22, 2010 at 9:55 am

  4. Avital Pinnick

    What an amazing place! I’m jealous, too! I never get to photograph abandoned houses (unless you count houses burned by Romans). Great shots! I love the wide angle look. Can’t get over the good condition of the woodworking and interior, considering how long the place has been uninhabited.

    June 22, 2010 at 4:26 am

    • Well I’m not sure how long it’s been abandoned exactly, but certainly some of the stuff inside is pretty old… I need to do some more sleuthing to find out some more “genuine” history I think…

      June 22, 2010 at 9:57 am

  5. Now this line catches my eyes “left the house with all its contents including many paintings and full wardrobes of clothes” What?! Seriously!!! Now this I’ve got to see. Did you manage to get shots of the paintings and the clothes as well? I am curious to see them.

    June 22, 2010 at 4:49 am

    • I did get pictures with some paintings in… in fact you’ll see one of the paintings in the left corner of the staircase… but to be honest they were more hobbyist paintings by the last occupants I’d guess… And the clothes, well again I have shots with some items in, but they weren’t entirely photogenic… Still interesting that they’ve all been left behind though…

      June 22, 2010 at 9:59 am

  6. angelcel

    Fantastic shots – I love the first one in particular. This is fascinating, exciting and sad all at the same time. How can this lovely house just be left to fall into disrepair? …Crippling inheritance tax?… Unable to find heirs? It poses so many questions.

    Urbexing is a new word to me too but this really appeals to my curious and romantic imagination.

    June 22, 2010 at 8:40 am

    • The future of the house itself I’d say doesn’t look too promising, as I know they are trying to sell the extensive grounds, with planning permission for a similarly impressive mansion in its place… It is sad to see places like this just left to rot though…

      June 22, 2010 at 10:05 am

  7. JJ

    Fantastic Brian, even better than your first shot of this amazing stairwell! Only just got your text, you were right, I HAD gone to bed when you texted last night, but I can assure you Wowo was well and truly back in his cupboard….STINKY teddy, even after an hour in the washing machine with extra nice smelly conditioner lol

    June 22, 2010 at 8:47 am

    • Lol..Cheers Jayne… It’s no wonder Wowo looked so forlorn, knowing the fate that awaited him… lol.. Buried under twigs… stuck in the toilet, then the washing machine for an hour, and now back in a dark and dingy cupboard… Ahhhhh the life of a bear…. lol…

      June 22, 2010 at 10:07 am

  8. This is such a tease! Cannot WAIT to see more!
    This is an incredibly fascinating story…thanks. Now I will obsess the day away wondering.

    June 22, 2010 at 11:40 am

    • Well I certainly have lots of shots from the day… Let’s just hope I don’t get bored of them before I get round to posting them… which sometimes happens… lol..

      June 22, 2010 at 12:14 pm

      • Don’t you dare!! ;)

        June 23, 2010 at 1:42 am

        • LOL… Well you get to see at least one more… If you’re quick… ;)

          June 23, 2010 at 2:11 am

  9. That’s a cool looking place…a nice fixer upper? :) The skylight threw some nice lighting into the room. Great photo. I’d love to find a place like that in Florida…I’ll have to do some investigating.

    June 22, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    • Not quite sure about the fixer upper… Some of the rooms would have needed at least two coats of paint… lol… It sure was quite the place though, and there’s plenty more shots to come…

      June 22, 2010 at 7:31 pm

  10. aswirly

    Wow I am soooo jealous! Bring me! Bring me! Bring me!!! Puhleeeeeeze! Amazing that it hasn’t been cleared out by vandals. Is it relaly that well hidden? Great shots Funky. I can’t wait to see more.

    June 22, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    • You know you’re more than welcome any time… lol… but make sure you bring a spare battery or two, as it’ll be a long trip home to get a replacement… I tell ya though, it’s not the sort of place you’d stumble across on a day out… It’s quite secluded… Thanks A… :)

      June 23, 2010 at 1:56 am

  11. Pingback: Abandoned Elhadef House « This and That

Leave a Reply

