The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

It’s All Lies…

Another in the Potters Manor series… Only thing is that this shot in it’s original form didn’t really convey the right mood of the place as far as I was concerned, so I did a small amount of post processing…

Hopefully it’s worked, and hasn’t detracted from the image itself… as it took quite a while to do… I would love to write a “how to”…. but unfortunately, as is normally the case, I will happily spend an hour or so playing with a shot to get it exactly how I want it… and then think to myself… “How did I do that ??”…. and by then it’s far too late to remember all the steps I’ve taken…. So the next time I have to start again from scratch… Anyways… For reference here’s the original…

And this shot will also show you that, despite it’s relatively untouched state, there has been a significant amount of damage that has occurred over the years…. I really need to do some more investigative work to determine some genuine history of this place…

And I promise the next shot will be something more natural and landscape’y…. :)

39 responses

  1. The more I see of this place, the more awesome it is! You don’t know me, but if you did, you would know that I love the architectural details and craftsmanship of old houses (heck, I live in a 1929 Colonial!) This place must have been really something ‘back in the day’. So sad to see it all go into decay. (But, yet, oh so cool!) :-)

    You post processing really sets the mood. The beams coming in, the dark shadows and then the highlighted areas. Really well done!

    June 25, 2010 at 1:36 am

    • Thanks Tracy, I know exactly what you mean, and in its prime this place must have been very impressive… Now I’ve reviewed my shots I’m itching to go back to get some more shots of those remaining details too….

      June 25, 2010 at 9:21 am

  2. aswirly

    Hey, you CHANGED YOUR BLOG LAYOUT! It looks fab if I do say so myself. And this shot? Well…all I can say is WOW! The processing rocks. Really sets the mood here. Great touch with the sun beams ;)

    June 25, 2010 at 2:30 am

    • Haha… You noticed eh… I knew I’d not slip that one past you… lol… Thanks A… and thanks for noticing the sunbeams too, but I have to confess to stealing some tips there from someone else… lol… ;)

      June 25, 2010 at 9:25 am

  3. This is so cool. I love the post processing you did and I also love this blog layout. It’s awesome :)

    June 25, 2010 at 5:44 am

    • Thanks Consuelo…. I was wondering if maybe I’d overdone the processing…. but I guess it’s too late now… lol…

      June 25, 2010 at 9:25 am

  4. Wow, love the retouched version. Those lightrays are awesome.

    June 25, 2010 at 6:42 am

    • Cheers Martin… Yeah the sunrays are always interesting to add, and especially tricky to make them look natural….

      June 25, 2010 at 9:26 am

  5. I think you did a fabulous job on this photo! And what an amazing place…

    June 25, 2010 at 7:31 am

    • Thanks Avital… It certainly is quite the place…

      June 25, 2010 at 9:27 am

  6. And I wish that someone could tell me what I’m doing wrong with my Gravatar. I’ve fiddled endlessly with the settings and I still get this orange and white quilt square instead of my photo. Amber? Funky? Martin? Any advice?

    June 25, 2010 at 7:35 am

    • Hmmm.. Well I know your frustration, as when I first set my blog up I had EXACTLY the same issue… Unfortunately though it was too long ago for me to remember exactly what I did to resolve it, but it took me about a week to hit upon the one thing I’d NOT done… I seem to recall it being specific “save” or “update” or “upload” button I’d missed clicking on the actual gravatar.com profile somewhere…. Maybe revisit your gravatar profile, and go through every page and re-click every potential save / update / upload type button again…. There was just one I’d missed I’m sure of it, and that fixed it for me….

      June 25, 2010 at 9:33 am

  7. Oops. Forgot to subscribe. Doing it now with this comment. just ignore.

    June 25, 2010 at 7:36 am

  8. JJ

    Wonderful shot Brian, those rays are awesome…tell me how to do it, NOW!!!! Love the new layout, all Urbexy, uber cool stuff Funky :o)

    June 25, 2010 at 8:05 am

    • Haha… Well you know I’d love to, but you don’t use photoshop… How you gonna do it without that…. lol…. Guess we’ll just have to go back and kick up some real dust next time eh… Thanks JJ… :)

      June 25, 2010 at 9:38 am

  9. Its already been said, but I must chime in on those sun rays! Very awesome addition! I had no idea such a thing was possible – post processing is my least favorite thing to do, so unless the photo is truly horrific, I usually post SOOC (could be that I’m just too lazy!)
    The mood you’ve added to this photo is just amazing.

    June 25, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    • Lol… Well one thing I’ve learned is that pretty much anything is possible when it comes to processing… hence the title… lol… Processing is something I enjoy almost as much as the photography itself… Thanks Karma…

      June 25, 2010 at 5:50 pm

  10. I love this picture, and the previous ones from this location. I’ll chime in with all the rest and say that the post-processing on this really enhances the atmosphere of the shot.

    June 25, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    • Thank you so much… I was a bit concerned that maybe I’d overdone it, as I do tend to get lost in the image once I start… Hopefully I got it about right though…

      June 25, 2010 at 5:51 pm

  11. what a stunning shot, your treatment all be it mysterious is out of this world. great atmosphere and just how this place should be portrayed

    June 26, 2010 at 5:12 am

    • Cheers Andy… You’re right, and somehow I don’t think I’m the first (or the last) person to process the place like this…

      June 26, 2010 at 9:43 am

  12. WOAH!!!
    :D You have a really nice background here Brian. Definitely work well with your recent posted shots.
    Now this, I have got to learn!!! How did you get those light rays?! Or at least how did you make them?
    I have to say that the post edited image is sooooo much better than the original shot. I am loving it ;p Well done Brian!

    June 26, 2010 at 8:31 am

    • Thank you so much Attiev.. I’m liking the new layout too at the moment, and hopefully it will work with all of my shots.. I’ve sent you details on the sunrays too… :)

      June 26, 2010 at 10:08 am

      • Hi Brian! I got your e-mail. Thanks so much! I am excited to go out and get a usable image for that sunrays. Will post them after I am done with them (the shot and the edited version).

        June 26, 2010 at 4:12 pm

  13. Avital Pinnick

    Oh joy! Oh rapture! I’m no longer an orange and white quilt square!!! Thanks for the advice. Deleting the old image and uploading the new one seems to have worked.

    June 27, 2010 at 4:47 am

  14. Ooooh…Not sure which I like most. Both are stunners. That woodwork is amazing. Was there a fire in this room? It looks charred, bit it’s a wonder there isn’t more damage if that’s the case?
    It’s like watching Lost…the more you see the more questions are raised.

    June 29, 2010 at 2:45 am

    • Well to convey the mood you’d expect from the place I felt the processed shot was a must… It kinda needs to be dark and mysterious and creepy… Thanks KD… More to come as well… and another visit in planning… ;)

      June 29, 2010 at 12:09 pm

  15. Pingback: A place for you to hang out « Beauty and Nature

  16. What you did with this photo is amazing!!

    July 8, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    • Thanks so much… I have to confess that sometimes I enjoy the processing almost as much as the photography itself… :)

      July 8, 2010 at 10:08 pm

  17. Jeez I’ve missed so much work of yours! Beautiful series and lovely processing. Love the light coming through the window. Nice work sir.

    July 11, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    • Cheers Brian… It was a great place to explore..

      July 22, 2010 at 7:36 pm

  18. Beautiful images! Looks like one kick-ass urbex location :)

    July 21, 2010 at 6:19 am

    • It sure is… Should be going back again real soon with some new ideas… Thanks Mike…

      July 21, 2010 at 6:35 pm

  19. Pingback: Slugs In Print « FS Photography

  20. Wow! The ray of light are so gorgeous, great pic!

    September 9, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Leave a Reply

