The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

‘Nuff Stuff…

So for now at least that’s enough of the Urbex stuff… Still plenty more shots to edit and post from that visit, but for now I thought it was time for something slightly more pleasant looking… We’ve had some beautiful weather here just lately… Nice and warm and sunny… Maybe not as warm as some of you are used to, but we’re talking in the 80’s which is very nice for us on this tiny little Island….

Oooh, now there’s something I guess you never knew… I do indeed live on an Island… A proper island, just off the coast of the bigger island that is the UK…. Ok Ok… I’ll admit, it’s only a few hundred yards off the mainland, but it’s still an island completely surrounded by water… and connected by a road bridge…

Here’s some Wikipedia stuff

“The Isle of Sheppey is an island off the northern coast of Kent, England in the Thames Estuary, some 38 miles (61 km) to the east of central London. It has an area of 36 square miles (93 km2). The island forms part of the local government district of Swale. Sheppey is derived from the ancient Saxon “Sceapige”, meaning isle of sheep, and even today the extensive marshes which make up a considerable proportion of the island provide grazing for large flocks of sheep. The island, like much of North Kent, comprises London Clay and is a plentiful source of fossils.

The land mass referred to as Sheppey comprises three main islands: Sheppey, the Isle of Harty and the Isle of Elmley (it was once known as the Isles of Sheppey before the channels separating them silted up), but the marshy nature of the land to the south of the island means that it is so crossed by channels and drains as to consist of a multitude of islands. The ground is mainly low-lying, but at Minster rises to about 240 ft (73 m).

Some Sheppey inhabitants like to call themselves Swampies, a term that began as, and for some people remains, an insult; for others it has become a term of endearment or a phrase for reinforcing identity. The family names “Shippee” and “Shippey,” found predominantly in New England, derives from those whose ancestors were from the Isle of Sheppey.”

And as is sometimes the case, I was going to opt for the black and white option, but I know most people tend to prefer full colour…. but I processed in black and white too, so rather than waste it, here’s that option too…

25 responses

  1. aswirly

    I KNOW you live on an island. Stop rubbing it in! Anyhow, where the palm trees and maitais? huh? huh? lol. What a beautiful day. I love the color shot although the bw makes the sky rock ;)

    June 26, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    • Ha!… Well compared to where YOU live I have very little to rub in, so I have to make the most of what little I can… Lol… As for the drinks… ummmmm… drunk em… hic !!… ;)

      June 26, 2010 at 8:23 pm

  2. I love the Black and White one, with the sky like that it’s in those Ansel Adams tones. Well aside from the plane streak. But it’s a great shot. Has several depths, first glance it’s the sky, then one notices the pond and then one sees that road and it suddenly had lots of depth.
    Well done.

    June 26, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    • Wow.. Now there’s a compliment with a comparison to Ansel Adams… Thanks Martin… I do love the black and white one myself..

      June 26, 2010 at 10:11 pm

  3. Love the color of the beautiful day! The B&W totally changes the mood.

    Two questions for you: Do you call yourself a Swampie? (I guess it would be appropriate for a slug! LOL!) And what does the term “Minster” mean? Does it have something to do with tides? (oops, guess that’s 3 questions)

    June 26, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    • I am indeed a swampie.. lol… but to qualify you really have to be born and bred here… so it’s not just open to anyone… ;)
      As for your other (two) questions… Minster is just a village (where I live), and although I’m not 100% sure of the origins of its name, I’m guessing it has something to do with the Latin for monastery… :)

      June 26, 2010 at 10:21 pm

  4. What a fascinating place to live! OK, maybe an island of sheep doesn’t sound so glamorous in print but it has some great landscape potential. Wonderful colours.

    June 27, 2010 at 4:35 am

    • Lol.. Well there are still plenty of sheep here, but really the name derives from when the island was JUST sheep.. Fortunately that’s not quite the case now… ;)

      June 27, 2010 at 9:19 am

  5. angelcel

    Beautiful light, I love the way it’s illuminating the fence. Being generally a colour-a-holic I prefer the colour version, although Martin is right – the sky in the bnw version is great.

    So I’ve learned something today – you’re a fellow island dweller! :)

    June 27, 2010 at 6:58 am

    • Thanks Jayne.. Well as I said before I personally do love black and white, but it’s harder to get an image to stand out… Maybe that’s why I like it, as it tests you more…

      And yup… Fellow islander indeed, but I’m sure your island is a bit more desirable a residnece than mine… lol..

      June 27, 2010 at 9:24 am

  6. You live on an island?? That’s really cool, Brian! Just like Shrek, you are an ‘onion’ – many layers to discover!

    This is a beautiful photo. I really like the color as the light is just so warm and inviting. Like you could drive down that dirt road to paradise…I’m jealous!! :-)

    June 27, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    • Haha… Thanks Tracy… First I’m compared to Ansel Adams, and now Shrek !!!… LOL… ;)

      I’m not entirely sure I’d class the end of that dirt track as paradise though, lol.. but let’s not shatter the illusion… ;)

      June 27, 2010 at 2:49 pm

  7. lol, I just had a chuckle about your comment to Tracy being compared to Ansel and Shrek…hehehe..wow, you live on an island, how awesome is that and so cool, love the photo, the tones and warmth of the color, the black and white is awesome too but gives a different mood to the color one. I like the color one better. :)

    June 27, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    • Lol… Yeah I know… I’m just waiting for the comparison to Goofy now… hehe… Thanks so much Consuelo… glad you like the shots… :)

      June 27, 2010 at 11:19 pm

  8. I love the black and white one – but then, I’ll admit to being biased in my love for B&W landscapes.

    (And I live on an island too – just a VERY large one!)

    June 28, 2010 at 8:30 am

    • Yeah I have to confess that my passion for black and white has been growing over the past year or two… and I think that’s because it does test your photographic knowledge more as you have to work harder on the composition as you can’t use colour for focus or balance…

      I’m also pretty sure your islands not just bigger, it’s a darn sight more impressive too… lol…

      June 28, 2010 at 9:06 am

  9. Okay…this geography lesson was purely for my benefit, wasn’t it?! lol
    Great photo, great place.

    June 29, 2010 at 2:50 am

    • Lol… and I’d forgotten all about your geographical knowledge until you reminded me…. ;)

      June 29, 2010 at 12:11 pm

      • Or lack thereof! ;) *tee*hee*

        June 30, 2010 at 12:49 pm

  10. Oh wow Brian! That is some gorgeous place you’ve got there! Your landscape shots always make me wonder what it feels like if I live there LOL
    Great colours on the colour version, the clouds in the sky is beautiful beautiful beautiful!
    I have to say that the B&W is not bad looking too ;)

    June 29, 2010 at 7:38 am

    • Thanks Attiev… It doesn’t always look like this though… In fact it rarely looks like this… lol… And I often wonder what it would be like to live in a more exotic location… like Brunei… Fancy swapping ???… lol….

      June 29, 2010 at 12:14 pm

  11. I hope they didnt tell you off for getting out of the car and all !!!!

    June 29, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    • Haha… Nah I was too quick for them… In and out like a thing that goes in and out real fast…. Yanno… A ferret… lol…

      June 29, 2010 at 9:48 pm

  12. Wow, it’s hard to add a comment after all those! Ansel, Shrek, Goofy… I would have to go with Ansel. The black and white is wonderful, the sky is amazing.

    August 10, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    • LOL… Yeah there’s quite some comparisons there… I guess Ansel does kinda beat Shrek… Thanks so much for the compliment… :D

      August 11, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Leave a Reply

