The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

HayDaze…

It’s been far too long since I’ve been out of an evening to capture one of my favoured subjects… the perfect sunset…. and unfortunately mostly I only have myself to blame for that, as sunset is late, and by that time of day I’m normally settled after getting the kids to bed etc…. so the thought of getting ready to go out again is one that’s all too easy to convince myself “maybe tomorrow”….

Well last night was almost another “maybe tomorrow” yet again… and I uuum’d and ahhhh’d until it was virtually too late…. The other problem being that I can’t just step in to the backyard to capture anything…. as my backyard is none too interesting… so I have to drive somewhere…

Well I left it sooooo late before deciding that I WAS going out, that my location options were severely limited, but this particular field is only 5 mins drive away and I’ve not shot here before… so that’s where I ended up… and I ONLY just made it too, and this was the very first shot I took…. Did manage to get another 20 mins shooting in before the colour drained away completely, so all in all it was definitely worth dragging myself out…. That is all except for the mosquito’s…. I really could have done without their interest in me last night… itch itch itch…. ;)

14 responses

  1. absurdoldbird

    Lovely. I do like those whispy threads of clouds, and the feeling of stillness as the sun holds onto its last rays of colour.

    Also – nice warm light settling on the grass/hay.
    :)

    June 28, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    • Thanks Val… Well apart from the mozzies it sure was calm and peaceful out there… and warm and humid… but hey… I guess we have to suffer for our art… lol…

      June 28, 2010 at 7:31 pm

  2. Ha! I have sooo been there. Sometimes the inclination to go out, even when I’d rather not, is so strong, I feel that something larger than me is doing the prodding. Isn’t it nice when you DO listen to the voice and wind up with an awesome image like this?? Well done! :-)

    June 28, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    • Sometimes I feel that something larger than me is doing the prodding too… and it usually turns out to be my wife… Ummm… Oooops.. Did I just type that out loud !?!?… (and sometimes I even listen… occasionally)… ;)

      June 29, 2010 at 9:56 am

  3. Beautiful, wow, that’s only 5 minutes away, I hear you about the later sunsets, sometimes I get like that too especially for sunrise and can relate to the mosquitoes..lol

    June 29, 2010 at 12:24 am

    • Yeah only 5 minutes… Although this tiny island of mine isn’t blessed with rolling hills and lakes etc, when the weather is right there are still a few nice little spots to be found… Thanks Consuelo…

      June 29, 2010 at 11:47 am

  4. aswirly

    Ha! I totally know that feeling, that debate, to go out or stay in. Often I’m kicking myself for being so lazy. Stupid sunset beiing all late and stuff. Anyhow, I’m glad you got out to capture this. The streaky sky is a beaut and the hay makes a nice foreground.

    June 29, 2010 at 12:28 am

    • I’d kick myself too… but I’m too lazy even for that… hehe… Got some more shots too, that I’ll get bored of before I post them… lol.. Thanks A… :)

      June 29, 2010 at 11:49 am

  5. angelcel

    Beautiful, and so worth the effort. It’s such a peaceful scene.

    I know what you mean about going out again to catch the sunset at this time of year. I equally love catching the dawn – over which which my family think I’m a bit barmy – and certainly at this time of year that takes some dedication too!

    June 29, 2010 at 10:07 am

    • I tell ya, the dawn is one thing that I keep telling myself I need to go for too… I’m just waiting for it to come around at a respectable 9am… then I’ll be all over it… :)

      June 29, 2010 at 11:54 am

  6. Lovely shot mate, great colours

    June 29, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    • Cheers mate… It certainly was quite the night, and I’m assuming you didn’t miss out on it…

      June 29, 2010 at 9:47 pm

  7. Good for you making yourself go out and find that shot when you didn’t really feel like it. I share the inability to get a nice backyard sunset; there’s too much stuff in the way – houses, trees etc.
    I love your perspective.

    June 29, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    • Yeah my backyard is hopeless… as is pretty much anything within walking distance… unless I want houses… but we’ve got plenty enough within a reasonably short drive which I guess is really lucky… Thanks Karma…

      June 29, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Leave a Reply

