The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Steel Climbing

Well I know this shot isn’t going to be to everyone’s liking, but I have to sometimes confess to having a bit of a thing for industrial photography…

So today I had the opportunity to have a wander around one of our local steel plants, where they crush the slag (by-product of steel manufacturing) for use in road surfacing materials… During the tour I managed to venture up to the very top of their highest crushing silo for the grand view of the… ummmm… beautiful surroundings… lol… But who’s going to refuse a huge climbing frame in an adults playground… Not me that’s for sure… Don’t know exactly how high it was, but it was plenty high enough for me to be pretty determined not to drop anything…

So anyway, sorry it’s not quite as appealing as a sunset or a pretty flower, but sometimes you have to mix it up a little bit… :)

26 responses

  1. Wow I love the eye trail on the pipes going down on the right. It is somehow very interesting though, despite it not being a great sunset or something like that.

    July 21, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    • Thanks Martin… Well today was never going to offer a sunset, so this had to do… lol..

      July 21, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  2. absurdoldbird

    I’d say it’s coz yer a boy, but then I love things like cherry pickers and diggers an’ I’m a gurl.
    ;)

    July 21, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    • LOL.. Yeah I think that might have a lot of bearing on my enjoyment of this place… Plus it was seriously dirty too… :)

      July 21, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  3. A VERY interesting shot indeed! Great leading lines and the touches of blue and that little pop of red are fantastic amongts the golds and greys.

    Glad you got a chance to ‘play’. I woulda done that same thing! :-)

    July 21, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    • Thanks Tracy… AND I had the additional bonus of coming home dirty, with a perfectly legitimate excuse… :)

      July 21, 2010 at 11:10 pm

  4. I really like it! What focal length did you use?

    July 22, 2010 at 4:36 am

    • Thanks Avital.. I used 10mm on both shots here… :)

      July 22, 2010 at 7:04 am

  5. aswirly

    An adult playground huh? Kinky ;) lol. Love this. It looks terrifyingly high though. Eeeek, you’re brave!! ;)

    July 22, 2010 at 4:57 am

    • Hehe.. Well it was dirty, but I’m not too sure about kinky… lol… and oh yeah it was kinda high. It’s funny too cos I got to the top and actually questioned myself about being scared of heights.. Fortunately I decided I wasn’t on this occasion.. ;)

      July 22, 2010 at 7:10 am

  6. angelcel

    OK, so maybe not my *favourite* subject matter but I definitely see the appeal and this is a great composition. I love seeing views that are usually only seen by a few and I love all the shapes and angles of an industrial site.

    July 22, 2010 at 8:34 am

    • Thanks AC.. It certainly is great to get to the places others can’t when the opportunity arises… and the industrial stuff for me is more about the challenge of making something unappealing look appealing..

      July 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

  7. Lucky bugger LOL, great view although perhaps not for a brochure of Kent. great shot and usual high quality I have come to expect from you.

    July 22, 2010 at 9:20 am

    • Cheers Andy… It would have been better had there been a nice sunset too, but I guess you can’t have everything… lol…

      July 22, 2010 at 6:49 pm

  8. JJ

    Looks great, but unlike you, I DO have a fear of heights, and wouldnt climb up there for all the tea in china, or all the breakfasts in bed ;o)

    July 22, 2010 at 10:22 am

    • I’m not to sure I’d fancy climbing up there for breakfast in bed either, as I think it would be a bit too breezy up there… You’d not want the duvet blowing off in such an exposed place… and your eggs would get cold too… ;)

      July 22, 2010 at 6:55 pm

  9. I love industrial photography! Nice work. I’m jealous of your access :)

    July 22, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    • Thanks JP… Well I wish I had access to even more places, but guess I’ll have to make do for now… I’m hoping my new job might open up some more opportunities too… lol..

      July 22, 2010 at 6:57 pm

  10. Although there aren’t any flowery-type things, I still enjoy this shot! I love your perspective on things, both photographically and in your choice of words!

    July 22, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    • Thanks K… Actually if you look real close down the right hand side there is some naturally occuring greeny brown stuff, but I’m not sure it would smell too flowery, or be very photogenic… lol..

      July 22, 2010 at 7:00 pm

  11. Subjects like this are fascinating, if not “pretty” in the traditional sense of the word….I love the lines in this, and in such a brown landscape those little pops of color are wonderful! Great perspective, great photo!

    July 23, 2010 at 11:52 am

    • Lol.. Yeah no one’s ever going to call it pretty, not in ANY sense of the word… Thanks kd.. :)

      July 25, 2010 at 10:04 am

  12. Love the photo Funky…that is definitely my kind of playground. How do you get permission to go in those places?

    July 23, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    • Ahhh well it’s very much a case of knowing the right people, which always comes in useful.. Thanks Mike..

      July 25, 2010 at 10:05 am

  13. I agree about mixing it up and I like seeing different photographs of other things so I can get inspired from others. These are interesting shots indeed. Great capture:)

    July 24, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    • Thanks Consuelo.. That’s always been one of my goals, to try and not restrict myself to just one genre of photography.. Whether I’m succeeding or not I’m not sure.. lol.. but I try.. :)

      July 25, 2010 at 10:15 am

Leave a Reply

