The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Hay-Ho…

Not had much opportunity recently to get out at all with the camera, so have been rooting through some shots from a month or two back when the weather was real nice… Hopefully I’ll get an opportunity this weekend to get out…

Do have some interesting news though… Well interesting for me at least… In all the years I’ve been interested in photography I think it’s fair to say I’ve never encountered any real interest in my shots (apart from other like minded photo hobbyists)… I’ve never sold any images… Never been published… But then again I’ve never really pushed myself or tried to achieve any of these things, so no surprise really… I’ve always been content in just taking and processing images I like…for me…

In the last two weeks though I have been approached on two separate occasions, by two different well known camera magazines… actually asking ME if I would mind if they could feature one of my shots in their magazines… So from nothing for years, I will soon have two different shots in two different magazines… and one of them will even be a double page spread too… Could I be more pleased… Probably not… lol… I’ll no doubt be posting a shot of both magazines some time in the next few months so I’ll apologise in advance for the own trumpet blowing… ;)

33 responses

  1. How very cool! Congratulations! Will you be able to share with us which magazines they will be? I’m wondering if they are sold here so I’ll be able to have a peek through them.

    August 11, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    • Thanks so much K.. Well I don’t want to tempt fate too much, so until I actually see either one in print then I’m keeping schtum on the exact details… lol… But rest assured, as soon as I get my sticky little mits on a hard copy, I will post a little post about it… :)

      August 11, 2010 at 11:05 pm

  2. oooh, how brilliant! Congratulations :D Love that shot, too!

    August 11, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    • Thanks Simone… Really hope to get out soon to get some fresh material…

      August 12, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  3. Awesome! This one and last one are really great! Am impressed.

    August 11, 2010 at 11:24 pm

  4. aswirly

    I’m so happy for you. Soooo exciting and so very well deserved too. You’ve always been an inspiration to me ;)

    August 12, 2010 at 12:34 am

    • No no no no… You’ve always been an inspiration to me… lol… Thanks so much A… Means a lot… :D

      August 12, 2010 at 11:00 pm

  5. That is so awesome, congrats. I look forward to seeing your shots in the magazine. I love this photo as well. Did you use HDR for these ones?

    August 12, 2010 at 2:28 am

    • Cheers Consuelo… I can’t wait to see them myself… And lol… I always (nearly) use HDR… or at least a blend of HDR and the original raw file.. ;)

      August 12, 2010 at 11:03 pm

  6. Avital Pinnick

    That’s great news! Please let us know when it happens.

    August 12, 2010 at 5:19 am

  7. angelcel

    Congratulations, that’s *wonderful* news! I hope they both come about and I really look forward to seeing you in print. :)

    I love this shot. It does look a little HDR and I like the subtle lines in the scene that converge in the distance.

    August 12, 2010 at 6:12 am

    • Well I’ve now been given the issue numbers my shots will be in… and one will be out end of this month… and the other in just over a months time…. so not long to wait… Thanks so much Jayne.. :)

      August 12, 2010 at 11:14 pm

  8. Hey congratulations! It would be an easy choice for me to pick your work, I’m a big fan :). I’m looking forward to more of the details.

    August 12, 2010 at 7:29 am

    • Thanks so much for the compliment Sean… Have to admit I’m quite pleased… :)

      August 12, 2010 at 11:15 pm

  9. Funky, great shot…and congratulations on the magazine interest in your photos.

    August 12, 2010 at 12:11 pm

  10. Congrats, Brian! How exciting!

    Curious though….does the magazine use your images without compensation? I know seeing them in print is indeed a thrill and I expect them to give you proper credit but, sometimes I think magazines target unknown photogs just so they get to use images for free.

    (I apologize profusely…don’t mean to rain on your parade because this is STILL very cool and something to be proud of!)

    August 12, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    • LOL… I know exactly what you mean Tracy, and one is just being published with the relevant credit to me… but I’m happy with that as I’ve not been published before, and it’s great to be asked, especially as it’s a shot I’m particularly fond of… The second approach though is a double pager with a write up by me, and I am being compensated quite nicely for that…. and again it’s a shot I’m particularly proud of… So I couldn’t be happier all round really… :)

      August 12, 2010 at 11:58 pm

      • Oh, well, in that case, double congratulations!! Way to go! Woo hoo! Hip hip hooray! Gooooooooaaaaaaaaaaaallllllllll!!!!! ;-)

        August 13, 2010 at 2:40 am

        • LOL…. Thanks Tracy…. ;)

          August 14, 2010 at 8:44 pm

  11. Val Erde

    Congratulations!!! Really brill!
    :)
    (Mmmm… and I like the photo to go with this post, too!)

    August 13, 2010 at 9:21 pm

  12. Toot away!! Congratulations!!

    August 14, 2010 at 3:37 am

  13. Congrats!

    August 14, 2010 at 6:53 am

  14. You and your skies! Lovely as always and great to hear of your magazine pics. Which magazines are they going in and I’ll have a look out for them?

    August 22, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    • Thanks Brian.. Yeah I can’t help it with the skies… lol… Well the first magazine is Digital Camera, and is supposed to be in the shops Tuesday… The next one will be PhotoPlus, but I’m not sure when that hits the shops…

      August 22, 2010 at 7:05 pm

  15. Wow! How exciting for you. Please do post the images/magazines when the time comes. Congratulations, your images are worth some press!!

    August 25, 2010 at 6:12 pm

  16. oh, did I mention I am Jealous!!! :)

    August 25, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    • LOL… Thanks so much… Well the first magazine is out now, so watch this space for a post soon… :)

      August 25, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Leave a Reply

