The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Hare Today…

So after a long long time of thinking, and looking, and saving, and more looking, and more thinking… and some playing followed by a bit more saving, and them some thinking… I finally decided (with the aid of some friendly persuasion.. lol) to expand my photographic potential by adding to my equipment … and bought a nice shiny new lens I’ve had my eye on for quite some time… A 100-400mm zoom… :)

Unfortunately since said purchase took place, I’ve not really had the opportunity to make best use of it what with work and weather, apart from a nice evening stroll with my daughter… but nice as the warm evening light was, it wasn’t best suited to making the most of a long lens…

I did manage a few shots though, and was real pleased to capture a shy and elusive bunny Hare… or jackrabbit as some of the more foreign people call them… lol… Did you know that the European Brown Hare can run at 45mph !!!… and they’re the size of a small elephant, and you can ride them too… lol…

Cow’s aren’t quite so fast, but some of them have got mean stares… It’s lucky methinks that I was 3 miles away from this beasty… lol.. ;)

22 responses

  1. aswirly

    Hehe…bunny!! I mean, ahem, HARE. Yup, these Hare’s are like hardcore bunnies. You do NOT want to mess with them. They are fun to ride though. Especially when you get them to gallop ;)

    Seriously though, congrats on your new lens. That sure is exciting and I can’t wait to see what more you shoot with it!

    August 18, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    • Galloping is for girls… You wanna try jumping rivers on them… lol… Thanks A… Can’t wait to get some serious use from it… I have some plans for next week though, so here’s hoping it’s nice weather… ;)

      August 18, 2010 at 8:12 pm

  2. Cheryl Velez

    Love the hare (and it’s definitely a hare). His expression reminds me of Alice’s rabbit. He’s saying..follow me..you know you want to!

    August 18, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    • Thanks so much… Yeah their expressions are priceless aren’t they… and after just watching Alice in Wonderland, my daughter was delighted to see on in the fur… lol…

      August 18, 2010 at 8:14 pm

  3. Congrats, Brian! You’ve already taken some nice shots. That hare is quite striking in the warm light and the detail is superb.

    The cow, on the other hand, looks like she tied one too many on last night with those bloodshot eyes! ;-)

    August 18, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    • Haha… Thanks Tracy… Yeah she sure did look a bit worse for wear, but then I’ve seen worse first thing in the morning… lol.. ;)

      August 18, 2010 at 8:49 pm

  4. Oh wow, that’s a NICE piece of kit, Brian! Well done, you’re gonna have SO much fun with this! Great shots, too – love the bunny.

    hare.
    It’s a HARE!

    August 18, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    • Thanks Simone, and I hope you’re right, as I took a very long time to convince myself to go for it… it must have been at least 3 minutes… lol… Yeah ok, it was more like months… ;)

      August 18, 2010 at 9:37 pm

  5. angelcel

    Great shots – the light on Mr Hare is beautiful. I imagine this is physically a big lens. Do you use a tripod?

    A lens like this opens up a whole new world of photographic possibilities so I can imagine how much you’re itching to get out there using it. Can’t wait to see more results. :)

    August 19, 2010 at 5:33 am

    • It IS physically big… lol… and very heavy too… It’s not my intention to be using a tripod, as I’m thinking I’ll be mostly using it for wildlife.. but we’ll see… Fortunately the image stabilisation seems superb… :)

      August 19, 2010 at 7:14 pm

  6. JJ

    Haha, friendly persuasion was it? All I can say is, you dont take much persuading lol!! Lucky lucky you, I want some new equipment :o\ Loving the new stuff btw, just think what you can do with those spiders in their webs at Potters next time ;o)

    August 19, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    • You HAD some new equipment remember… but you sent it back !!!!…. lol… and I’m not sure I’d get it over the fence at Potters… ;)

      August 19, 2010 at 7:17 pm

  7. troy

    I think we call them Jackrabbits here in Canada …Hare too. Lunch at a stretch ;)

    The only negative I find with my 300 is that I find myself on ‘stake out’ all the time when it comes to waiting for the beasties to get into a proper pose. Birds are the worst!

    August 19, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    • Lol at the lunch, but with a speed of 45mph I think I’ll stick to catching burgers… lol… I think you’re right about the staking out though… Thanks Troy…

      August 19, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  8. Wow, that’s one impressive lens. Look forward to more shots!

    They are Hares here in Aus too. I never realised Jackrabbit was the North American term for Hare! I always wondered what a they were, and know I know :)

    August 19, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    • I can’t wait for the opportunity to get myself out to use it properly… This working for a living can be a right pain when you have important things to do… lol… Thanks JP…

      August 19, 2010 at 7:20 pm

  9. Wow, what clarity and warm light on that conejo. It doesn’t even look like he noticed you with that lens. I am now expecting a follow up mini image with cowboy hats and the works! :)

    Congratulations on the lens, it looks wonderful. If you do find that you continue to have challenges on using it, let me know. I can provide you an address to mail it where it will get use. ;)

    August 19, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    • Cheers Sean… I’m pretty sure he’d clocked me spying on him, but he looked real comfy soaking up the last of the sun… and if only I had a cowboy hat… lol… Thanks for the generous offer too, but I’m not sure it will fit through your mailbox… lol…

      August 19, 2010 at 7:27 pm

  10. Beautiful shots, congrats on the new lens, looks like you’ll have lots of fun with it. Can’t wait to see more pics with those lens…hope your work is still going well :)

    August 20, 2010 at 2:52 am

    • Thanks so much Consuelo…I can’t wait to really get out with it either… And work is going pretty good too.. It’s a complete change of career for me, but I think it was a good choice… Thanks so much for asking… :D

      August 22, 2010 at 10:04 am

  11. Val Erde

    Oh-oh – beware that cow – there was a bullock in ‘yonder field’ a year or so ago we nicknamed ‘red eye’ that was MEAN. This one looks like it has the same red eye… must be related!

    Nice bunny… er… hare.

    Hopefully there’ll be some nice sunny days soon and you can make the most of your new bit of gear! (Been pissing it down here. But then it is Wales…)

    August 22, 2010 at 1:53 am

    • LOL… Fortunately this particular one was sans horns, but still had that look… I’m hoping tomorrow is nice as I have the day off and a trip to the zoo planned which will be the perfect opportunity hopefully…

      August 22, 2010 at 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

