The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Mini Days Out…

Strange isn’t it how great minds think alike… I had plans yesterday of taking some shots with the sole purpose of doing a fake tilt-shift…. and it would seem that Angelcel must have had exactly the same tilt shift ideas too….

Yesterday we decided to take a trip to Southend… Yeah I know it’s a real cliché English seaside resort, and doesn’t appeal to everyone, but my Dad came from there, and I’ve not been there for  such a very long time… and my Mum fancied a trip down memory lane… and plus the kids LOVE it… even though it’s the first time they’ve ever been… The worst of it is though that we can SEE Southend so clearly from my little Island… It’s probably no more than 6 or 7 miles as the crow flies… but to drive there is a whole different story due to a small river called The Thames… which extends that 6 or 7 miles to closer to 65 miles each way… lol…

Not sure how well-known this fact is either, but they have the worlds longest pleasure pier… It is reportedly 1.341 miles long…. and even has its own trains to ferry the less hardy to and from the end of the pier…

Sadly though a fire tore through and destroyed most of the original head of the pier back in 2005, but fortunately it has now been pretty much restored… To save me writing oodles and oodles of stuff on here though that no one wants to read, I’ll just throw in the ever faithful Wikepedia Link… which always comes in very handy…

It certainly is quite the pier though, and hopefully this view helps to give you a sense of how far out to sea it really is… Not sure I’d fancy being out there in more inclement weather though…

18 responses

  1. Insane colours in that top shot! I’ll admit, I’m not sure of the purpose of a ‘pleasure pier’ – what’s wrong with having them on the mainland?

    August 22, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    • Haha.. I am SOOO in agreement with you there… I couldn’t help but stand on the end of the pier, and think to myself “WHY !?!?”… lol..

      August 22, 2010 at 3:10 pm

  2. So what exactly is tilt-shift, or a fake tilt-shift? A quick peek at the link you included looks like it has something to do with making a scene look like a scale model? I did wonder on first seeing the top shot whether it was an actualy scene or little toys, so if that is the goal, it is certainly accomplished here!

    August 22, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    • You’ve got it spot on there K… Fake tilt-shift is a technique used to make a scene look like a miniature model… I’m glad that was the impression you got from the shot… :)

      August 22, 2010 at 6:59 pm

  3. I do like those tilt-shift type of shots, they look so unreal.

    Nice processing too sir.

    August 22, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    • Thanks again Brian… Getting a base shot that’s gonna work isn’t always so easy though, and I’m not entirely sure I got that right here…

      August 22, 2010 at 7:06 pm

  4. I love fake tilt-shift, and that first one couldn’t be more perfect!
    I’m hoping to find a photo or two in my vacation pictures that I can use for fake tilt shift.

    August 22, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    • Well it has to be tried I think, and gives such a great result too when you can find the right shot… Thanks DC…

      August 24, 2010 at 7:47 pm

  5. aswirly

    A PLEASURE pier??? hahaha, well that is great. I just love these scenes, especially the first one. Wow, it REALLY looks like a model scene. And the colors make it look like play dough. Very clever and very cool. Sounds like you had a nice time too :)

    August 22, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    • Hey… What’s wrong with a Pleasure Pier… lol… It’s better than a gloomy pier… And you’re only jealous cos it’s bigger than your pier… ;)
      Mind you, after a 3 mile walk in the wind and sea spray, it was a pleasure to be back on the seafront… lol…

      August 24, 2010 at 7:50 pm

  6. Wow, that’s one long pier. I like all the shots especially the top one. :)

    August 22, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    • Thanks Consuelo… It sure was a long way, and it’s no wonder they run a train service… :)

      August 24, 2010 at 7:51 pm

  7. angelcel

    Yes you’ve done a great job, the first one looks like a Playmobil scene! :)

    August 23, 2010 at 5:11 am

    • Thanks AC…. Great minds think alike eh… ;)

      August 24, 2010 at 7:51 pm

  8. I’ve never heard of this but NOW I understand all the ‘miniature-looking’ shots I’ve seen. Your first shot REALLY looks like a miniature! How cool is that??? Damn, Brian, you are just so innovative! :-)

    August 23, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    • Haha… Thanks so much Tracy…. You’re going to have to add it to your list of things to try as well now methinks… :)

      August 24, 2010 at 7:53 pm

  9. Love the train one!

    August 26, 2010 at 3:23 am

Leave a Reply

