The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Summers Here

Even if it is a bit late, and only for the weekend.. lol.. Well, it’s been quite the nice weekend at least.. And what better way to spend it than to wander around the odd castle.. Surprisingly though, even though I live within 30mins of this castle, and have visited many times.. I’ve never really captured a nice shot of the place.. Today turned out to be one of the better ones though I hope.. And in addition to the castle, I also managed to find a family of baby peacocks.. Could they be any cuter ??..

24 responses

  1. aswirly

    A BABY PEACOCK! Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. SO cute CMcG!Very lovely image of the castle too. What a treat that you live nearby to such a place.

    September 6, 2010 at 12:54 am

    • Hehe… Thanks A… Yeah Doug the baby peacock was pretty cute eh… How do I know his name was Doug I hear you ask, cos his sister Ethel told me obviously… ;)

      September 6, 2010 at 7:44 pm

  2. Avital Pinnick

    Oh, there you go again, making me jealous over the fact that you Brits have castles on every street corner (between the Ladbrokes and the Duke of Whatever pub)! Our castles are all derelict Crusader-period fortresses, built mainly for tormenting the locals so they didn’t get much TLC after their original owners went back to places like this.

    Seriously, that’s a lovely shot of the castle with the flowers in the foreground. And I absolutely LOVE the peacock chick. So cute. The feathers are so sharp. I have to keep telling myself that I cannot afford another lens….

    September 6, 2010 at 5:06 am

    • Lol… Sorry Avital… I’ve often tried to count all the castles we have in Kent, but have always gotten bored part way through… lol… I think I’ll start a list…

      Oh, and hey… if it’s of any consolation, I can’t afford another lens any more… lol… Yeah ok, I know it’s of no consolation at all… ;)

      September 6, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  3. angelcel

    Lovely! The light has that pretty autumnal tinge to it and the baby peacock? Squeeeee… :D

    September 6, 2010 at 6:39 am

    • Thanks Jayne… The weather had been pretty grim all day, right up until we were set to leave… Then the sun came out, and I had to just delay our departure for another 30 mins… lol…

      September 6, 2010 at 9:10 pm

  4. What a beautiful castle! And a baby peacock, how cute! :D adorable little fluffball.

    September 6, 2010 at 8:20 am

    • They certainly are… and if it wasn’t for mummy peacock I’m pretty sure I’d have had no idea what it was…

      September 6, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  5. Cool castle! Do you know any of the history of the place?
    I’ve never seen a baby peacock before! How adorable!

    September 6, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    • Ooooh there’s plenty of history about the place.. For a taster, it dates way back to 1119… and its most famed owner was King Henry VIII, who transformed it for his wife Catherine of Aragon… There’s plenty more on good old Wikipedia… :)

      September 6, 2010 at 9:21 pm

  6. OK, I’m officially jealous – you live near a castle! Plus, I don’t think I’ve seen a baby peacock before…

    September 6, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    • Ummm… I live near a lot of castles… lol… I’ll have to get back on to counting exactly how many one of these days… lol… Thanks JP… :)

      September 6, 2010 at 9:25 pm

  7. The castle’s design is fascinating. I like the shot.

    September 6, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    • Thanks burstmode… It certainly is quite the impressive place, and definitely worth the odd visit or two…

      September 6, 2010 at 9:27 pm

  8. I miss castles… that’s a beautiful shot!

    September 6, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    • They sure are great aren’t they… Thanks so much Michaela…

      September 7, 2010 at 7:26 pm

  9. Beautiful castle, the flowers really add to the scene and the peacock is so cute as well.

    September 8, 2010 at 5:14 am

    • Thanks Consuelo… Damn, I never noticed those flowers…. lol… ;)

      September 9, 2010 at 8:28 pm

  10. Yeah its something to say we have a local castle. just to let on about your full name and title they will get really jealous M’lawd!!!

    oh yeah not a bad shot either LOL. I bet that duck tastes nice (that bit might be a joke too far)

    September 8, 2010 at 10:16 am

    • Well… We actually have quite a few local castles… lol… More than even I could recall… Cheers mate… Now please go and sort those peasants out… They’re revolting… lol..

      September 9, 2010 at 8:29 pm

  11. Stunning shot of the castle with a nice color balance between foreground and background. Great sky, too.

    OMG! A baby peacock! I’ve never seen one and you got to see a whole family?? So lucky! :-)

    September 10, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    • Lol… Thanks Tracy… Yeah the baby peacock was pretty cool… and I’m guessing it was slightly easier to shoot than your hummer… ;)

      September 10, 2010 at 5:08 pm

  12. Val Erde

    Love the peacock chick – adorable! And the view of the castle…. do we get to know which castle it is or do I have to read the tags… ah!! Leeds castle, is it! A rather compact looking place as I recall… not sure if I’ve ever been there but seen it from postcards over the years. Your photos of it are MUCH better.
    :)

    September 15, 2010 at 12:38 am

    • It is indeed Leeds (in Kent that is – not Yorkshire.. lol)… Not entirely sure I’d class it as compact though… I could certainly very easily get lost inside… lol..

      September 15, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Leave a Reply

