The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Another Keeper

A Castle Keep that is… As I said in my last post, I have not had what I consider much success getting many good shots of our local castle… but I did come across an old set of shots that I’d completely forgotten about, and found a few more that I was reasonably happy with…

I did also mention that we have quite the selection of castles within an hour or so of where I live… Well tonight I did some more investigating…. and can confirm that we have the following… all in varying states of disrepair… Sorry… Lol…

Castles = 29
Castle Ruins = 7
Privately Owned Castles = 5
Forts = 19

And you can see more about all of them here

 

20 responses

  1. Love the castle and swan shot! Beautiful!

    September 9, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    • Thanks K… I wanted the Swan to be a bit further to the side, but no matter how much I asked he simply wasn’t listening… lol..

      September 9, 2010 at 9:28 pm

  2. Yes, love the second shot!
    The first one is nice, too, but I think you might have more success with it at a different time of day, when you don’t get that bright patch of sunlight in the foreground.

    I think all those castles are just BEGGING to be explored! After all, I’m sure you need more material for your blog… right? ;-)

    September 9, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    • Thanks Michaela.. You may be right about the patch of light, but I think to get it at the right time of day would call for a sunrise shot, which is unfortunately long before they open… Ah well.. And you’re right about the investigating too… ;)

      September 9, 2010 at 9:33 pm

  3. Great photos, are you able to go to the castle ruins, that would be cool to see.

    September 10, 2010 at 5:05 am

    • Yes the ruins are pretty much open to the public… Trust me though, they’re generally not very impressive, but still worth a visit… Thanks Consuelo…

      September 10, 2010 at 5:04 pm

  4. aswirly

    There is something neat about the bright sunlight and shadow play of the first image, and I love the widdle swan and fluffilicious clouds in the second. Do you have one of the privately owned castles? ;)

    September 10, 2010 at 6:01 am

    • Thanks A… Well they do say that an Englishman’s home is his castle..or something like that… lol… But I think I may require a few more rooms and a moat and battlements to really qualify… but my daughters bedroom does look like a battlefield, so maybe I’m part way there… ;)

      September 10, 2010 at 5:07 pm

  5. Castles = 29
    Castle Ruins = 7
    Privately Owned Castles = 5
    Forts = 19

    Oh, just rub it in why don’t you! I look forward to many more castle shots in the future.

    September 12, 2010 at 1:33 pm

  6. I hope you included my castle in that list! and why doesn’t my icon appear in my comments?

    hope your keeping well old chap must get together soon

    September 12, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    • Sure did… It’s one of the 7… along with mine.. lol… And we sure must… :)

      September 12, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  7. oh its there now that I mentioned it LOL

    September 12, 2010 at 8:19 pm

  8. angelcel

    Both beautiful shots. I like the stark light and shade of the first but the second has more of a timeless quality to it, which I maybe prefer. (I doubt the grass and path in the first would look quite as neat and sweet back in the day)!

    Aren’t we lucky to have so many wonderful photo ops nearby?

    September 13, 2010 at 5:24 am

    • Thanks Jayne… Well the grass might have still been green, but you’re right, I don’t think the path would have been quite so inviting, what with the defensive arrow slits in the wall facing you… lol…

      September 13, 2010 at 7:49 pm

  9. Val Erde

    Beautiful shots. In the upper one, the castle looks so clean, almost like it’s modern!

    September 15, 2010 at 12:34 am

    • Well they’ve recently been giving it a bit of a spruce up, but it does date back to 1119… lol… Thanks Val..

      September 15, 2010 at 11:32 pm

      • Val Erde

        I hadn’t realised Leeds Castle was that old! It’s certainly brushed up well!
        :)

        September 17, 2010 at 9:52 pm

        • It sure has… Mind you, I’m not entirely sure how much that’s there now dates back that far…

          September 17, 2010 at 10:39 pm

Leave a Reply

