The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Shoreline Scrap…

I really really really need to plan these things better… Last nights sunset was simply amazing, but I’d spent the day on a self-induced alcohol recovery shopping trip… Had to go shopping in order to get the medicinal cure-all full english fried breakfast… lol… Anyways, after a day spent traipsing round shops I was too beat to go catch the sunset, so I figured that tonight I’d get out if there was even the slightest hint of colour developing…

Well it did develop, but all too late… and at the last minute I decided to go… but had literally minutes to find a location, so I apologise for the rather uninspiring location, but hopefully the clouds and sunset offset that a tiny bit…

Next time I promise I’ll leave earlier and find somewhere more picturesque…

21 responses

  1. That is soooo beautiful! The location looks just fine to me :-) Only thing that’s a little distracting are the bright pink things in the foreground, and there’s something green, too.
    I thought about posting sunset pictures tomorrow, but will now save them for another day :-)

    September 12, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    • I know what you mean about the rubbish on the beach, and toyed with removing it completely, but stuck to just cropping off the more distracting elements, but wanted to keep something as part of the shoreline “scrap” that tends to wash up from nowhere, spoiling what should have been a real nice location… The green thing was actually a childs sit in pedal car… lol..

      September 12, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      • And hey… Don’t delay your sunset post for my benefit… lol… Go ahead and post it… I can’t wait to see it… :)

        September 12, 2010 at 11:30 pm

        • Too late. Just scheduled them for September 19.

          September 12, 2010 at 11:42 pm

  2. Great shot. there is no such thing as a bad sunset!!

    September 13, 2010 at 12:06 am

    • Well I have to confess to having a bit of a thing for them too… especially when there are clouds too… Many thanks…

      September 13, 2010 at 7:25 pm

  3. I think it’s a lovely scrap. You always have such a beautiful perspective in your landscapes.
    Hey, I noticed something interesting just now: I was looking at the WordPress “photography” tag page and found that my post from today and yours are right next to each other! :-) (It’s page 4 right now – that could change as other posts are added.)

    September 13, 2010 at 12:24 am

    • Thank you so much K, and how cool that are shots were side by side too…

      September 13, 2010 at 7:26 pm

  4. lol..I hope it was at least worth it the self induced alcohol thing…don’t have to apologize, that’s beautiful, looks like a perfect sunset to me and it looks like you got there just at the right time. What does a full english fried breakfast consist of?

    September 13, 2010 at 3:19 am

    • Haha… Yeah it was definitely worth it… and fortunately it was easily set straight with a full english breakfast, which by the way is bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms, beans, hash browns, fried tomatoes, fried bread and toast… and of course washed down with a large glass of orange juice… for the healthy option obviously… ;)

      September 13, 2010 at 7:37 pm

  5. aswirly

    Shame on you and all those jello shots. lol. What were you thinking? ;) Hope you had fun! Anyways, no need to apologize unless it was you that left the litter on the beach ;) The leading lines of the land match the leading lines of the clouds which is fantastic.

    September 13, 2010 at 3:31 am

    • Hehe… Well they were nice, and no one told me they were alcalo.. achlo.. alkaho… acha… akalolic… full of vodka… *hic*…. And no, it wasn’t mine… lol…

      September 13, 2010 at 7:42 pm

  6. angelcel

    Even in the larger version it’s hard to figure out what the pink and green in the foreground are. I honestly thought the pink was from a flower so I was in blissful ignorance!

    No need to apologise on location. I think it works really well. You have an eye for composing these things so well as everything veers towards that tall structure on the horzon. A beautiful shot – trike ‘n all!

    Hope the full English did the trick.

    September 13, 2010 at 5:35 am

    • Thanks so much Jayne…. and LOL… I guess I should have tried to pass it off as a flower eh… but I do kinda have a reputation to uphold.. lol.. And oh yes, the full english always does the trick.. It makes getting drunk worthwhile… lol.. :D

      September 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm

  7. Val Erde

    Two things. First of all what you did get is beautiful so don’t beat yourself up about it. Second – there will be more sunsets. And d’you know, sometimes it’s much nicer to look at sunset through your own eyes rather than the camera’s. I keep reminding the other half to do that… stop and enjoy. Not everything has to be captured.
    :)

    September 15, 2010 at 12:30 am

    • Thanks Val.. Yeah I was quite pleased, but I was still kicking myself for not planning earlier to get to a nicer spot… Ah well.. As you say, there will be more… and I too sometimes go places and leave the camera at home, so I can just admire the surroundings… :)

      September 15, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  8. Wish my “scrap” were this beautiful!

    Geez, Man, do you EVER make a bad picture? ;)

    September 18, 2010 at 2:24 am

    • Lol.. Thanks KD.. Oh believe me I do.. but hats off to the person who invented the delete button… ;)

      September 18, 2010 at 9:33 am

  9. I am in love with this photo!!!!

    October 14, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    • Thank you so much, and thanks for your comment… :)

      October 14, 2010 at 10:53 pm

      • You’re very welcome!! :-) I’ll definitely add you to my “Friends” List

        October 15, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

