The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

And For Todays Lesson…

Another shot from our recent trip to the abandoned girls school… This wasn’t from the old original part of the building seen in the previous post, but was taken it the more recent outbuildings that were obviously used as the school itself… It’s an assumption, but I’d guess the main old building was used more as live in accommodation for the students…

Very much a dump and run post today, as I’m feeling a bit rough, but I’ll catch up with everyone either tomorrow or over the weekend…

29 responses

  1. JJ

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr……thats it! Next time you WILL tell me how to get rays!!!

    October 21, 2010 at 10:28 pm

  2. JJ

    BTW…dumping and running not always a good idea! :o\

    October 21, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    • That’s entirely dependent on where you are… lol…

      October 21, 2010 at 10:44 pm

  3. O.M.G. those rays are just gorgeus!
    The room looks a little odd, with part of it just flooded with natural light and the other part so dark.

    October 21, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    • Thanks Michaela… I might just have to confess to adding a tiny bit of extra mood here… lol…

      October 21, 2010 at 10:45 pm

  4. Excellent photo. Love the depth/color and effects. Good luck.

    October 21, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    • Thanks so much… Thanks for your comment too…

      October 22, 2010 at 11:08 pm

  5. aswirly

    It was a boarding school? They lived there? It’s a stellar shot funkster. Your gritty processing and those nifty sun beams sure add alot of character to this already interesting scene!

    October 22, 2010 at 12:38 am

    • Well looking around the place it certainly had the feel of a boarding school to it… in the main building at least… And thanks A… Glad you appreciate the beams… lol… I was taught by the best… ;)

      October 22, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  6. I like the light shining through there, very nice and appealing

    October 22, 2010 at 3:30 am

    • Thanks so much Consuelo… I may possibly have enhanced the light slightly btw… lol…

      October 22, 2010 at 11:10 pm

  7. What an awesome shot! The camera position and the wide-angle lens are perfect with the sun’s rays falling across the floor. I was looking at some of our local abandoned buildings. Apart from the fact that I can’t get inside, they’re all concrete buildings with about less charm than derelict garages. Nothing like this!

    October 22, 2010 at 10:45 am

    • Thanks Avital… I’m sure given the right light and setting you could make a concrete building look appealing… I’ve certainly worked with a lot less in the past and managed to come home with a few shots… It’s the getting inside that sounds like the hardest barrier to overcome… Persistence is the key… lol…

      October 22, 2010 at 11:14 pm

  8. oh, wonderful! I like how the color penetrates into a room, and light breaks the barrier between two territories!!

    October 23, 2010 at 3:54 am

    • Thanks so much Irina… It was a great place indeed, but I confess to “playing” with the light a little bit… lol..

      October 23, 2010 at 9:30 am

  9. Great shot, but I’m a little creeped out by this one. I wonder why this one gives me the heebie-jeebies more than the others?

    October 23, 2010 at 11:35 am

    • LOL… Just imagine what it was like actually being there, and wandering around the dark long deserted corridors etc… ;)

      October 24, 2010 at 10:00 am

  10. Uber cool – love the light streaming through.

    October 23, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    • Cheers Brian… The light through the windows was what really made this room for me…

      October 24, 2010 at 10:01 am

  11. Excellent shot! I love the angle and the light streaming in through the windows. It’s really oppressive and yet beautiful at the same time! Love it!

    October 24, 2010 at 5:02 pm

  12. Val Erde

    How to bring a dead school to life.
    Brill!
    :)

    October 25, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    • Cheers Val… I must admit I love places like this…

      October 25, 2010 at 5:54 pm

  13. Love this one, the light streaming in is very nicely captured.

    October 25, 2010 at 6:57 pm

  14. Jayne

    This reminds me a bit of my old school – now, coincidentally, one of the very few abandoned buildings here, but unfortunately, from a photography point of view, very well locked up.
    Great atmosphere in this and maybe because it reminds me of my school I can imagine being taught in this room (not a particularly fun place to be)!

    October 26, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    • Yeah they do seem to be securing more and more of these places, which is a shame, but I can see why though as they are very dangerous if you’re not extremely careful… which is why I never go alone…. You really should try to find a way in though as there’s nothing like it… ;)

      October 26, 2010 at 10:43 pm

  15. How do you manage to find these places. Absolutely fantastic. I am wondering however, did you kick up any dust prior to shooting to help with the ray effect?

    November 5, 2010 at 12:16 am

Leave a Reply

