The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Almost Classic Perfection

So finally I’ve managed to sketch a proper portrait… I think… and it’s only taken me… ummm… more than lots of years of trying… lol… It’s the first one at least that doesn’t look as though it’s been sketched by a one legged spider on crack…

Honestly, I gave up trying to draw people back in my early teens, as I never ever could achieve any real likeness to the person I was trying to sketch… I don’t think I’ve achieved that here either if I’m honest… but at least it looks human… so I’m reasonably pleased with it…. It’s a sketch of a very good friend of mine Classic Perfection, (hence the title), and was based on this shot

I don’t think I will be making portraits my subject of choice though… lol…

Anyway, not sure I should really be showing the workflow of my etchings, but this was quite the challenge for me to do, and I really wasn’t at all happy with the initial draft of it… and ended up tweaking the eyes, nose, mouth.. and.. ummm… the hair too… So it went through a tiny bit of adjusting… lol… Here’s the outline sketch, and the first pass too… before I finally achieved something I was relatively happy with…

12 responses

  1. You did really well! I think it looks beautiful, and in my opinion DOES look a lot like the photo you based it on.

    November 1, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    • Thanks so much Michaela… Very kind of you to say so… :D

      November 1, 2010 at 6:45 pm

  2. aswirly

    A portrait! A REEEALL portrait this time and not just a cheeky one, hehe ;) Looks great Brian. You did an excellent job capturing her and her pose. This is beautiful. I bet CP was very happy wasn’t she :) It’s fun seeing your workflow too!

    November 1, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    • Lol… Yeah not quite so cheeky this time… Thanks A… And yeah she was very pleased with it… You’re next btw… ;)

      November 1, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  3. Impressive – I’m only good for stick objects, this is rather cool work indeed…more!

    November 1, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    • Cheers Brian… Well you’ll be happy to know I’m intending to draw / paint some more.. It takes me a while though… lol…
      **Edit** You probably won’t see any more on here though I don’t think, as it really doesn’t seem to be very popular…

      November 1, 2010 at 11:33 pm

  4. Pretty cool, Brian. People’s faces, I think, are one of the most daunting things to draw and you’ve done it well.

    November 2, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    • Thanks K… This really did push my limits…

      November 3, 2010 at 8:01 am

  5. Classicperfection

    Love it… I think you captured me better with pencil and paper than what I did with a camera ;)

    Thank you bri. You’re a star (a super talented one too) ;)

    MWAH

    November 2, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    • Haha.. I’m not sure about that S… on either point… but I’ll take the mwah… lol… Real happy you liked it… :D

      November 3, 2010 at 8:04 am

  6. Awesome job Brian, wish I could do that ;)

    November 3, 2010 at 3:47 am

Leave a Reply

