The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

If You Go Down In The…

… you’ll no doubt find that all the autumnal colours have gone, but at least I managed to get some of the last remaining reds and golds a few weekends back…

Btw… If you haven’t already seen it, I’d really appreciate some opinions on my last sketch in particular… as I’m currently of the opinion that my blog really isn’t the right place for my art… It had LOTS of views, but nowhere near the ratio of comments I generally get on photo’s… so I’m thinking that my sketches aren’t right for my blog, and I should maybe keep it purely for photography…

22 responses

  1. Amazing colours! Really lovely!

    November 11, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    • Thanks so much… Thanks for your comment..

      November 11, 2010 at 8:51 pm

  2. Oh my goodness, I don’t know what’s prettier, the reds or the yellows! You caught them in the perfect light, too.

    Personally I think your sketches are fine for the blog…. switch it up every once in a while. Or you could have your regular photo posts with the occasional sketch bonus?

    I like your new header, too!

    November 11, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    • Thanks Michaela… the light was pretty amazing with the colours in the leaves… Thanks for your valued opinion too… throwing a sketch in to a photo post might be a good idea… :)

      November 11, 2010 at 8:54 pm

  3. Val Erde

    Your sketches are GOOD in your blog, they show another side of you and people like that. I like that! And – better still – they’re very good artwork.

    People don’t usually quite know what to say about artwork – but most people are able to respond to a photo. You’d get the same response if your drawings were in a different blog…

    These photos above – wonderful colour! A picture-book glow!
    :)

    November 11, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    • Thanks so much Val… I guess you may be right that people don’t know how to comment… Michaela may be on to something with mixing photo’s and sketches in one post…

      November 11, 2010 at 8:56 pm

  4. mmm… autumn, my sweet autumn, how many colors do you have hidden in your everlasting embrace? Let me take a leaf form you and keep it until you come next year. Let me sing with your dancing trees, let me smile with your smile…

    thank you for these photos, Brian!

    November 11, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    • Couldn’t have said it better myself… It’s just a shame that the colours are so fleeting…

      November 12, 2010 at 5:41 pm

  5. Wow, love these beautiful autumn colors, great capture. I think you should still put your sketches up if you want to. Your blog is all about you and if that’s a part of you and you want to show it, I think you should keep on doing it. It’s shows us a different side and where you get your artistic flair from. I’m enjoying your sketches just as much as you photos.

    November 12, 2010 at 2:59 am

    • Thanks so much Consuelo… It’s nice to know that people appreciate them, as they’re more personal than my photos I think…

      November 12, 2010 at 5:44 pm

  6. aswirly

    These Autumnal scenes are GORGEOUS. We never get colors like this where I live. Lucky slug you! As far as the sketches, well you already know how I feel.

    November 12, 2010 at 5:18 am

    • Haha.. Yeah but look at your dramatic coastline in comparison to ours… I rest my case.. ;)
      And yeah I know how you feel… lol… Well I guess you have a point… Thanks A… :)

      November 12, 2010 at 5:48 pm

  7. Stunning shots, gotta love these autumn colours! After the storm we had yesterday, I think every last leaf has been well and truely blown off the trees :(

    November 12, 2010 at 8:32 am

    • You’re right there… There’s certainly nothing left over here…

      November 12, 2010 at 5:49 pm

  8. Lovely shots of autumn colour.

    As for the sketches, get rid of them, they make me jealous! :P

    All kidding aside, I’d keep them – not only are they worth sharing, I think they fit in the ‘spirit’ of your blog perfectly.

    November 12, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    • Haha… Thanks JP… I’m glad you think they fit… :)

      November 12, 2010 at 5:52 pm

  9. ..you’ll find stuffed bears having a feast? ;-)
    Is that the tune you were refering to in your title?

    Looks like you had some gorgeous light for those shots (although with you I never know how much is your photoshopping wizardry!)

    What a very clever header you have! Looks like a mash-up of many of your favorite photo subjects.

    November 12, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    • LOL.. Well maybe your lyrics are slightly different to ours, but there’s definitely teddy bears in abundance… ;)

      And nope… No photoshop trickery here today… these were pretty much as shot… and you’re spot on with the header too… Thanks K… :)

      November 12, 2010 at 8:56 pm

  10. Lovely warmth, almost fiery shot. We have palm trees and hot hot hot summer now,, no seasons really to speak of, so I am jealous of all this rich beauty, enjoy it, however fleeting ;} Car

    November 13, 2010 at 7:52 am

    • Ha !!!… No I’m not in the least bit jealous of your tropical climate and palm trees and sandy beaches and warm inviting oceans either… lol.. Nope… Not even slightly jealous… ;)

      November 13, 2010 at 8:08 pm

  11. My word, those reds and golds are nicely vivid. Autumn seems to have passed me by from rain (in the summer) to rain and wind (in the winter). Oh well!

    November 17, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    • Haha..Well I’m not sure we faired too much better down south… and with the wind and rain it’s all but gone now…

      November 18, 2010 at 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

