The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

The Look II

Ok, so I know I promised no more drawings after my last sketch proved none too popular, but you’re gonna have to put up with at least one more I’m afraid… Guess who ???…

This is only the second portrait I think I’ve ever sketched, and have to confess to initially not being at all happy with it when I first began sketching… You see, it’s a new sketch pad, and the paper is coarser than I’m used to, and as such I couldn’t adopt my normal sketching style of smooth even shading… To stand any chance I had to “line shade” or whatever it’s called… which is a style of sketching I’m entirely unfamiliar with… The intention was to just use it as a test, and then scrap it… and buy a finer sketch pad…

I have to confess though as I went on, it began to grow on me… and I’m now real pleased with the finished sketch… Hopefully my real good friend and beautiful model likes it too… :)

22 responses

  1. aswirly

    Brian, you absolutely amaze me! And you said before you can’t do portraits. Rubbish I say!! I cannot believe how incredible this is. I like it better than my sp for sure. Thank you thank you thank you! I’m so flattered

    November 7, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    • You are so very welcome A… And I’m so very happy you like it… :)

      November 7, 2010 at 8:29 pm

  2. Very beautiful sketch! You are a such a great master :-)

    P.S. I am going to post my sketches very sooon))

    November 7, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    • Thanks so much… I’m not sure I agree with the master bit though… lol.. Can’t wait to see some of your sketches…

      November 11, 2010 at 7:11 pm

  3. I think the sketches are cool! Post ’em whenever you like.

    November 8, 2010 at 2:59 am

  4. Val Erde

    Brian this is a fabulous drawing – and you’re right, Amber’s a beautiful model.
    :)
    Do please continue to post your drawings, I’m enjoying them very much (even though I’ve been a bit absent with the comments recently).

    November 8, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    • Thanks Val, she most certainly is… as for my sketches… well to be honest I’m entirely undecided if my blog is really the place for them…

      November 11, 2010 at 7:14 pm

  5. This is amazing! The proportions are perfect and the angle is great! I love the way you’ve concentrated on the most important parts, like the eye and the lips.
    Hats off!

    November 8, 2010 at 6:35 pm

  6. This is beautiful. You are so talented. I’m sure you did Amber proud :)

    November 9, 2010 at 3:20 am

  7. You can’t do portraits? Liar! ;-)
    This is beautiful!

    November 9, 2010 at 11:33 am

    • Haha.. Well I “couldn’t” the last time I tried… but that was a LOOOONG time ago… ;)

      November 11, 2010 at 7:15 pm

  8. Not another extremely talented photographer who can also draw like a master. Why it’s taken so long for me to visit your stunning blog I’ll never know. Just registered so I’ll be back. So much beautiful work on here!

    November 10, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    • Lol… Thanks so much NPG… So glad you’ve registered too…

      November 11, 2010 at 7:16 pm

  9. *This* is you idea of ‘can’t do portraits’? This is great!

    (Personally, my drawing talents are limited to stick figures)

    November 11, 2010 at 11:47 am

    • Well I have to confess to being ever so slightly pleased with this one… But I couldn’t do them… honest… and gave up trying when I was still a teenager… :)

      November 11, 2010 at 7:17 pm

  10. Hmmm…not many comments?

    Well, I didn’t comment cause I’m so freaking jealous of your talent, the first words that came to mind were: “You suck!” and “I hate you!” (all spoken in the most loving tones, of course..) ;)

    Seriously, this sketch is a stunner…. I cannot fathom making a pencil do such wonders. My stick figures are poor even when compared to other stick figures! Please don’t move your sketches elsewhere. Just because I lack coherent thought when taken aback by such talent, doesn’t mean I’m not appreciative…quite the contrary. :). Keep ’em comin’.
    Signed,
    Your Biggest Fan

    November 11, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    • LOLOL… Thanks so much KD… You’re WAY too kind I’m sure… I only meant not many when compared to the amount of views it got though… :)
      ps… Hate you too… lol… ;)

      November 11, 2010 at 9:08 pm

  11. Jayne

    ‘We are not worthy’ :D

    Seriously I wish I could draw like this!

    November 16, 2010 at 11:39 am

    • LOL… Thanks Jayne… I’d have to say give it a go… as you might surprise yourself… :)

      November 18, 2010 at 9:41 pm

Leave a Reply

