The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Too Cold for Penguins…

How crazy is that… There was a report on the news this morning that one of our UK zoos has reported that their penguins are finding the weather too cold, and are having to be fed extra rations… lol…

And while we’re on the subject of penguins… as per a request or two for a snowman… and Mrs A’s specific request for a snowpenguin… WELL… Who am I to disappoint, so here’s Mummy and Baby Penguin that my daughter and I built this morning… Baby Penguin was all my daughters work… They’re never going to win any prizes for snow sculpting I know, but at least now I can officially confirm I have fulfilled a lifelong ambition, and licked a penguin… Yeah ok, I’ll admit to having some very odd ambitions… ;)

22 responses

  1. I didn’t know it could be too cold for penguins! Don’t they live at the South Pole?
    Your snow penguins are adorable.
    Good thing your tongue didn’t stick to the penguin with the temperatures you are having!
    (Have you ever seen the movie “A Christmas Story”?)

    December 19, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    • I guess our penguins are spoiled… lol… Glad you like our snowpenguins… I have to confess I’ve not seen the film though…

      December 19, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      • It has become a “classic” around here. If you have a somewhat slanted sense of humor (and I sense that you do!) you might enjoy it. Takes place in 1950’s small town America – maybe you can rent it and watch with your kids one night.

        December 19, 2010 at 5:58 pm

        • Slanted might aptly describe my sense of humour… lol…

          December 19, 2010 at 9:13 pm

  2. Val Erde

    You’re supposed to p-p-p-pick up a penguin, not l-l-l-lick up a penguin, Brian!

    ;)

    I think they would win prizes for snow sculpting – what an adorable baby iced-penguin! (mama or papa iced penguin’s cute too).

    Poor penguins, but maybe they shouldn’t be in a zoo anyway…

    December 19, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    • Haha… Thanks Val… You’re right on all counts mefinks..

      December 19, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  3. These penguins have so much character!!! Please tell your daughter that hers is absolutely the best snow penguin baby that I have ever seen!!! What a wonderful way to spend time together!!!!! You have won the award for snow sculpting artists of the year as far as I’m concerned. Way to go, you two! :)

    December 19, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    • Thanks Leslie.. I’ll be sure to let her know.. She’ll want to know where to collect the award though.. ;)

      December 19, 2010 at 9:18 pm

  4. aswirly

    Awwwww your penguins are soooooo cute!!! I love them. Hope you didn’t get your tongue stuck when you licked it. lol. You are so weird. GOtta say though, your landscape looks gorgeous blanketed in snow!

    December 19, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    • Weird huh… Well at least licking penguins isn’t as bad a pee’ing on newts… lol… Thanks A… :)

      December 19, 2010 at 9:16 pm

  5. Cutest snow-penguins I’ve ver seen! Your daughter did a great job with hers (and you with yours)!
    I can recommend “A Christmas Story”, too. It’s my husband’s favorite Christmas movie, and I’m really surprised that he hasn’t watched it yet this year.
    Here’s the link, and you can watch the trailer there, too. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0085334/

    December 19, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    • Lol.. Thanks Michaela, but then be honest, how many snow penguins have you “actually” seen… ;)
      I’m guessing I’ll have to keep an eye out for said film then huh…. as it comes highly recommended…

      December 22, 2010 at 6:47 pm

  6. Those are a cute bunch o’ penguins! Is this state the penguins were in in the zoo? ;)!
    Beautiful snow landscape, too!

    December 20, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    • Haha… Maybe…. We’ve had it down to -19°C in some parts of the UK so far this winter…

      December 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

  7. Wow, beautiful landscape shot, I love your sculpture too ;)

    December 21, 2010 at 4:50 am

  8. Brian, I LOVE your sense of humor! AND your penguin snow sculptures!! Too cute!!

    December 22, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    • Thanks so much Tracy…. They were fun to make…. :D

      December 22, 2010 at 6:54 pm

  9. Pingback: 2011/010: It Snowed! (Part 1) « The Daily Click

  10. Pingback: What I do for my blog readers… « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  11. Pingback: Another Snow Penguin! « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  12. Pingback: We’re having a heatwave… « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

Leave a Reply

