The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

As The Sun Slowly Sets…

… On another year, all I can think of to say is…. “Thank goodness for that !!”…

Those of you who’ve followed my blog for a while will know that I’m none too personal or wordy on my blog, and generally just let the pictures speak for themselves where possible, with the odd bit of relevant narrative when it feels right… Well this post is kinda an exception to the rule, and in a sense a bit of an apology too…

You’ll no doubt have noticed that my posting / commenting has been a bit sporadic to say the least of late… and for that I apologise… To be honest 2010 really hasn’t been a good year at all for me… There have been far too many negatives for my liking, and even the odd positive turned out to be more for someone elses “hidden motive” benefit than my own… Sure I’ve had some laughs, and made a few friends along the way, and lost some too unfortunately… but it’s been very much stacked in the odds against…

I’ve taken barely a handful of shots these past few months, and haven’t touched my sketch-pad for what seems like months either… Just haven’t felt the inspiration or motivation… To be honest, this year has pretty much kicked the stuffing out of me, and it’s now time to take a bit of a break from it all… So this is forewarning that I’ll not be around much, if at all, for an undetermined period of time… No plans on how long or how complete my break will be, but just felt it might be an idea to let you know I will be taking one of sorts…. lest you wonder where I’ve gone… I’ll still be getting your posting updates via email, and will likely sneak in and throw the odd comment around when the mood strikes, but please don’t feel offended if I happen not to comment on yours, but do someone elses… It’s nothing personal.. It’ll just be a right place / right time kinda thing…

So anywho… was listening to this record tonight, and thought it quite fitting… hopefully… lol… I hope 2011 is kind to you all… See you somewhere down the road… :)

15 responses

  1. Oh my, Brian! I will certainly miss hearing from you on a regular basis. In the short time I’ve “known” you, I’ve really come to love your photography and your cheeky comments. They always brought a smile to my face. I hope your break refreshes you in the way that you need (and that it hopefully isn’t toooo long!) and that we will see you back to posting when it feels right for you. Thank you so much for all the helpful advice you’ve given me this year as well – we Canon users need to stick together!
    Best of luck in 2011 to you.

    December 27, 2010 at 9:32 pm

  2. Oh, Brian – had no idea! You hid your troubles well behind all the humor. I can certainly understand the stresses of life breaking one down… happens to the best of us.

    I will miss your photos and comments BUT I hope you find some peace and rest during your break and perhaps, 2011 will brind a sense of renewed spirit!

    I know, for me, that time away DOES make the heart grow fonder, so I’ve no doubt that once you take away the pressure of posting and shooting, you will find the time will come that you will once again WANT to do both. Now worries….I’ll be here when you do!

    BTW…gorgeous photo! I love the colors in the sky as well as the colors on the fence. Just beautiful!

    Take care, my funny friend. Hugs!

    December 27, 2010 at 10:21 pm

  3. So sorry to hear that this year has not been that great for you, and here’s hoping that 2011 will be a “glass half full” kind of year for you.
    Add me to the list of people who will miss your posts and comments…. I’ll be waiting for you to post again, and thanks to google reader, I’ll be one of the first to know ;-)

    Take care during your blogging time off, and hope to “see” you soon.

    December 27, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  4. Oops! Submitted my comment too soon… GORGEOUS photo!

    December 27, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  5. Jayne

    Oh I’m so sorry to hear that this year has been a duff one for you too. When life is kicking us around, the internet (to me anyway) is a dual edged sword: takes my mind off things, but also occupies head space that is already over-stuffed with too many thoughts and cares, and yes, creativity suffers.

    I completely understand the need for a break from the routine of the internet therefore. It means just one less thing to think about. Selfishly, I hope that your break away won’t be too long because I do like coming around here, love your creativity, and very much like your gentle sense of humour.

    I’ll miss you but take time to regroup, and when you feel like coming back to us, we’ll all be here waiting for you.

    All my best wishes to you and your family. x

    December 27, 2010 at 11:48 pm

  6. aswirly

    I do hope 2011 brings you some smiles.

    I always miss you. x

    December 28, 2010 at 12:25 am

  7. such a lovely picture with very gently speaking colors!
    I hope you’ll have a great break and come back as soon as possible! many will miss you and your creative page.

    Good luck, Brian

    Irina

    December 28, 2010 at 2:26 am

  8. So sorry to hear that, I hope things will turn around for you in the New Year and hope that you will find your inspiration again. I find sometimes venting helps as well. I hope you have felt better after posting this. Take care and hope to see you on the blogs now and then :)

    December 28, 2010 at 4:22 am

  9. You were my favorite find of 2010. I will miss you.

    Lift It Up.

    December 28, 2010 at 1:16 pm

  10. Good luck, and I hope 2011 is kinder to you than 2010. Have a very happy new year.

    December 28, 2010 at 2:11 pm

  11. Good luck, Brian! I hope the break does you good and that you return to blogging and taking pictures.

    December 28, 2010 at 6:43 pm

  12. Val Erde

    Sorry you’ve been having such a difficult time this year, but often the only way through something is indeed to take a break. That way you don’t feel pressured by old commitments. I hope whatever you do in 2011 and the rest of the future is fulfilling and restful.

    Don’t worry about not doing much photography or artwork, these things often need to wait for something internal to push open new doors. Take your time, whatever needs to happen will happen.

    Hugs.

    December 29, 2010 at 8:58 pm

  13. Pingback: My Favorites of 2010 « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  14. I hope 2011 does bring more success, so happy new year! I’ve been a bit lax blogwise myself recently, although I don’t have any real reason, just laziness… I always like visiting your blog for the brilliant photos and humourous comments, but things come and go, and sometimes they go rather than come…
    Good luck, hope things’ll start coming again!
    Love this shot btw, very atmospheric and amazing colours!

    January 6, 2011 at 11:08 am

  15. As everyone else has said – sorry to read about 2010 being a bit of a shitty year and hope 2011 becomes much more positive and replenishing.

    Come back soon with lots of new ideas and reinvigoration…we need you!

    January 8, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

