The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Pensive In Pencil

Just a little bit of what I’ve been doing whilst not blogging…

This is a sketch of my youngest daughter, from this photo of mine taken last year… And there was me thinking the photo itself was tricky to capture, given my daughters utter disinterest in posing for the camera… But now I know photography is a whole lot easier than drawing… I spent quite some time on this one though, seriously tweaking it numerous times before this incarnation… I completely altered the shading, tweaked the nose, changed the hair completely, added her freckles.. and some more to boot… I think I’m pretty pleased now though, and I think this is the finished article…

I’ve also spent some time today trying my hand at watercolour painting… for the first time ever, as far as I can recall… and it didn’t go too badly.. mefinks… lol… Look out for that some time soon…

Btw… This isn’t necessarily me back.. but for today at least I’m gonna have a mooch around to see what I’ve missed… Consider it a minor relapse… ;)

OH… And thank you all so much for your well wishes on my previous post… They were ALL very much appreciated… :)

28 responses

  1. I remember that photo. Looks awesome in pencil too. Any time you make the decision to show us a bit of what you’ve been up to, it will be appreciated! :-)

    January 9, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    • Thanks so much K… I have to admit to being pretty pleased with how it turned out… although I did have to go back to it a few times before I reached that point… That’s the beauty of pencil I think, being able to alter things so easily… :)

      January 11, 2011 at 8:56 pm

  2. oh, those eyes :-) great sketch, Brian. I like how you enhanced her curious innocence. Hope to see more of your pencil sketches.

    January 10, 2011 at 2:45 am

    • Thanks Irina… Well I don’t think I’ll be flooding my site with them, as I have to be feeling quite motivated to begin a sketch, but there will definitely be more appearing.. and even my first ever watercolour too soon..

      January 11, 2011 at 8:59 pm

  3. I love how you rendered her hair. It conveys the texture and colour superbly.

    January 10, 2011 at 4:07 am

    • Thanks Avital… The hair really tested me to be honest, as she has such light blond hair that I really didn’t know where to begin with sketching it… but hopefully it worked out ok in the end..

      January 11, 2011 at 9:00 pm

  4. aswirly

    She is sooo cute and you’ve captured her beautifully. Wonderful shading to her skin, love the freckles and how she’s biting her lip, and so much depth to her eyes. Can’t wait for you to post your watercolor painting ;)

    January 10, 2011 at 4:58 am

    • Thanks muchly A… Well I did toil over the shading of the skin too, and as you know completely re-shaded it to add a bit more depth… I think (hope) I might be getting the hang of this portrait sketching thingy… I’m still more pleased with how the sketch I did of you turned out though, than I am with this one… but hey… at least it looks like her as opposed to some alien being from a far flung galaxy… ;)

      January 11, 2011 at 9:05 pm

  5. Very lifelike! Those eyes are amazingly well done, imo! I look at the photo and I have to say it’s very well portrayed! The hair is great too.

    January 10, 2011 at 11:17 am

    • Thanks Kai… Well they do say that the key to a good portrait is getting the eyes right… so that was the area I decided to bring out a little bit… just to draw the focus…

      January 11, 2011 at 9:07 pm

  6. So you’ve been busy! Overall, I think this is a VERY GOOD attempt. However, may I offer a little crit?

    The sketch has lost the little smile she has in the original image, making it appear more surprised. Take a look at the shadowing in the original on her right cheek (her actual right cheek, not the cheek on the right as we are looking at the image). The shadow goes up slightly from the mouth towards her ear and suggests a smile. Also, in the original, her lower lip is a bit more pouty, (also suggesting more of a smile) and the chin is more round.

    January 10, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    • “A very good attempt”.. an ATTEMPT !!!… Gee thanks Tracy.. lol.. ;)
      I can see what you mean though, but then this is only my third EVER portrait… and the intention was only ever to capture her essence, and hope that she was recognisable in some way… lol… although I guess I should say that as it’s hand drawn then I intentionally introduced differences, or people would just think I’d run it through a photoshop sketch filter… ;)

      January 11, 2011 at 9:12 pm

  7. The photo and the sketch are adorable.
    Good to see you have a minor relapse :-) Can’t wait for the watercolor.

    January 10, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    • Thanks Michaela… I’m real happy you like it… If I still like the watercolour after a few more days, then I might post it later this week… We’ll see… ;)

      January 11, 2011 at 9:14 pm

  8. Jess

    This is great. I decided in high school that I was way to anal to draw or paint. LOL I would wear myself out trying to get it perfect.

    January 10, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    • Haha… Trust me, that’s one of the problems I have, and probably the main reason I prefer pencil, as I find it easier to focus on the finer details… Good to see you too Jess… Hope you (and the new addition) are well… :)

      January 11, 2011 at 9:16 pm

  9. A very sensitive drawing and without knowing the subject, I feel I do a little from this portrait. You have a soft hand. Lovely work.

    January 10, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    • Many thanks Keith… That’s high praise indeed if you can find a little bit of an insight in to the subject from my sketch…

      January 11, 2011 at 9:18 pm

  10. Darcy

    I think you’ve captured the essence of the original photograph quite well. If this is an amateur attempt at drawing then it’s quite obvious you have the talent to become even more adept with time. While drawing is an art form it is also a wonderful means of creative and personal expression. I suppose in the blog world (and elsewhere) there are authorities on such things…the technical bits. It seems to me, however, that to criticize someone’s beginning attempts without the artist seeking such information is quite rude. I refer to the comment above. If said comment was expressed by a professional artist and said “crit” was sought…well that would be a wholly different matter. In this case it appears to be a comment made by someone who seeks to raise herself up…while laying low someone with genuine (if not fully developed as you yourself have said) talent and heart. Shame on her. You are too kind (far too much so IMHO) in your response to her lofty critique of your personal expression. Best of luck to you. I look forward to seeing more work from you in the future.

    January 12, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    • Wow… Are you my Mum !?!?… lol… Thank you so much for your moral support and compliments…

      January 14, 2011 at 7:04 am

  11. Val Erde

    It’s lovely and I also remember the original photo.
    :)

    January 13, 2011 at 1:53 am

  12. Beautiful! Portrait and daughter, both!!!

    January 14, 2011 at 12:03 am

  13. This is wonderful, I love it. You should be proud of both your portrait and your daughter.

    January 14, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    • Thanks JP… She looks cuter than she really is… lol… ;)

      January 19, 2011 at 9:23 pm

  14. Beautiful sketch

    January 19, 2011 at 12:07 am

Leave a Reply

