The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Winters Call

So this is another absolute first for me…. Pastels that is…. I’ve NEVER used pastels before, as I really didn’t think you could get any detail from them, that was until I saw a picture in a local exhibition that blew me away…. And ever since then I’ve been determined to try pastels myself… And here’s my first EVER effort… :)

Please have a look at my ARTWORK page too, for some more examples of my art… All of which (but one) are from the past few months, when I re-discovered my love of art… thanks to an inspirational friend…

31 responses

  1. Val Erde

    It’s very good Brian. I’m absolutely hopeless with pastels, so I envy you this!

    January 23, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    • Thanks so much Val.. To be honest though, after the first 15mins I wasn’t so sure it was going to work out, and nearly gave up… lol… But I persevered, and slowly built it up, adding the detail bit by bit.. I’m quite pleased how it turned out.. :)

      January 23, 2011 at 4:36 pm

  2. WOW….dude, that is so GOOD!! Love the tones and the dark-ish background. Wonderful job! :-)

    January 23, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    • Thanks Tracy.. I’ve still got to learn all about backgrounds, and which colours work for bringing the best out of the pastel colours used… There’s so many colour options to choose with pastel paper, that I have no clue where to start… lol..

      January 23, 2011 at 6:35 pm

  3. Did you go to art school, Brian? You have skills I envy! I’ve always loved doodling and cartooning, but this is way beyond my skill level. Beautiful. The textures are gorgeous.

    January 23, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    • LOL… Why thank you Karen, but no, I’ve never had any official training… Anything I try is pretty much always a case of trial and error… until I eventually get it right (hopefully)… ;)

      January 23, 2011 at 8:32 pm

  4. aswirly

    This is absoutely beautiful B. I love the pastel work. I never use them coz I hate they way they feel in my fingers, lol, but I really hope you keep doing more because this is just so wonderful. I can nearly hear this songbird singing it’s heart out! I especially love it’s eye and tail feathers :)

    January 23, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    • Thank’e muchly A… Lol at you.. Mefinks you’ve got the wrong sort (pastels, not fingers.. lol), as the pastels I have didn’t leave much residue at all, and the pastel pencils are even better for cleanliness… The only problem I have now is fixing the image, as the pastel is so easily removed, and the last time I tried fixative spray it ruined my picture…

      January 23, 2011 at 11:08 pm

  5. Another wonderful masterpiece. You have some serious talent!

    January 23, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    • Haha… Thanks so much Michaela… I’m not sure about serious talent though, more just a persistent determination to stick at something until I’m happy with it… lol…

      January 24, 2011 at 7:58 pm

  6. Very nice! I admire all of you multi-talented people who can sketch, draw and paint, as well as photograph.

    January 24, 2011 at 11:11 am

    • Thanks JP… It’s certainly nice to have options when the weathers too bad for photography… but it sure takes a lot more effort in my case…

      January 24, 2011 at 8:01 pm

  7. lovely artistry!!! you are truly talented!

    January 24, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    • Very kind of you to say Michael… I still want to improve an awful lot though before I consider myself good enough…

      January 24, 2011 at 8:02 pm

  8. So pretty…I especially like the variations in the coloring of the breast. Lovely.

    January 24, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    • You wouldn’t believe the time I spent messing around building up the colours.. lol.. Thanks so much kd… :)

      January 24, 2011 at 10:24 pm

  9. Beautiful pastel, Brian! This looks as though you used Canson paper for pastel and charcoal? Ask at your art store to see some sanded paper for pastel. Give that a go. You will love it!!

    January 24, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    • Thanks so much Leslie.. The paper I used was nothing special.. just Daler Rowney 98lb Pastel Paper… It’ll do for me to practice on at least, before I invest in some decent paper… :)

      January 24, 2011 at 10:28 pm

      • I hope you didn’t think my suggestion was something you “should” do. I just think you would really like the surface and the outcome.

        January 25, 2011 at 12:13 am

        • LOL.. Not at all Leslie.. I know very little about what materials are good to try (or bad), so welcome any suggestions.. :)

          January 25, 2011 at 6:58 am

  10. Absolutely beautuful! I use pastels as well, usually drawing portraits or landsacpes. They’re so good for impressionistic effects. Love them. And as one who had a long pratice with it, I can confidently tell your first-try is excellent! Color contrasts are very well applied. I was wondering what kind of paper do you use for this?

    Very nice bird. Good Job, Brian!

    January 25, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    • Ahhh… A pastel expert… Thanks so much Irina, I’m glad you think my first attempt is that good… :)
      The paper I used is nothing special though, just a book of cool coloured Daler Rowney 98lb Pastel Paper… Not expensive, but good enough for me to practise on…

      Tell me though, as someone used to pastels… How do you fix your images once they’re finished… I’ve tried an artists fixative spray once, but it came out in cobweb type streams instead of a fine mist, and virtually ruined the image I was trying to fix…

      January 25, 2011 at 7:11 pm

      • Indeed, very good.
        Alright, I’ll try to get that paper, white printing paper isn’t good for pastel drawing.

        Honestly, I’ve never used any spray to fix them. I just made a glass frame for my drawings(just for couple of them) so they won’t smudge all over. But there should be some kind of spray specially for them. Going to find it out.

        January 26, 2011 at 12:34 am

  11. I’d say this is brilliant for a first try at pastels! I love the beautiful simplicity in this, and the tones and colours. Is this from a photo or your imagination?

    January 30, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    • Thanks Kai… It’s actually from a small picture in a bird book… My imagination isn’t that good, and I’ve never had any luck photographing robins either…

      February 1, 2011 at 8:54 pm

  12. I love it! My wife has pastel pencils which are nice to work with too. You have a nice way with your drawing that I like. You should do more. I just wish I could take a decent picture too :-)

    January 30, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    • Thanks Keith… Very kind of you to say so, and I will definitely be doing more… This is actually a mix of pastel pencils and the more common pastel sticks…

      February 1, 2011 at 8:55 pm

  13. is there any art you can’t turn your hand to? am seriously impressed with your drawing. hope you’re well. x

    February 1, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    • LOL… Oh trust me Ly, there’s plenty…. You just don’t get to see those… ;)
      I’m good thanks, Hope you are too… x

      February 1, 2011 at 8:57 pm

  14. Hey Brian.
    Just wanted to share this interesting pastel drawing I just found on the net
    http://www.ebsqart.com/Art-Galleries/Paintings-Pastels/41/NEW-VINTAGE-CHINA-GERMAN-DOLL-PAINTING/563802/

    February 9, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    • Thanks so much for that link Irina… I still need plenty of practice I think…

      February 23, 2011 at 8:21 am

Leave a Reply

