The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Land Ahoy

 

It’s been such a very long time since I’ve been anywhere with the camera, and even longer since we’ve had any decent sunsets around here… Tonight though looked as though it had some promise, so I dragged my daughter out with me for a bit of company… plus it was cold and it didn’t seem fair that I was the only one to suffer… lol… (fortunately though she loves coming shooting with me)… And she enjoyed it even more so tonight, as for an extra bonus we stumbled upon this new and deserted playground, that wasn’t there last time we were at this spot… Can’t beat that.. a sunset and a playground… but of course I never tried the slide or swings or see-saw… ;)

23 responses

  1. Awesome, Brian! Glad to see you back in the game!

    What a cool place and a cool shot! That hole in the ship looks like just the place a mini-you would want to crawl out of…just sayin’. ;-)

    March 10, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    • Just noticed…what the heck is the red thing in the sand on the lower right??

      March 10, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    • LOL.. Thanks Tracy.. Not sure about a mini-me though, as a full sized me could fit in there… ;)

      And the red thing… Hmmmm… Well yeah, they were dotted around all over the place buried in the sand… and I’m thinking they might have been (an attempt at) crabs… lol…

      March 10, 2011 at 10:46 pm

  2. ..or maybe a pirate mini-Brian at the top of the crow’s nest! ;-)
    I would try the slide and the swingset! I love swings.
    This fun picture could fool us into believing the warm weather is actually here.

    March 10, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    • Am I led to believe it’s about time I did another mini-me creation… lol.. And I might have fibbed a little bit about not trying anything… ;)

      Believe me though.. looks can be deceiving… It was most definitely NOT warm.. :)

      March 10, 2011 at 10:51 pm

  3. “I’m the king of the world!” Oh wait.. wouldn’t want you on a sinking ship! (That quote was from the movie “Titanic” in case you never saw it ;-) )

    You always get the most amazing colors. This is beautiful… and just enough light to still see detail in the darker areas.

    March 10, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    • Haha… As if I had any choice in NOT watching it… lol… I’m pretty sure this ship has already sailed its last voyage though… Thanks Michaela… :)

      March 10, 2011 at 11:13 pm

  4. Nye

    Awesome image, I thought it was a shipwreck at first glance. Perhaps there are some buried treasure there. :)

    March 11, 2011 at 5:58 am

    • Thanks so much Nye… There may well be buried treasure, but in a kiddies playground there might well be some other less desirable stuff buried too… lol…

      March 11, 2011 at 5:33 pm

  5. You had me there at first – bleary-eyed as I am at this time of morning, I thought, wow, boat, sunset, beach… no, a playground it is! :-p time for the weekend.
    What a gorgeous shot :)

    March 11, 2011 at 7:27 am

    • Haha.. Thanks Simone… Yeah if you’re anything like me first thing, then I can understand the confusion… We have a few wrecked boats around here too actually, but they’re nowhere near as appealing as this…

      March 11, 2011 at 5:35 pm

  6. aswirly

    What?? How did I miss this post? Sooo cool. And how does a playground this cool just pop up over night. When was the last time you were here? Very cool shot B. Love the coloful streaky sky. You ought to have got a shot of you two playing in the scene ;)

    March 11, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    • I have no idea… How did you ??… lol… Last time we were there was probably last summer, so it’s not exactly overnight I suppose… ;) Thanks A…

      March 11, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  7. Looks like a great “little landlubber’s” paradise, Brian. Disney could not have made this little area any more attractive than the sunset you captured with it did.

    March 12, 2011 at 12:32 am

    • Thank you so much Leslie.. I think that’s the first time I’ve ever heard of anything on our little island being compared to Disney… :D

      March 13, 2011 at 9:48 am

  8. Love the shot – great composition and I have to say I’m a sucker for those candy colors.

    March 13, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    • Thanks so much Derrick… Have to admit I am definitely a sucker for sunsets, and the more colourful the better…

      March 14, 2011 at 8:31 am

  9. toemailer

    Wonderful picture, makes me wish I was there just hanging out.

    March 14, 2011 at 5:01 am

    • Thank you very much.. It is a pretty cool place (ahem… for the kids obviously.. lol)

      March 14, 2011 at 8:32 am

  10. Jayne

    Even as an adult I can see the appeal of this playground – shipwrecked boats ‘n all. Your lovely little assistant will be happy to go on photoshoots if there is always something like this involved! I also love the fact that she is effectively getting involved in the whole idea of photography – it might spark a love of the subject from a young age.

    Beautiful shot – heavenly sky. :)

    March 14, 2011 at 8:22 am

    • Cheers Jayne… I may also have shared a little bit of her passion too, but don’t tell anyone.. lol.. I’m fortunate too that she already loves photography in her own little assistants way.. I’m thinking of donating my old 400D to her as well soon, as she’s old enough to appreciate it now I think… She will LOVE that… :)

      March 14, 2011 at 8:35 am

  11. Awesome shot!!! I love the scene and the sky!!! awesome!!! But I think that “red thing” in the lower right spoils it a bit, just a bit :-)

    March 23, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    • Thanks Michael… and technically I wholeheartedly agree with you here, as it does kinda distract the eye… but it amused me that they were there, so I deliberately included it for fun… You have to keep the fun in there sometimes I think, and if the shot ever needed to be technically right I could edit it out so easily… Thanks for your comment… :)

      March 25, 2011 at 7:11 am

Leave a Reply

