The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

Mindless Macros

Well it’s very rare that I dust off my macro lens… and even rarer that I ever take pictures of those flowery type things… but in a fit of mindlessness today I actually managed both…

I have absolutely no idea whatsoever what this little blue thing is, other than I know it’s NOT a bluebell… It has somehow found its way in to my garden though, along with the long deceased miniature sunflower that I found hiding in an old pot behind the shed…

Maybe this year I might even contemplate planting some other stuff out there, as they can be pretty cool to photograph…

BTW… By all means click and go large, but be careful not to drown in the droplets… :D

34 responses

  1. Wow, Brian, I think you should dust off that macro lens more often! (But I do have a thing for macro ;-) )
    The blue flower looks like a grape hyacinth. Just noticed those today in our neighborhood, too.

    March 13, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    • I think it is grape hyacinth too. Love the water droplets. …I might not even mind drowning in them! :)

      March 13, 2011 at 6:53 pm

      • Thank you both for the great call on the blue thing… Just googled it, and you’re both spot on… I can impress everyone now with my floral knowledge… ;)

        March 13, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    • Haha… Thanks so much Michaela… Yeah it is a great lens to have… My problem though has always been having the imagination to see things that will look interesting enough… It’s something I intend to work on this year though..

      March 13, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      • You’re too hard on yourself! Just pop that lens on and find random things, try different angles, and you’ll be amazed at how interesting those ordinary things will be :-)
        Btw. my macro is a 60mm, too,(except the Nikon kind) and I LOVE it! By FAR my favorite lens. Makes for some nice portraits, too…. as long as the subjects are cooperating!

        March 13, 2011 at 8:55 pm

        • You may be right.. lol… I’ve tried a few times in the past, but don’t you find that everything man made looks so imperfect and dirty when macro’d… I’m thinking to get the best shots most of what you shoot needs to be natural… I guess I’ll just have to buy my wife some flowers occasionally… ;)

          Oh… and I’ve used it quite a lot for portraits too… It’s a superb lens for that with great clarity and colour… Thanks Michaela… :)

          March 13, 2011 at 9:12 pm

        • I’m ALWAYS right! Just ask my hubby ;-)
          Who says everything you macro has to be perfect? Maybe those imperfections are what makes the subject interesting. Things that look perfect from a distance, really aren’t when you look closely. As for dirty… well… maybe a good cleaning will help there ;-)
          But in any case, I’m sure your wife won’t mind the occasional flowers at all!

          March 13, 2011 at 9:22 pm

        • Cleaning !!!… Oooooh… Ummmm… My word, is that the time already… ;)

          March 13, 2011 at 9:30 pm

  2. aswirly

    You really have to click to appreciate that you captured an awesome little sun star in the drops. Oooh so jealous of your macro. grrrrr…. These are real stellar B. Are you SURE that’s not a bluebell? I mean, it IS blue, and they are kinda bell shaped ;) Love the dried sunflower too. Very nice in bw.

    March 13, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    • Thanks A… Glad you went large and noticed the finer details… I think I’ve decided that this year I will be putting my macro lens to better use… Maybe I’ll even do some more flowers… ;)

      March 13, 2011 at 8:34 pm

  3. You never fail to give me a bad case of lens envy! :-) Which macro lens did you use?

    March 13, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    • Haha… Sorry ’bout that Avital… The lens is a Canon EF-S 60mm f2.8… It’s a great little lens, but to date sadly underused…

      March 13, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      • Nye

        Wow, I’m impressed with the detail. I have to keep this lens in mind the next time I’m in the market for a macro lens.

        March 17, 2011 at 4:58 am

        • Well it may not be their best ever macro lens, but it certainly does the job, and I’ve not been able to fault it… I’d love a 100mm macro instead though.. lol..

          March 17, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  4. PS I second what Amber said — the glints of sunlight are wonderful

    March 13, 2011 at 6:36 pm

  5. How lucky for you to have those little hyacinths popping up already! Not that you care so much about those flowery type things but despite being north (and very east) of my area, your climate must be much milder. Love your macro work and hope you do use that lens some more this year (But if you don’t, I happen to know another Canon user who’d use it a lot! LOL!)

    March 13, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    • Thanks Karen… Well we do seem to finally be edging in to spring at last, so I guess it is milder… but in general it’s still wet and miserable too.. lol… If I don’t use it enough then I’ll let you know, but I might have to stand on it to get it flat enough to fit in one of our postboxes.. ;)

      March 13, 2011 at 9:07 pm

  6. Ow, amazing! The floral thing is indeed hyacinth. I mean… it’s fantastic, very visual and eye-capturing. I like how you cough every detail, all elements very beautifully demonstrated. Especially the tiny water drops embellishing the nice flower-bells. I am very curious, Brian, how did you take this picture?
    Very nice photo. Thanks for posting.

    March 13, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    • Thanks so much Irina… Ummmm, well there was a small degree of set up here, as the weather outside today wasn’t conducive to macro photography… Basically these were both shot indoors against a black backdrop, with a flash unit off to one side…

      March 13, 2011 at 11:18 pm

  7. I think the comments on this post should give you enough boost to shoot more with your macro this year. I LOVE using my macro and causing people to look at ordinary subjects a second time, like with flower photos.. And I used to buy flowers just to photograph them, though some of the best were still ones grown in my mom’s garden. Wish I had the patience and motivation to keep a flower bed up…

    I would have told you what the flower was but plenty beat me to it. Not sure about the DOF in this one, part of me loves that it’s in mostly in focus to the end, AND that the end is not cut off in the shot… but in a way it makes my eye wander looking for a place to land. Just a thought, still an interesting shot.

    Looking forward to more macros from you
    Anna

    March 14, 2011 at 12:37 am

    • They have indeed Anna, and I’ll definitely be making more use of it now… I see your point on the dof too here, but given that most of the hyacinth was the same distance from the lens I had limited room for manoeuvre on the depth, so figured I’d just pick the lenses sweet spot and go with that… I did try a shallower depth, but there still was no defined focal point… Thanks for the suggestion though, and I’ll bear it in mind next time… :)

      March 14, 2011 at 8:48 am

  8. Val Erde

    Great photos, particularly the top one which is, yes, a grape hyacinth. They come in white too.
    :)

    March 14, 2011 at 1:16 am

    • Thanks Val.. Yeah I think I’ve seen them in white, although knowing my knowledge of flowers it could have been a daffodil.. ;)

      March 14, 2011 at 8:43 am

  9. These are absolutely gorgeous :)

    March 14, 2011 at 2:30 am

  10. Jayne

    This illustrates precisely why I love macro photography so much. I always *see* so much more looking at a macro. The opened blue buds at the bottom are like little bonnets …or baby’s bloomers! The whole thing looks good enough to eat (not that I’d eat baby’s bloomers you understand). ;) I have two overcrowded pots of these outside and I love them but have never thought to photograph them. Guess what I’ll probably be doing in the coming days!

    Definitely more macro Brian – you clearly have a talent for it.

    March 14, 2011 at 8:14 am

    • Haha.. Yeah, eating baby’s bloomers is a fetish you may wish to keep private… for now at least.. ;)

      My trouble at the moment is that I tend not to see the macro aspects until it’s all framed up and ready to go… but with a bit more practice hopefully I can change that..

      There will be more macro.. It’s a promise… :)

      March 14, 2011 at 8:40 am

  11. Okay…that does it. I’m buying myself some flowers tomorrow.

    These are amazing Brian.

    March 15, 2011 at 12:58 am

    • LOL… Surely YOU’RE not supposed to buy the flowers !!!…

      March 15, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      • Ha! Well, as wonderful as my dear husband is, flowers do not come often…he does other romantic things like cleaning my kitchen when I’m sleeping, or shoving me out the door for a girlie weekend with a friend. ;)
        I suppose I can buy my own flowers when my camera gets desperate. ;)

        March 17, 2011 at 2:12 am

        • Nobody buys me any either… LOL… ;)

          March 17, 2011 at 6:53 pm

  12. Damn! Wow!! See? this is why I have to save up for a proper Macro lens, these are amazing, beautifully done!!!! I could go on, but I’ll run out of superlatives to use :-)

    March 25, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    • Lol… Yeah they are pretty amazing the results you can get… I have a macro flash too, but to be honest, mostly I’ll use my standard flash with an off camera lead… It works better in some circumstances, as it gives you shadows and depth that the ring flash sometimes eliminates…

      March 25, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Leave a Reply

