The camera never lies… Or does it !?!?…

‘Ere Be Dragons…

About a month or so back I had an overwhelming inclination to draw a dragon… which I’ve never drawn before, even though I’ve had an interest in all things fantasy for many years… so I purchased a book from an art shop specifically on the subject… just to get some inspiration… and I started the rough pencil sketch you see below…

However, due to one thing or another I never really got hooked by it, and very quickly lost the drive to finish it… That was until last weekend when Michaela (The Daily Click) posted some of her daughters very impressive dragon sketches

Well thanks to inspiration from Michaela’s daughter, I have now completed my first dragon sketch…

This is another first in a number of ways for me… The first Dragon, and my first sketch finished with Artline Graphic Pens, and also the first sketch I’ve also gone on to then “colour in” with artists colouring pencils…

Originally I intended it to just be a shaded graphite pencil sketch, but then changed my mind and decided to use graphic pens instead… and lastly, more as a test, I copied it on to standard paper, and coloured that in…

So what’s your preference ???… Coloured or Graphic Pen ???… Here’s the initial sketch too for those who are interested in how it started off… :)

25 responses

  1. I like that you basically showed your process here. I prefer the colored version believe it or not. I feel like it gives it a lot more depth. You probably could have done the same with more pen or pencil without the color. Basically as if the color was converted to a BW.. anyway, it’s way better than I could do, congrats on finishing a sketch, I am horrible at that as well, I enjoy stippling much more for some reason, but still tend to not finish. Guess I feel it gives me more control.
    Thanks for sharing
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    March 15, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    • Thanks so much Anna… Believe it or not, your thoughts of shading in greys was my first intention, as that is by far my preferred medium… but then I switched tack entirely after roughing out the first sketch… Kinda glad I did, as I like trying something different occasionally… :D

      March 15, 2011 at 4:21 pm

  2. WOW! Both are fantastic, Brian, in there own right! The colored one really POPS but, there is as nice graphic nature to the b/w…hmmm…no help here, eh? ;-)

    March 15, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    • Haha.. Yeah, absolutely no help at all.. lol.. Can’t blame you though, as I’m split too.. Although “neither” of these were the way I originally intended the finished sketch to end up.. Thanks Tracy.. :)

      March 15, 2011 at 5:08 pm

  3. WOW! They’re both really good, and I can’t decide which one I like better. I was leaning more towards the color… until I went back to the other one.
    I showed them to Melissa and she was impressed! We’ll see if she’ll draw another one.

    March 15, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    • btw. Thanks for the links back to my blog :-)

      March 15, 2011 at 5:28 pm

      • Thanks so much Michaela, and Melissa… Glad you like them… I “think” I’m edging towards the colour one.. for now… lol..

        Looking forward to seeing some more dragons if she does draw them… :)

        March 15, 2011 at 6:05 pm

        • And you’re most welcome… It was after all Melissa’s that kicked my butt in to gear to finish this.. :)

          March 15, 2011 at 6:06 pm

  4. Color, color, color! Always love color (even if that’s another word that you spell wrong, LOL). That’s one fiery dragon you’ve got there. Makes me want to get my hands on some of those pencils of yours.

    March 15, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    • LOL… Thanks Karen.. These are just normal colouring pencils though.. Well, artists colouring pencils at least, so slightly better than the kiddies ones hopefully, but just pencils all the same.. :)

      So now it’s your turn with Eragon… :D

      March 15, 2011 at 7:07 pm

  5. Dragons are so cool. I think I get fascinated by them because of all the fun twisting turns of tail and neck that the artist can create. I like all three of your pieces, Brian. You are exploring possibility, here! Lovely dragon portrait!

    March 16, 2011 at 3:32 am

    • They certainly are pretty cool aren’t they. I’ve yet to let my imagination run wild though as this was pretty much based on a picture in a book… but if I draw another one it will be pure fantasy… Thanks Leslie…

      March 16, 2011 at 8:22 am

  6. aswirly

    FANTASTIC B! I used to LOVE drawing dragons…drew them on everything… Your dragon is just wonderful. So much character. I think now you might need to write this dragon a little story ;) It’s hard to decide between the two as both are awesome, but my eye does keep getting pulled to the color version. I really like the combination of the pen and colored pencil!

    March 16, 2011 at 4:20 am

    • WHA !!.. You “used” to draw them… Well I think it’s about time you drew another one then dontchafink !?!?.. :)

      I did write the dragon a little story too actually, but unfortunately he sneezed on it and the whole thing went up in flames.. who’d-a-thought it.. Thanks so much A, I think I prefer the colour version too (for now).. :)

      March 16, 2011 at 8:25 am

  7. Jayne

    These are both excellent but the colour version really calls to me. It’s brought him to life. What I really like about him is that he’s both scary and not scary. He’s definitely keeping an eye on me and look at those teeth! But then he almost has a slight smile playing around that mouth. I think he’s probably my favourite of your drawings so far.

    March 16, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    • Thanks Jayne.. Yeah I think you kind of lose the teeth in the pen sketch eh… I initially intended this to be one of my shaded b&w pencil sketches only… and was going to put it in a location too, but having walked away from the initial sketch for an extended period, I just wanted to get it finished and completely changed tack… Kinda glad I did…

      March 16, 2011 at 5:35 pm

  8. Nye

    This is very impressive, I have to say I like the color one better. It really brought it to life and a friendly dragon you got there.

    March 17, 2011 at 4:52 am

    • Many thanks Nye… Glad you like him… I’m not sure he was “trying” to be friendly though.. lol..

      March 17, 2011 at 6:49 pm

  9. This is great! I think you should apply for an illustrator job on ‘Beast Quest’. Seriously, I think you should!

    March 17, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    • Wow thanks Keith… I’m not sure it’s anywhere near that good, but thanks anyway… I’ll take the compliment… :D

      March 17, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  10. Pingback: Dragon Slayer « Aswirly's Place

  11. Beautiful work!

    March 23, 2011 at 1:31 am

  12. Val Erde

    I love your dragon, both the coloured and the black and white.
    :)

    March 30, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Leave a Reply

